English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2012, 10:50   #1
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Compact Flash not showing in WinUAE read only ?

Hi,

Im trying to mount a CF in winuae to transfer to my Amiga.

I've cleaned it using diskpart and Windows correctly recognises it a 4GB (or just less) compact flash.

But WinUae is giving me this message for the compact flash bay.



It doesnt actually matter is the CF is inserted or not it just says the same thing.

Do I need to use a different driver for the compact flash in windows ?

Any help appreciated

Thanks Roger
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 10:51   #2
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
PS I've tried the -disableharddrivesafetycheck option any more I could try ?
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 10:57   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
MBR = PC partition table. WinUAE refuses write access unless drive is blank or has Amiga partition table. (Attempting to write while Windows uses the drive can cause all kinds of problems, sometimes it works, sometimes Windows simply won't accept it and sometimes it may appear to work but nothing gets written..)

Search "diskpart" in this forum.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 11:07   #4
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Hmm it doesnt say MBR it says [EMPTY] [2.5G, RO]

the [MBR] is my flash memory stick. also 4GB I can mount that fine but pointess as I cant boot my amiga from it.
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 11:11   #5
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Just remembered by brother in law brought my wife an el cheapo usb compact flash/SD/MMC reader as some kind of joke Christmas present last year. She was going to throw it out but I rescued it turns out it work
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 11:45   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
Ah, I thought it was something else because it had wrong size.

Missing full device name usually means driver or hardware problems.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 12:05   #7
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Still not getting it.

Its a Transflash 133x 4GB card it works on the amiga.

This is the compact flash reader in the computer
http://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Stora...roductId=16478

This is the external one
http://www.amazon.co.uk/Strand-Card-.../dp/B002OS3O6I

This is the message I get from the external ? Seems to think its only 512MB.

scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 12:31   #8
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,937
Quote:
Originally Posted by scu98rkr View Post
it works on the amiga.
Then use the Amiga to create partitions.
thomas is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 12:36   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
Partitioning it on Amiga won't fix PC detection problems. Missing device name and missing or wrong drive size = bad adapter or driver(s).
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 12:49   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 39
Posts: 4,010
I always get the '? [0K, RW]' problem whenever I try to use a CF card that has been cleaned by diskpart. Creating an empty primary partition in Windows (so it shows as RAW type) usually solves the problem and it can then be mounted in WinUAE.

A few times I've also used the 'dd' command in Linux to transfer a prepared .hdf file to the card ('dd -if=/path/infile.hdf' -of=/dev/devicename). In that case, there's no need to clean it first. The .hdf file can be a different size than the card and you can stop the transfer after the first few MBs as it just needs to transfer the partition table. The card can then be mounted and formatted in WinUAE.
demolition is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 12:58   #11
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
Hmm.. Quite weird if physical disk size query returns bad data if it is cleared with diskpart.

Attach winuaebootlog.txt after clicking "Add harddrive" with CF inserted that shows incorrect information.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 13:41   #12
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Ok I did what demolition says and it seems to work. At least its appearing in HDinstTools.

Right now I need to decide how to partition filesystem etc etc

Thanks for all your help guys
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 14:46   #13
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Hmm now I dont seem to be able to write to the master boot partition when I try to partition
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 14:48   #14
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
however if I clean again I cant see the drive in WinUAE / workbench again
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 14:53   #15
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
hfd attempting to open: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\disks\System.hdf'
HDF 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\disks\System.hdf' 0052CE08 opened, size=512000K mode=0 empty=1
hfd attempting to open: 'Generic- Compact Flash 1.01'
HDF 'Generic- Compact Flash 1.01' failed to open. error = 2
Log (disabled): 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\winuaelog.txt'
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 14:58   #16
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,479
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
If you want to send me the CF I'd be happy to set it up for you, I use my AmigaOne to create an RDB on CF's before then moving back to WinUAE to set them up. I've not had any problems with this process yet except one CF that refuses to work even with a real Amiga!
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 15:07   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
Which WinUAE version? Does latest beta do the same? (Never truncate logs, lots of important data is missing. Attached part of log is not the one that gets written when Add Harddrive is clicked.)

2 = ERROR_FILE_NOT_FOUND.

EDIT: Master Boot Partition = PC partition table, it needs to be erased first.

EDIT2: What says MBR can't be written? Amiga program? Windows? Something else?

