English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2012, 23:27   #1
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Exclamation Formatting CF Card on Win 7 to use with Amiga PCMCIA

Hi all,

We are currently trying to format our 128MB CF Card (using a USB 2.0 CF Card Reader adapter as there is no pcmcia on our laptop) on Windows 7 so that we can transfer files from the pc to the amiga via its pcmcia slot.

However we are given the error message "windows was unable to complete the format." each time we try to format it using FAT32.

Are we doing something wrong? Any help would be appreciated - Thank you


Last edited by clitosa; 23 November 2012 at 23:32.
clitosa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 November 2012, 23:35   #2
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
Try the FAT32 formatter I have upped to the zone.
Retroplay is offline  
Old 23 November 2012, 23:38   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Try the windows management tool or diskpart.
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 12:15   #4
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Try the FAT32 formatter I have upped to the zone.
Hi Retro - Thanks. Can i have the link please?
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 12:31   #5
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
Quote:
Originally Posted by clitosa View Post
Hi Retro - Thanks. Can i have the link please?
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=26201
Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 12:51   #6
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Exclamation management & diskpart errors

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
Try the windows management tool or diskpart.
Hi Arnie, Thanks

In win 7 disk management we only get the option for exfat format.

Once attempted it says that the CF drive format did not complete successfully.

We tried using diskpart to format the drive but when trying to clean it to prepare for formatting, we got the error message: Date error (cyclic redundancy check). Please see attachment.

Any suggestions? Thanks for your time.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	cmd.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	106.7 KB
ID:	33263  

Last edited by clitosa; 24 November 2012 at 14:33.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 12:52   #7
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Thanks, will try it and let u know
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 13:05   #8
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
Thanks - i have joined the group but am still unable to find the fat32 formatter. Sorry I'm new to forums. Can you tell me how to find it?
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 13:11   #9
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
If you joined "The Zone" it should appear as a link in the blue toolbar.

Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 14:12   #10
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
It might be that the card is faulty, have you any more you could try?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 14:18   #11
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Hi Arnie, no unfortunately not. we know the 128MB CF card we have is readable by our amiga via the pcmcia (using WB3.1). Any other suggestions? Thanks, m

Last edited by clitosa; 24 November 2012 at 14:26.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 14:24   #12
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Exclamation allocation unit size?

Thanks retro. We got it. The CF card is a Verbatim 128MB.

Before we try and format the drive, what should we specify as the allocation unit size?

Also, is a quick format recommended? Thanks for your help

Last edited by clitosa; 24 November 2012 at 14:32.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 15:06   #13
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
A quick format is recommended as a full format apparently shortens the life of the card.

Also something I read recently about CF cards reporting fixed or removable status and that Windows wont format a card that reports removable status.
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 15:25   #14
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Hooooo windows unable to format removable CF cards?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
A quick format is recommended as a full format apparently shortens the life of the card.

Also something I read recently about CF cards reporting fixed or removable status and that Windows wont format a card that reports removable status.
Hi Arnie. I thought all SD/CF/USB had a removable and not fixed status. Does that mean windows 7 will not be able to format CF cards?

Thanks
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 15:32   #15
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I'm not 100% sure about it, trying to find the article. I bought mine from AmigaKit with the PCMCIA adapter so I've never had to format mine (4GB).
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 15:35   #16
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Exclamation error message - WTF!

Hi Retro - more good news. That didn't work either.

We just get the message: This drive is too big for FAT32 - maxTB supported.

WTF - too big? It's 128MB.

Can anyone help please?
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 15:42   #17
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
out of ideas...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I'm not 100% sure about it, trying to find the article. I bought mine from AmigaKit with the PCMCIA adapter so I've never had to format mine (4GB).
Hi Arnie, we bought ours too from amigakit a few years back and we didn't need to fomat it either as it can be read by the amiga.

This is the first time we've had the chance to use it with our pc (using our CF card reader adapter)

We wanted to use it to transfer files, but i'am starting to think we will be unable to do so. Thanks for suggestions away, appreciated

Maybe we could format the CF card to FAT32 on work bench 3.1 using shell or CLI?

Last edited by clitosa; 24 November 2012 at 15:54.
clitosa is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 16:08   #18
Retroplay
Lemon Curry ?

Retroplay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,915
According to your diskPart screenshot above the CF card is a whopping 2047GB.

Are you sure the card (or the card reader) is in 100% working condition ?
Retroplay is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 16:14   #19
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Was it formatted Fat32 when you first bought it?
Arnie is offline  
Old 24 November 2012, 16:34   #20
clitosa
CLI
clitosa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northamptonshire England
Posts: 175
Large & Useless 2TB Compact Flash Card?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retroplay View Post
According to your diskPart screenshot above the CF card is a whopping 2047GB.

Are you sure the card (or the card reader) is in 100% working condition ?
Hi - R. We thought it was because it was readable in workbench 3.1.

Good point - I guess there is no way it could be though? Unless the 128MB sticker is wrong...

Really wanted to avoid paying for another CF card, but looks like it's the only way to locate the problem.

Thanks Retro
clitosa is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Error formatting SANDISK CF Card Gribnitz support.WinUAE 5 30 August 2013 18:39
Problem formatting upper half of CF card Canyon Matt support.Hardware 3 25 February 2010 21:47
Amiga 1200 with PCMCIA Card paulisthebest support.Other 5 22 October 2009 16:54
WANTED: Amiga Network Card (NOT PCMCIA pr PCI) Interceptor MarketPlace 10 30 May 2008 17:29
Amiga 1200 PCMCIA Network Card tihi support.Hardware 5 09 November 2002 16:46

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32736 seconds with 12 queries