English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 November 2012, 16:40   #21
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Was it formatted Fat32 when you first bought it?
Hi A - Yeah I believe so. (could be wrong) I remember it came with a ADAPCMCFL floppy disk, which was installed on the amiga so the CF card could be used with pcmcia.

Maybe workbench could format it to FAT32? Maybe through cli or shell? As it does read the drive when placed into the pcmcia slot.

Thanks
clitosa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 November 2012, 16:52   #22
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
So what was the card formatted to before you tried formatting in windows?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:02   #23
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Bad card (possibly returns bad data when software queries higher ATA information or something like that) or bad adapter.

Drive size shown on disk management/diskpart is physical size returned by CF card. Formatted filesystem type is irrelevant.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:32   #24
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
So what was the card formatted to before you tried formatting in windows?
yes, i believe so by the people at amiga kit. reads ok in WB but not windows.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:34   #25
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post
Believe so
So do I, so was it Fat32 or FFF/SFS?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:38   #26
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Bad card (possibly returns bad data when software queries higher ATA information or something like that) or bad adapter.

Drive size shown on disk management/diskpart is physical size returned by CF card. Formatted filesystem type is irrelevant.
Hi T, so it's the card or the adapter.

Do you mean the physical size of the CF drive is 2TB but it was partitioned as a 128MB?

Thanks
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:39   #27
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
So do I, so was it Fat32 or FFF/SFS?
Oh sorry A - I do not know, anyway to find out? We have being trying FAT32
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 17:45   #28
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Did you always use the card in the PCMCIA slot or did you connect it to the ide port and install WB to it?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 19:36   #29
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Did you always use the card in the PCMCIA slot or did you connect it to the ide port and install WB to it?
Hi A - Just the PCMCIA slot. Never connected it to the ide port.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 19:45   #30
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
So it must already be formatted to Fat32? If you right click on the drive for the USB 2.0 CF Card Reader adapter (with the card inserted) and choose properties, it will tell you what the card is formatted as.

Alternately diskpart will show the same info if you type list volume.
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 22:09   #31
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs up will check it out...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
So it must already be formatted to Fat32? If you right click on the drive for the USB 2.0 CF Card Reader adapter (with the card inserted) and choose properties, it will tell you what the card is formatted as.

Alternately diskpart will show the same info if you type list volume.
Thanks A - I shall look into this and let you know.

May have to buy a new cf card from amigakit as we think that the card maybe faulty.

Thanks again for the help
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 22:51   #32
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
I highly recommend you get one of these:

Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 23:10   #33
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs up Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I highly recommend you get one of these:
thanks R - If it's a case of a bad CF, i'll go for that one. Appreciated
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 23:54   #34
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Post Properties & Diskpart info

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
So it must already be formatted to Fat32? If you right click on the drive for the USB 2.0 CF Card Reader adapter (with the card inserted) and choose properties, it will tell you what the card is formatted as.

Alternately diskpart will show the same info if you type list volume.
Hello again - we can see from right clicking the drive and going to properties, that it is set to removable. Should there be an icon for the adapter?

Have attached the results of the list volume using diskpart.

Thanks again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	listvol.jpg
Views:	132
Size:	74.1 KB
ID:	33269  
clitosa is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 00:07   #35
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
The card is RAW, i.e no partition table, so no icon will show. 2047GB? I agree with retro, the card looks like it's faulty.

You could try partition recovery software, there's a program called EASEUS Partition Master Home Edition that has this built in.
Arnie is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 00:30   #36
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs up Thanks for the help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
The card is RAW, i.e no partition table, so no icon will show. 2047GB? I agree with retro, the card looks like it's faulty.

You could try partition recovery software, there's a program called EASEUS Partition Master Home Edition that has this built in.
Thanks again for all the help arnie. I'll try that, cheers
clitosa is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 00:44   #37
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,594
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
I highly recommend you get one of these:

Yes, very large picture, and "Ultra II" can take you to think that it's better than what I prefer... just "Ultra", but it is 30Mb/s. You won't need in any of the cases more than 10Mb/s, so just look for the cheapest one you can get between them.

Last edited by Retrofan; 25 November 2012 at 00:53.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 12:07   #38
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Floppy disk SanDIsk Ulta 10mb/s just as good?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Yes, very large picture, and "Ultra II" can take you to think that it's better than what I prefer... just "Ultra", but it is 30Mb/s. You won't need in any of the cases more than 10Mb/s, so just look for the cheapest one you can get between them.
Hi Retro - thanks for the advice. So a SanDisk Utra (does not have to be II) at 10mb/s is just as good as a Ultra II at 15mb/s or more?

Thanks, m
clitosa is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 12:31   #39
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Question illusive SanDisk Utra CF 4GB 10mb/s

Having difficulty locating those SanDisk Ultra CF's no larger than 4GB in size or 15mb in speed.

Have heard about some fakes on ebay. Could anyone could recommend some good sellers not on ebay please? Links are best if possible. Thanks

Last edited by clitosa; 25 November 2012 at 13:09.
clitosa is offline  
Old 25 November 2012, 12:55   #40
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Thumbs down Bad choice of CF

Yep card has to be faulty - Neither EaseUS Partion Master of Data Recovery Wizard is able to format or recover the drive.

Help - we need a SanDisk!

Here's one from amigakit, but it's more expensive and it's unclear on what type of CF is it. We have sent them an email.

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=911

Last edited by clitosa; 25 November 2012 at 13:32.
clitosa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error formatting SANDISK CF Card Gribnitz support.WinUAE 5 30 August 2013 18:39
Problem formatting upper half of CF card Canyon Matt support.Hardware 3 25 February 2010 21:47
Amiga 1200 with PCMCIA Card paulisthebest support.Other 5 22 October 2009 16:54
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 17:29
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA Network Card tihi support.Hardware 5 09 November 2002 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27918 seconds with 12 queries