EDIT3: correct part of log contains something like this:

Code:
opening device '\\?\usbstor#disk&ven_generic-&prod_compact_flash&rev_1.00#200604
13092100000&0#{53f56307-b6bf-11d0-94f2-00a0c91efb8b}'
device id string: 'Generic- Compact Flash    1.00 20060413092100000'
BPS=512 Cyls=996 TPC=255 SPT=63 MediaType=11
device size 8195604480 (0x1e87f0000) bytes
1 MBR partitions found
0: num: 1 type: 04 offset: 0 size: 8195604480, type not 0x76 or 0x30

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 15 November 2012 at 16:20.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 16:58   #18
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
Hi FitzSteve thanks for the offer but would be good to be able to transfer files back and forth myself.

Version of UAE = 2.4.1 2012.05.09

I installed the other day.

EDIT2: What says MBR can't be written? Amiga program? Windows? Something else?

Im happly using Workbench I try to save the changes to the drive through HDtoolBox and then windows flashs up the message saying something is trying to access.

full log file ->

WinUAE 2.4.1 (2012.05.09) (6.1 Service Pack 1 [1]) 64-bit 9.6.F06 2 13:30
(c) 1995-2001 Bernd Schmidt - Core UAE concept and implementation.
(c) 1998-2012 Toni Wilen - Win32 port, core code updates.
(c) 1996-2001 Brian King - Win32 port, Picasso96 RTG, and GUI.
(c) 1996-1999 Mathias Ortmann - Win32 port and bsdsocket support.
(c) 2000-2001 Bernd Meyer - JIT engine.
(c) 2000-2005 Bernd Roesch - MIDI input, many fixes.
Press F12 to show the Settings Dialog (GUI), Alt-F4 to quit.
End+F1 changes floppy 0, End+F2 changes floppy 1, etc.
'C:\Program Files (x86)\WinUAE\winuae.exe'
EXE: 'C:\Program Files (x86)\WinUAE\', DATA: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\', PLUGIN: 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\'
CLOCKFREQ: QPF 2.09MHz (2.09MHz, DIV=1)
Enumerating display devices..
Sorting devices and modes..
Desktop: W=1680 H=1050 B=32. CXVS=1680 CYVS=1050
Radeon X1650 Series [\\.\DISPLAY1]
-: SyncMaster 205BW/204BW, SyncMaster Magic CX203BW/CX205BW(Digital) (1680*1050) *
0: 640x480, 16-bit (59,60,73,75)
1: 640x480, 32-bit (59,60,73,75)
2: !656x496, 16-bit (!59,!60)
3: !656x496, 32-bit (!59,!60)
4: 720x480, 16-bit (60,75)
5: 720x480, 32-bit (60,75)
6: 720x576, 16-bit (60,75)
7: 720x576, 32-bit (60,75)
8: 800x600, 16-bit (56,60,72,75)
9: 800x600, 32-bit (56,60,72,75)
10: 848x480, 16-bit (60,75)
11: 848x480, 32-bit (60,75)
12: 1024x768, 16-bit (60,70,75)
13: 1024x768, 32-bit (60,70,75)
14: 1152x864, 16-bit (60,75)
15: 1152x864, 32-bit (60,75)
16: 1280x720, 16-bit (60,75)
17: 1280x720, 32-bit (60,75)
18: 1280x768, 16-bit (60,75)
19: 1280x768, 32-bit (60,75)
20: 1280x800, 16-bit (60,75)
21: 1280x800, 32-bit (60,75)
22: 1280x960, 16-bit (60,75)
23: 1280x960, 32-bit (60,75)
24: 1280x1024, 16-bit (60,75)
25: 1280x1024, 32-bit (60,75)
26: 1360x768, 16-bit (59,60)
27: 1360x768, 32-bit (59,60)
28: 1400x1050, 16-bit (59,60)
29: 1400x1050, 32-bit (59,60)
30: !1440x480i, 16-bit (!29,!30)
31: !1440x480i, 32-bit (!29,!30)
32: !1440x576i, 16-bit (!25)
33: !1440x576i, 32-bit (!25)
34: 1680x1050, 16-bit (59,60)
35: 1680x1050, 32-bit (59,60)
36 display modes.
Display buffer mode = 1
Enumerating DirectSound devices..
Enumerating WASAPI devices...
Enumeration end
0S: Primary Sound Driver
1S: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
2S: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
3S: Headphones (High Definition Audio Device)
4:WA: Default Audio Device
5:WA: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
