English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2012, 22:21   #1
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 448
DualPNG and OS4 icons on OS3

Using DualPNG and OS4.1 icons on OS3.# Requires AfA:
http://amidevcpp.amiga-world.de/afa_binarie_upload.php
Or latest Icon.library:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=64079

Icons:
KensV4 (46 high)
http://www.five-star.com/icons.htm
http://aminet.net/package/pix/picon/AlpyreIcons1
http://aminet.net/package/pix/picon/AlpyreIcons2
OS4 Icons (46 high)
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/micollection2007.lha
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/micollection2008.lha
http://os4depot.net/index.php?function=showfile&file=graphics/icon/cha05e90_icons_2009.lha
Icons Scaled to 46 high:

I have scaled most of the freely available OS4.1 icons and icons by Lorraine Design to 46 high. Not sure how the authors would feel about these being distributed, will look into this...

Tools to create your own icons from any image:
ImageConverter can create DualPNG glowicons out of PNG images with transparency:
http://www.hd-rec.de/Archive/ImageConverter.lha
IconMaker Scripts for ImageConverter and Join:
http://www..com/?p9o3gud23c44y51
Add transparency to images with an Image Processor like ArtEffect or PPT:
http://www.amiga-arena.de/tools.html
http://www.ecyrd.com/~jalkanen/PPT/
OptiPNG can be used to crop the first image from gif (snip) animations and DualPNG icons (fix - use copies!). This is the 040fpu version from Aminet with added scripts to make things easier:
http://www..com/?oirhc8559e8bx4o
SGrab is useful for grabbing screenshots to crop and convert:
http://aminet.net/util/wb/sgrab.lha
Rename all those PNG icons on Aminet e.t.c. from .info back to .png with a tool like MultiRen so they can be converted by ImageConverter:
http://aminet.net/util/misc/MultiRen.lha
KDEView for icon copying:
http://aminet.net/util/wb/KDEView.lha

Some of mine:


http://www..com/?9ks03in6xbz6ji6

Last edited by James; 19 December 2012 at 16:03.
James is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 October 2012, 23:01   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Wow great work, thanks for sharing

I'll try some of these on my AmigaOne and OS3.9 AfA setup
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 16:16   #3
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 448
Thanks for your comments.
Meant to reply sooner... I will post up some more of my icons once I have sorted them out. In the meantime I have updated the original post a little, and here is an icon for Retrofan:

Retrofan_avatar.lha
James is offline  
Old 19 December 2012, 17:58   #4
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,579
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Thanks a lot mate. Although it's very hard to use a real image as an icon; it has to be much easier with a drawing.

I like a lot also your icons of the first post.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 21 August 2015, 03:04   #5
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,579
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
James I see that some of the links are now broken.

These last days I've had to create some icons to work with a program that doesn't work with 3.5 icons.

For what I've seen there are two ways:

- To use your great IconMaker program (included in AKReal, needs FPU as it uses ImageConverter).

- Or to use "Join". That's the one Ken Lester uses. In my distro just typing from Cli "Join" it will open and it's just to take two png images and save them as whatever.info

To convert some old icons I obtained the images using a script I have to get both pngs with alpha channel with ImageConverter (normal -_n- and selected -_s-).

Code:
ImageConverter Sys:#?.info -of Ram:%f_n -f PNG -img 0
ImageConverter Sys:#?.info -of Ram:%f_s -f PNG -img 1
In one of the icons (for the WBArmy game) I found it only had the old images in the icon, so using IconEdit I saved them first, later I converted them to 32bits with Ultimate Paint in the Pc and finally I joined them.

