English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 November 2012, 18:59   #1
outofwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Olney/United States
Posts: 10
Amiga emulator - XBox 360

I am running Amiga360.xex on an RGHed Xbox 360 and can't seem to be able to increase the free memory. The dialog at the top of the box says Amiga Workbench Version 1.0 317120 Free Memory. I have tried changing the memory options and using a different kickstart but it seems that no matter what I do I can't increase the amount of free memory that would hopefully allow me to play the games.

It's been a LONG time (10+ years) since I actually fired up my old Amiga 500 system so I am more than a bit rusty.

I have also been getting what I think is a Workbench error about validating the checksum, etc.

Sorry for the basic questions. Assistance greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
outofwork
outofwork is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 November 2012, 19:27   #2
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,489
Hi,

You need to create a config file with all your mem settings etc, and then point it to the HDF file you wish to load. I have mine set up for 40MB using an A1200 image with WHDload and it works fine. I also have a Xim keyboard/mouse adapter and it works great

If you don't have a .HDF file (a hard drive file) of your Amiga then the easiest way to do it is to set it up on your PC using WinUAE and once you're happy with it then you can copy that image file to the 360, set up your config file and away you go
kipper2k is offline  
Old 01 November 2012, 22:10   #3
outofwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Olney/United States
Posts: 10
Thanks for the quick feedback. I remember first seeing an Amiga 500 at a PC show many, many years ago and was blown away by the graphics and the games and bought one shortly thereafter. I had always been into PC games but when I bought the Amiga I went on a game collection craze.

OOC, are ROMs available for the majority of the Amiga games? The reason I ask is that I probably have hundreds of Amiga games and was wondering if there was a way to recompress the diskettes back into .adf format so the emulator could read them just in case I couldn't find the ROMs for the games that I wanted to play the most.

I just got a dual DB6 to a single USB and plugged it into one of the USB ports on the front of the XBox 360 but it doesn't seem to see it yet. Is that the same setup that you have or is the Xim something different? It seems that a keyboard is an absolute necessity as is a mouse.

Thanks again.
outofwork
outofwork is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 03:46   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by outofwork View Post
Thanks for the quick feedback. I remember first seeing an Amiga 500 at a PC show many, many years ago and was blown away by the graphics and the games and bought one shortly thereafter. I had always been into PC games but when I bought the Amiga I went on a game collection craze.

OOC, are ROMs available for the majority of the Amiga games? The reason I ask is that I probably have hundreds of Amiga games and was wondering if there was a way to recompress the diskettes back into .adf format so the emulator could read them just in case I couldn't find the ROMs for the games that I wanted to play the most.

I just got a dual DB6 to a single USB and plugged it into one of the USB ports on the front of the XBox 360 but it doesn't seem to see it yet. Is that the same setup that you have or is the Xim something different? It seems that a keyboard is an absolute necessity as is a mouse.

Thanks again.
outofwork

You can plug in any usb keyboard to the 360 and it should work fine, its the mouse portion that you really need the Xim for. You can run ADF's also with the emulator iirc. If you have a developers 360 then a mouse is natively supported.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 23:11   #5
outofwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Olney/United States
Posts: 10
I took a look at the Xim web site and the only negative, if I read it correctly, is that you must use a wired controller instead of a wireless controller.

You did indicate though that with the Xim (Edge I assume as the Xim3 is not yet available) allows you to use both the mouse and the keyboard with the Xbox 360 Amiga emulator.

BTW, is there a source for either of those 256K ROMs that the WinUAE emulator must have? I can't seem to find them. That and there seems to be a pathing inconsistency between the documentation and the WinUAE window on the PC.

"I have mine set up for 40MB using an A1200 image with WHDload". I don't know (yet) what WHDload is either. Would it be impractical, unworkable and imposing on my part to ask if you could send me .HDF file that you are using?

I would rather just be running the Amiga emulator on the XBox 360 instead of the PC. Have you run Amiga games in both environments? Which do you think is better? IF I could find those ROMS for WinUAE I would like to try it though.

Many thanks for the assistance and I won't be offended in the least if you tell me to take a hike.

outofwork

Last edited by outofwork; 02 November 2012 at 23:56. Reason: typo
outofwork is offline  
Old 02 November 2012, 23:30   #6
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,639
We can not post links to Kickstarts roms here but type in google indexof kick rom (and have fun).
s2325 is online now  
Old 03 November 2012, 00:00   #7
outofwork
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Olney/United States
Posts: 10
Cam't find the exact ROMs indicated

I'll keep looking but a few of the sites don't seem to have the exact 256K version necessary. I would think that that perhaps the Amiga Forever CD might have them though.

Thanks,
outofwork
outofwork is offline  
Old 04 November 2012, 21:17   #8
PaulyQ
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Age: 46
Posts: 237
amiga forever CD does indeed have the roms included(comes with a key file), I seem to remember an Amiga Tribute II DVD that did the rounds might have appeared on a torrent site, this may have all the games and everythng right out of the box for you as it booted on the xbox as well (it was a clever dual boot DVD that worked on PC and xbox)... but that was the classic xbox and not the 360.... BUT, you maybe able to extract some file from it to run on the 360??
PaulyQ is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Xbox 360 emulator coming next week to Jtagged 360s kipper2k support.OtherUAE 0 04 June 2011 00:06
Amiga emulator on the Xbox 360 kipper2k Amiga scene 44 17 December 2010 12:30
xbox(not 360) /amiga emulater help!!!!!!!!!!!! bowfell Amiga scene 7 24 August 2010 18:07
Amiga SWOS on Xbox 360! wakeupbomb Nostalgia & memories 5 06 March 2009 05:19
Such a thing as an Xbox 360 Amiga emulator Jimbo Retrogaming General Discussion 9 27 January 2007 13:44

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.14064 seconds with 11 queries