6:WA: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
7:WA: Headphones (High Definition Audio Device)
8:WX: Default Audio Device
9:WX: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
10:WX: Speakers (High Definition Audio Device)
11:WX: Headphones (High Definition Audio Device)
Enumerating recording devices:
0S: Primary Sound Capture Driver
1S: Microphone (High Definition Audio Device)
2S: Digital Audio (S/PDIF) (High Definition Audio Device)
done
Filesystem charset (ACP=1252,FSCP=28605):
00: 0000 01: 0001 02: 0002 03: 0003
04: 0004 05: 0005 06: 0006 07: 0007
08: 0008 09: 0009 0A: 000A 0B: 000B
0C: 000C 0D: 000D 0E: 000E 0F: 000F
10: 0010 11: 0011 12: 0012 13: 0013
14: 0014 15: 0015 16: 0016 17: 0017
18: 0018 19: 0019 1A: 001A 1B: 001B
1C: 001C 1D: 001D 1E: 001E 1F: 001F
20: 0020 21: 0021 22: 0022 23: 0023
24: 0024 25: 0025 26: 0026 27: 0027
28: 0028 29: 0029 2A: 002A 2B: 002B
2C: 002C 2D: 002D 2E: 002E 2F: 002F
30: 0030 31: 0031 32: 0032 33: 0033
34: 0034 35: 0035 36: 0036 37: 0037
38: 0038 39: 0039 3A: 003A 3B: 003B
3C: 003C 3D: 003D 3E: 003E 3F: 003F
40: 0040 41: 0041 42: 0042 43: 0043
44: 0044 45: 0045 46: 0046 47: 0047
48: 0048 49: 0049 4A: 004A 4B: 004B
4C: 004C 4D: 004D 4E: 004E 4F: 004F
50: 0050 51: 0051 52: 0052 53: 0053
54: 0054 55: 0055 56: 0056 57: 0057
58: 0058 59: 0059 5A: 005A 5B: 005B
5C: 005C 5D: 005D 5E: 005E 5F: 005F
60: 0060 61: 0061 62: 0062 63: 0063
64: 0064 65: 0065 66: 0066 67: 0067
68: 0068 69: 0069 6A: 006A 6B: 006B
6C: 006C 6D: 006D 6E: 006E 6F: 006F
70: 0070 71: 0071 72: 0072 73: 0073
74: 0074 75: 0075 76: 0076 77: 0077
78: 0078 79: 0079 7A: 007A 7B: 007B
7C: 007C 7D: 007D 7E: 007E 7F: 007F
80: 20AC (0080) 81: 0081 82: 201A (0082) 83: 0192 (0083)
84: 201E (0084) 85: 2026 (0085) 86: 2020 (0086) 87: 2021 (0087)
88: 02C6 (0088) 89: 2030 (0089) 8A: 0160 (008A) 8B: 2039 (008B)
8C: 0152 (008C) 8D: 008D 8E: 017D (008E) 8F: 008F
90: 0090 91: 2018 (0091) 92: 2019 (0092) 93: 201C (0093)
94: 201D (0094) 95: 2022 (0095) 96: 2013 (0096) 97: 2014 (0097)
98: 02DC (0098) 99: 2122 (0099) 9A: 0161 (009A) 9B: 203A (009B)
9C: 0153 (009C) 9D: 009D 9E: 017E (009E) 9F: 0178 (009F)
A0: 00A0 A1: 00A1 A2: 00A2 A3: 00A3
A4: 00A4 (20AC) A5: 00A5 A6: 00A6 (0160) A7: 00A7
A8: 00A8 (0161) A9: 00A9 AA: 00AA AB: 00AB
AC: 00AC AD: 00AD AE: 00AE AF: 00AF
B0: 00B0 B1: 00B1 B2: 00B2 B3: 00B3
B4: 00B4 (017D) B5: 00B5 B6: 00B6 B7: 00B7
B8: 00B8 (017E) B9: 00B9 BA: 00BA BB: 00BB
BC: 00BC (0152) BD: 00BD (0153) BE: 00BE (0178) BF: 00BF
C0: 00C0 C1: 00C1 C2: 00C2 C3: 00C3
C4: 00C4 C5: 00C5 C6: 00C6 C7: 00C7
C8: 00C8 C9: 00C9 CA: 00CA CB: 00CB
CC: 00CC CD: 00CD CE: 00CE CF: 00CF
D0: 00D0 D1: 00D1 D2: 00D2 D3: 00D3
D4: 00D4 D5: 00D5 D6: 00D6 D7: 00D7
D8: 00D8 D9: 00D9 DA: 00DA DB: 00DB
DC: 00DC DD: 00DD DE: 00DE DF: 00DF
E0: 00E0 E1: 00E1 E2: 00E2 E3: 00E3
E4: 00E4 E5: 00E5 E6: 00E6 E7: 00E7
E8: 00E8 E9: 00E9 EA: 00EA EB: 00EB
EC: 00EC ED: 00ED EE: 00EE EF: 00EF
F0: 00F0 F1: 00F1 F2: 00F2 F3: 00F3
F4: 00F4 F5: 00F5 F6: 00F6 F7: 00F7
F8: 00F8 F9: 00F9 FA: 00FA FB: 00FB
FC: 00FC FD: 00FD FE: 00FE FF: 00FF
End
CW: No Catweasel detected
PARAPORT: no ParaPort.dll, direct parallel port emulation disabled
IPC: Named Pipe '\\.\pipe\WinUAE' open
IPC: Named Pipe '\\.\pipe\WinUAE_COM' open
Serial port enumeration..
Parallel port enumeration..
Port enumeration end
MIDI port enumeration..
MIDI OUT: -1:'Microsoft MIDI Mapper' (1/1)
MIDI OUT: 0:'Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth' (1/27)
MIDI port enumeration end
RawInput enumeration..
