English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2012, 22:21   #1
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 331
DualPNG and OS4 icons on OS3

Using DualPNG and OS4.1 icons on OS3.# Requires AfA:
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/afa_binarie_upload.php
Or latest Icon.library:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079

Icons:
KensV4 (46 high)
http://www.five-star.com/icons.htm
http://aminet.net/package/pix/picon/AlpyreIcons1
http://aminet.net/package/pix/picon/AlpyreIcons2
OS4 Icons (46 high)
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/micollection2007.lha
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/micollection2008.lha
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/cha05e90_icons_2009.lha
Icons Scaled to 46 high:

I have scaled most of the freely available OS4.1 icons and icons by Lorraine Design to 46 high. Not sure how the authors would feel about these being distributed, will look into this...

Tools to create your own icons from any image:
ImageConverter can create DualPNG glowicons out of PNG images with transparency:
http://www.hd-rec.de/Archive/ImageConverter.lha
IconMaker Scripts for ImageConverter and Join:
http://www..com/?p9o3gud23c44y51
Add transparency to images with an Image Processor like ArtEffect or PPT:
http://www.amiga-arena.de/tools.html
http://www.ecyrd.com/~jalkanen/PPT/
OptiPNG can be used to crop the first image from gif (snip) animations and DualPNG icons (fix - use copies!). This is the 040fpu version from Aminet with added scripts to make things easier:
http://www..com/?oirhc8559e8bx4o
SGrab is useful for grabbing screenshots to crop and convert:
http://aminet.net/util/wb/sgrab.lha
Rename all those PNG icons on Aminet e.t.c. from .info back to .png with a tool like MultiRen so they can be converted by ImageConverter:
http://aminet.net/util/misc/MultiRen.lha
KDEView for icon copying:
http://aminet.net/util/wb/KDEView.lha

Some of mine:


http://www..com/?9ks03in6xbz6ji6

Last edited by James; 19 December 2012 at 16:03.
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 October 2012, 23:01   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 35
Posts: 6,291
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Wow great work, thanks for sharing

I'll try some of these on my AmigaOne and OS3.9 AfA setup
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 16:16   #3
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 331
Thanks for your comments.
Meant to reply sooner... I will post up some more of my icons once I have sorted them out. In the meantime I have updated the original post a little, and here is an icon for Retrofan:

Retrofan_avatar.lha
James is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 17:58   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 4,484
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks a lot mate. Although it's very hard to use a real image as an icon; it has to be much easier with a drawing.

I like a lot also your icons of the first post.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 03:04   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 4,484
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
James I see that some of the links are now broken.

These last days I've had to create some icons to work with a program that doesn't work with 3.5 icons.

For what I've seen there are two ways:

- To use your great IconMaker program (included in AKReal, needs FPU as it uses ImageConverter).

- Or to use "Join". That's the one Ken Lester uses. In my distro just typing from Cli "Join" it will open and it's just to take two png images and save them as whatever.info

To convert some old icons I obtained the images using an script I have to get both pngs with alpha channel with ImageConverter (normal -_n- and selected -_s-).

Code:
ImageConverter Sys:#?.info -of Ram:%f_n -f PNG -img 0
ImageConverter Sys:#?.info -of Ram:%f_s -f PNG -img 1
In one of the icons (for the WBArmy game) I found it only had the old images in the icon, so using IconEdit I saved them first, later I converted them to 32bits with Ultimate Paint in the Pc and finally I joined them.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing OS4 functions for OS3.x arti Coders. C/C++ 22 03 May 2013 17:27
Some icons not shown on OS3.9 Foul support.Apps 50 06 March 2011 11:31
OS3.5 Icons Anubis project.ClassicWB 17 23 September 2007 12:05
Display 32bit OS4 Icons in Amiga OS3.x! klesterjr News 12 28 February 2007 17:31
HivelyTracker 1.2 for OS4 and OS3.x out now! spoUP News 5 08 January 2007 04:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2015, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11125 seconds with 12 queries