English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 September 2002, 01:13   #1
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
CD32 dat?

Is there any Dat file's akin to the Tosec jobbies for CD32 ISO's ?
mr_0rga5m is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 29 September 2002, 01:50   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Donīt think so and I donīt think there will be in near future ! Because you have no "standart" like adf for example, you can make .ISO, .BIN, .NRG and so on, and all have different CRC32 So it would be a BIT difficult to create such DAT file !

Also you can make the audio tracks as WAV or MP3 ! Also a difference .....
RetroMan is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 02:08   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
This is true, but that only means there would be several different entries for each disk. If a TOSEC dat file included each of .ISO, .BIN, and .NRG for every CD32 title that exists, it would still be a reasonable sized dat. And there are some TOSEC dats that are just for DMS files or EXE files, so I could even see three different CD32 dat files if that was neccesary.

The existance of a CD32 TOSEC dat would probably propogate these files better, as well.

As for the mp3/wav thing....erm, I dunno.

Aren't the music tracks included on a CD image, though?
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 03:38   #4
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
The whole point of mp3/wav is to make the ISO a smaller size to download. Considering that a lot of cd32 titles are 3 meg program files and 600meg cd audio, using mp3 compression would make it more convenient for a lot of people.

BIN + CUE would probably be the best format to go with, mainly because burning support is available on multiple platforms, the standards for NRG change for different releases of Nero, and ISO does not make successful copies of cd32 discs (unless theres some new version I'm not aware of; I've never had any luck with it).
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 06:17   #5
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Thanks for that info, th4t1guy. I've only ripped a few of my CD32/CDTV CD's and that was years ago. I only wish I'd kept the CD's in case I got something wrong. But they do seem to work, so...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 10:29   #6
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
There are some dats already, you can get them from #retroiso's on IRC, someone called "Dremscape" has done them.
Ian is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 15:12   #7
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Undernet ... *nope*
Efnet ... *nope*
Galaxynet ... *G-Lined(couldnt find out)*
Dalnet ... *nope*

Any chance of telling us which network ?

Ta me duck
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 18:26   #8
lilalurl
T32
lilalurl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: France
Age: 38
Posts: 2,834
Send a message via ICQ to lilalurl
Newnet I think.
lilalurl is offline  
Old 29 September 2002, 19:44   #9
[idoru]
Registered User
[idoru]'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 246
You can also get hold of Dremscape's DATs over at http://www.emuxhaven.net/~metroid/index.html - look in the Custom section.

Be warned though, they are a bit of a hotch-potch of formats etc. Or should I say were a bit....they've been updated since I last looked so I've no idea if they're structured better or not now.

CD32/TV DAT's is something I keep thinking about but never seem to do anything about...
[idoru] is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 14:03   #10
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Can someone grab this dat and up it to the Zone? I click on the Custom Dats link and only get a flash. I glanced at the source, saw Front Page in the header and that was all I needed to see.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 14:10   #11
mr_0rga5m
Tik Gora :D

mr_0rga5m's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Round yo momma's
Posts: 1,273
Done .. (Hope CM is ok)

btw u got a popupkiller running? .. that was prolly what the flash was, the download for dats page being killed. crappy, real crappy using popup windows for different pages .. *sigh*
mr_0rga5m is offline  
Old 30 September 2002, 15:44   #12
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Using Opera, which allows you to disable popups. I shoulda known. I fear this will become more and more common. (sigh)

Thanks for the file! CM rules!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DAT player? Heavy Stylus support.Hardware 0 06 July 2011 10:14
What are DAT files ? Another World project.TOSEC (amiga only) 12 25 August 2008 14:24
Kickstart DAT alexh project.TOSEC (amiga only) 5 02 May 2006 22:55
Errors with dat killergorilla project.SPS (was CAPS) 6 31 March 2005 14:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25443 seconds with 11 queries