RAWINPUT: found 8 devices
0007029B mouse: '\\?\HID#VID_046D&PID_C526&MI_00#7&1cab0fdd&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd}'
id=256 buttons=16 hw=0 rate=0
000B003B keyboard: '\\?\ACPI#PNP0303#4&226211b3&0#{884b96c3-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd}'
type=7 sub=0 mode=1 fkeys=12 indicators=3 tkeys=101
'Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse' ('\\?\HID#VID_046D&PID_C526&MI_00#7&1cab0fdd&0&0000#{378de44c-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd}')
'Standard PS/2 Keyboard' ('\\?\ACPI#PNP0303#4&226211b3&0#{884b96c3-56ef-11d1-bc8c-00a0c91405dd}')
Logitech HID-compliant Cordless Mouse: (046D/C526)
00 000 'X Axis' (0, [0 - 0, 0 - 0, 0 0 0])
01 001 'Y Axis' (1, [0 - 0, 0 - 0, 0 0 0])
02 002 'Wheel' (2, [0 - 0, 0 - 0, 0 0 0])
03 003 'HWheel' (3, [0 - 0, 0 - 0, 0 0 0])
00 000 'Button 1' (0)
01 001 'Button 2' (1)
02 002 'Button 3' (2)
03 003 'Button 4' (3)
04 004 'Button 5' (4)
05 005 'Button 6' (5)
06 006 'Button 7' (6)
07 007 'Button 8' (7)
08 008 'Button 9' (8)
09 009 'Button 10' (9)
0A 010 'Button 11' (10)
0B 011 'Button 12' (11)
0C 012 'Button 13' (12)
0D 013 'Button 14' (13)
0E 014 'Button 15' (14)
0F 015 'Button 16' (15)
02 002 'Wheel [-]' (1004)
02 002 'Wheel [+]' (1005)
03 003 'HWheel [-]' (1006)
03 003 'HWheel [+]' (1007)
RAWINPUT test ok, usage=2
RAWINPUT test ok, usage=6
DirectInput enumeration.. Game controllers..
Windowsmouse initialization..
Catweasel joymouse initialization..
wintab tablet initialization..
Tablet: no wintab32.dll
end
Max Z3FastRAM 2048M. Total physical RAM 3327M
load config 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\Configurations\default.uae':0
load failed
failed to load config 'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\Configurations\default.uae'
LCD: Logitech LCD system not detected
'C:\Users\Public\Documents\Amiga Files\WinUAE\Configurations\configuration.cache' loaded successfully
Entering GUI idle loop
scu98rkr is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 17:00   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 23,652
Quote:
Originally Posted by scu98rkr View Post
Im happly using Workbench I try to save the changes to the drive through HDtoolBox and then windows flashs up the message saying something is trying to access.
Virus/Security software preventing access?

Quote:
full log file ->
I think you forgot to click "Add Harddrive". (Run winuae.exe, click "Add Harddrive", exit winuae, attach log)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 17:18   #20
scu98rkr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Twyford
Posts: 82
hi thanks for the support/help

Do you want a log file when I have created a partition on the CF the hard drive. I then load WinUAE and can see the drive in HDtoolBox but cant partition it with out the message (not virus software).

Or do you want the log file when it says OK RW and although I can select the drive I can see it in Workbench or HDtoolBOX?
scu98rkr is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Compact Flash Card as a Disk in WinUAE? Tempest 2084 support.WinUAE 36 30 May 2009 19:35
Compact flash JACK98 support.Hardware 22 10 December 2008 23:09
Getting WinUAE to see Compact Flash as hard drive tonyyeb support.WinUAE 15 19 August 2008 16:11
Compact Flash cards and WinUAE 1.3.4 gizmomelb support.WinUAE 5 16 January 2007 14:17
How To Get A600 To Read Compact Flash Card ? Rich M Amiga scene 5 02 May 2005 06:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08966 seconds with 12 queries