English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 October 2012, 13:52   #41
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
I'm picking up an 'untested' A500 locally seems like a reasonable deal. It comes in the original box, hopefully it works and I can nab the floppy from it. £15

Is that a good price?
chris-red is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 October 2012, 14:33   #42
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
If it works why would you need to take the Floppy drive?

just use it.....
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 25 October 2012, 14:39   #43
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat Rob 1 View Post
If it works why would you need to take the Floppy drive?

just use it.....
Because A500+ > A500?
At least he can verify if the problem is the drive, and then try to get another drive for the 500.
demolition is offline  
Old 25 October 2012, 16:34   #44
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
Then he could get a link cable and play link up games,

Like your thinking............
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 25 October 2012, 23:54   #45
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
I appear to be pretty lucky turns out the new Amiga is actually an A500+ and it also seems to be fully working, it was boxed with some boxed games and paint 3 boxed with all the manual and cables and things!

Not bad for £15!


Had it going today and played a few of the old games, it appears my 2 joysticks are completely dead. the mouse seems to work fine though so I assume that is a joystick problem not an Amiga issue, I had them both apart but nothing was obviously wrong.

I got to play lemmings and cannon fodder! :-)
chris-red is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 00:38   #46
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,644
Maybe you know that but joystick should be in port 2 and mouse in port 1. You can not tell if joysticks are dead or not by testing mouse.
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 10:21   #47
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
Good Buy Chris, sounds like a bargain!!

I stick by my first comment

What was it with Amiga Joysticks they were all absolute rubbish build quality!! But I'm surprised they are both completely dead, does the fire button not even work?

I had a Sega Master system joystick I bought second hand off a mate which never broke. If you can find something like that on e-bay, I'd snap it up if I were you.
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 10:50   #48
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chat Rob 1 View Post
What was it with Amiga Joysticks they were all absolute rubbish build quality!! But I'm surprised they are both completely dead, does the fire button not even work?
never had any joystick die that hard. non working directions and/or dead button. but no nothing working.
moijk is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:07   #49
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
I have 2 ports in the back of the Amiga labelled Joystick 1/Joystick 2.

I had been connecting the mouse and the joystick to Joystick 1, is that not correct?

Both of them are completely dead no fire button no nothing.
chris-red is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:13   #50
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
just try the floppy drive in your 500 and see if the joysticks work at the same time.



having the fire button not work as well as the directional movement points towards a motherboard problem.
is it a microswitched joystick? do they make a clicking noise when used?
roy bates is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:17   #51
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,644
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-red View Post
I have 2 ports in the back of the Amiga labelled Joystick 1/Joystick 2.

I had been connecting the mouse and the joystick to Joystick 1, is that not correct?

Both of them are completely dead no fire button no nothing.
Joystick should be in port 2, not 1. You can test it in port 1 only in game for 2 players.
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:35   #52
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by s2325 View Post
Joystick should be in port 2, not 1. You can test it in port 1 only in game for 2 players.
That is wonderfully logical

I least I know it is unlikely there is an issue.

Also is there any problem disconnecting/reconnecting joysticks while it is on?
chris-red is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:40   #53
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,644
Yes, you should never do it.

Other Questions

Q. I don't like to shut off the A1200 to connect and disconnect joysticks, modems, video and sound samplers, and printers. Can I damage the A1200 by changing these connections with the power on?

A. Yes. Remember that the A1200 design uses chips that are almost all surface-mount, soldered directly to the circuit board. This makes it very reliable, but when you expose it to dangerous behavior (changing connections with power applied), you risk damaging chips that are very difficult to replace and extremely difficult to obtain. Before you switch cables, make sure that power is off to the entire system, including the peripheral you are connecting or disconnecting.
s2325 is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 11:42   #54
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,288
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-red View Post
Also is there any problem disconnecting/reconnecting joysticks while it is on?
Theoretically yes. You could destroy the input IC when you plug in a joystick, but most people just plug them in and out while it's on, myself included, and I've never had a problem with it.

Edit: I would never connect/disconnect a powered peripheral while it's running, only a passive device such as a joystick.
demolition is offline  
Old 26 October 2012, 17:03   #55
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,211
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
There never were any problems for me connecting/disconnecting joysticks/mice when power was on with A500, A2000, A600 or A1200, but if one wants to be on the safe side...cut the power before doing so.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 12:10   #56
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
I'll avoid that then!



A few of my disks have bad sectors, is there anything that can be done or is that it fecked?

Also where is the best place to get joysticks, mine are both broken one won't go down one won't go right.
chris-red is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 12:27   #57
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
nothing can really be done about bad sectors on disks,as far as i know.

as for joysticks,ebay or maybe amigakit has some(dont know personaly about this one)or maybe someone on this site has a spare or even amibay

are the joysticks microswitched,do they may a clicking sound when used?



EDIT:actually what games are bad(i assume there games)?
roy bates is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 12:41   #58
Rob 1
The Original Domainiac

Rob 1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Stafford/UK
Age: 41
Posts: 1,291
Quote:
Originally Posted by chris-red View Post
Also where is the best place to get joysticks, mine are both broken one won't go down one won't go right.

Are they the same type joystick? take them a part and coble 1 out the 2 if they are....

This is the one I recommended
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/OFFICIAL-SEGA-MASTER-SYSTEM-CONTROL-STICK-JOYSTICK-/251170234210?pt=UK_Controllers_Attachments&hash=item3a7ae99f62

Thatís not me selling it by the way

Thereís loads of joysticks on EBay.. Iím not sure if the other Sega joysticks (mega Drive etc) work on the Amiga but the one above definitely does and it wonít break in 5 mins like the old quick shot ones did.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nkw=sega+joy+stick&_sacat=0&_odkw=sega&_osacat=0
Rob 1 is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 12:47   #59
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
any atari compatible joysticks work out the box(9 pin type)

or joystcks for the spectrum(kempston) and c64 etc.
roy bates is offline  
Old 30 October 2012, 14:29   #60
chris-red
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Hornchurch
Posts: 29
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
nothing can really be done about bad sectors on disks,as far as i know.

as for joysticks,ebay or maybe amigakit has some(dont know personaly about this one)or maybe someone on this site has a spare or even amibay

are the joysticks microswitched,do they may a clicking sound when used?



EDIT:actually what games are bad(i assume there games)?

Most of them are just copies I estimate there are about 75% of my disks missing they are probably in another box in the loft I will go diving again one day!
chris-red is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Breathing new life in to my loft kept 1200! pinchez New to Emulation or Amiga scene 7 22 November 2011 22:13
Exploring the Games of the PLATO Computer System mattbarton.exe Retrogaming General Discussion 5 06 June 2009 18:38
The Psygnosis dev disks from the loft FromWithin Retrogaming General Discussion 61 25 July 2004 14:08

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:43.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22075 seconds with 11 queries