English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2013, 14:25   #21
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 105
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Why? Does some situation really exists where you don't have automount/boot harddrive (filesystem in RDB) and still need PFS3?
Us poor bastards with T-Rex II.
Quote:
the tekscsi2.device is not NSD compliant, it autoboots FFS partitions only - it looks for filesystems in the Kickstart ROM, but it does not care about filesystems loaded into the RDB area
Geijer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 March 2013, 15:03   #22
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geijer View Post
Us poor bastards with T-Rex II.
Is it confirmed that it really does not check any RDB filesystems or if it is only "locked" to DOSx dostypes? In other words, if updated FFS is installed to RDB, does it still use the (older) ROM FFS?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 March 2013, 16:34   #23
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
@Geijer
Damn I didn't know about that!
mfilos is offline  
Old 29 March 2013, 17:30   #24
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 2,928
here is a thread with same issue. that confirms the rdb issue with GVP 4060 (T-Rexx II).
emufan is offline  
Old 30 March 2013, 09:30   #25
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
here is a thread with same issue. that confirms the rdb issue with GVP 4060 (T-Rexx II).
No, it does not confirm anything. I want 100% proof. Question that still needs an answer: If RDB has newer FFS compared to ROM version, does it use RDB or ROM FFS?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 30 March 2013, 18:57   #26
videofx
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago, IL USA
Posts: 490
Hi toni,

I have a new Trex II 4060T coming to me and can test PFS3AIO andf let you know.
videofx is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 10:08   #27
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 243
The 2060 and 4060 SCSI driver is broken by default, and only looks for filesystems in the KS ROM. You are stuck booting from FFS partitions, other filesystems don't even show in the bootmenu. You can boot from SFS partitions if SFS is stuck in a custom ROM (at least I did on my 2060).

Fortunately, Doobrey was kind enough to tackle the problem. You'll have to burn and install the fixed ROM(s) after running the patch. Been running the fix for a few years on my 2060, booting from PFS3 partitions.

I haven't had feedback yet on the 4060 fix, but presumably it works as both versions were riddled with the same bug.

Further details and patch available on Doobrey's site: http://www.doobreynet.co.uk/amiga.html

Last edited by Damion; 04 April 2013 at 10:17.
Damion is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 13:18   #28
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Finally good enough proof, thanks

It should be as simple as adding resident structure inside pfs3 aio that adds pfs3 dostype references to FileSystem.resource. (It won't have any effect with normal RDB usage)

But first I need to check if current pfs3 is fully rommable.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 April 2013, 12:16   #29
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
ROMmable test version attached.

Changes since previous public version:

- Includes resident structure that adds PFS\3 and PDS\3 dostypes to FileSystem.resource, also creates FileSystem.resource if it does not exist (Required by KS 1.3)
- 100% pure/rommable.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 19 March 2014 at 20:29.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 April 2013, 19:03   #30
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 2,928
thanks toni.
emufan is offline  
Old 16 April 2013, 09:23   #31
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 243
Wow, thank you!
Damion is offline  
Old 16 April 2013, 09:31   #32
Geijer
Oldtimer

Geijer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: VXO / Sweden
Posts: 105
Thank you very much!
Geijer is offline  
Old 16 April 2013, 09:43   #33
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,372
Toni,

Cool great work

Any plans to improve the performance for us classic Amiga users (we need all we can get).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 April 2013, 12:41   #34
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Any plans to improve the performance for us classic Amiga users (we need all we can get).
No. I don't think it would make any noticeable difference. I don't believe in micro-optimizations that are only visible in some specific benchmarks. You only lose source code readability which is much more important.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 16 April 2013, 15:06   #35
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Can anyone confirm that it does work with original&buggy 2060/4060 roms?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 10:22   #36
breech
Asking stupid questions
breech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Syd.Oz
Posts: 105
I just wanted to say thanks for AIO, it's brilliant on my A500 -> A590 -> PCD50b -> 2g CF, WB2.1
breech is offline  
Old 20 April 2013, 18:41   #37
midway
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Portland, USA
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Geijer View Post
Us poor bastards with T-Rex II.

Or tekmagic on the a2000!
midway is offline  
Old 19 March 2014, 20:39   #38
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 18,607
Attached is new test version.

- Reverted SVN rev#9 commit, it is not compatible with AmigaDOS and can break some programs. ACTION_FINDOUTPUT must use exclusive lock.
- 1.3 compatibility fix, AddSemaphore() is unreliable under 1.x. Caused crash under 1.3 if more than one partition was mounted.
- Added special version for braindead boot ROMs (pfs3 handler with -custom extension). This version is not rommable. pbscsi.device (perhaps others) have really bad RDB filesystem loader, it only works with filesystems that have single hunk and no reloc entries! (=1.x FFS only) Special version has been "wrapped" inside custom relocator that "fixes" pbscsi.device's requirement of no reloc entries.

This will be uploaded to aminet if no problems found.

Thanks to McTrinsic for testing special version with Phoenix Board pbscsi.device.

Horrible details of pbscsi.device:

It loads first LSEG block, looks for 0x0003E9 (code hunk) long word, next long word is used to allocate memory for filesystem, load remaining LSEG blocks. Done. Other hunks are ignored, reloc entries are ignored..

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 01 May 2014 at 19:08.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 19 March 2014, 21:09   #39
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,448
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Wonderful. Thanks Toni. I will have to try if now it can work with SkinnableClock, maybe is the first fix you list.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 19 March 2014, 22:46   #40
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 175
Thanks a LOT Toni!!!

Investigating further an issue that I would like to understand irst before posting about.

Cheers,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 23:08
PFS3 why cant i... zharn support.Apps 9 27 January 2013 07:27
Install PFS3 ? Mr B project.ClassicWB 10 19 August 2012 02:15
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 23:30
Pfs3 Hewitson request.Apps 3 22 December 2007 15:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.36737 seconds with 12 queries