Last edited by Retrofan; 19 August 2016 at 02:24.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 15:35   #6
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 448
Thought it was about time I posted up a collection of the KensV4 style icons I have built to fill in the many gaps. My ultimate (unachievable) goal is to have DualPNG icons for everything. The vast majority are aimed at RTG programs although I have experimented with making a few for WHDLoad games. A few icons need reworking/fixing/replacing, but I've left them in for now.


https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5...HRPVEVjVU0xSU0

Just a few of the included icons:

Click image for larger version

Name:	KensV4StyleIcons.jpg
Views:	115
Size:	306.7 KB
ID:	53240

All of these icons are all built on the works of others such as Ken, Mason, cha05e90 e.t.c. Some like the ImageFX icons are conversions from KenV3 to KenV4.
James is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 20:15   #7
esc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Palo Alto, California, USA
Posts: 372
Very nice! I wish we could have some sort of plug and play workbench pack for this, like classicwb with dualpng icons
esc is offline  
Old 26 May 2017, 22:45   #8
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,640
Thanks James!

A lot of new ideas for fresh looking icons. Great! This set gets a good place in my collection.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 June 2017, 19:35   #9
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 448
Quote:
Originally Posted by esc View Post
Very nice! I wish we could have some sort of plug and play workbench pack for this, like classicwb with dualpng icons
Thanks, I actually put together a huge collection of freely available Amiga RTG software just for fun . Sadly I doubt it will ever be released. The main problems:

Freely available is not the same as freely distributable, so releasing it would probably upset a few people.
It is very large and my internet connection is not very fast.
Keeping it fully up to date is quite time consuming and parts of it are a bit outdated at the moment.

Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Thanks James!

A lot of new ideas for fresh looking icons. Great! This set gets a good place in my collection.
Wow! Thanks for the kind words, I'm just building on the great work by more talented people like Ken and Mason.

A small update:

Click image for larger version

Name:	KensV4Style_update.jpg
Views:	52
Size:	291.3 KB
ID:	53460

https://drive.google.com/open?id=0B5...FFjSWRLdU1DY3c
James is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 01:00   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,579
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Hi James, I don't know how I missed your latest posts. Wonderful, you make perfect icons and I know that for Ken's drawers icons it takes a lot of time to make the selected image creating the glow effect to the new image you want to add. Thanks a lot for your work

Last edited by Retrofan; 17 June 2017 at 01:15.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 02:05   #11
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,640
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
... it takes a lot of time to make the selected image creating the glow effect to the new image you want to add.
Correct! It's not easily possible to create a perfect looking glowing effect on the fly for icons where the second image is missing. That would take too much time if it should be added by icon.library. But there is no such problem with your icon set, James !
PeterK is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 02:30   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,579
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
To tell the truth, when I have to make a "new Ken's icon drawer" -24bit using AfAOS-, I have to make the selected image pixel by pixel on CorelDraw to make the glow effect copying pixels from existing Ken's selected images. Simple as that.

Yes, what I see on CorelDraw takes the full screen and I have to change a lot of pixels there. Later you have to resize it to... almost nothing, so you don't see all of the existing beautiful perfection ... What a pity

I'm sure James also works this way or similar, pixel perfect.

Last edited by Retrofan; 17 June 2017 at 03:19.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 17 June 2017, 06:44   #13
Minuous
Coder/webmaster/gamer
Minuous's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Canberra/Australia
Posts: 1,643
Is there a description of the "add glow" algorithm (as used by IconEdit) anywhere? The innermost three glow layers are straightforward but the outermost one seems to follow a different rule, only half the pixels that would be expected are lit.
Minuous is offline  
Old 18 June 2017, 19:27   #14
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 1,941
Thank you James your icons found on my AFA

[ Show youtube player ]
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 19 June 2017, 15:21   #15
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,049
Quote:
Originally Posted by Minuous View Post
Is there a description of the "add glow" algorithm (as used by IconEdit) anywhere? The innermost three glow layers are straightforward but the outermost one seems to follow a different rule, only half the pixels that would be expected are lit.
I don't have a definitive answer, but to me it looks like it's a very simple checkerboard dither for the outermost layer - you can see it in curved icons, where there aren't any pixels in the outermost layer in areas that coincide with a 45 degree line of "blank" pixels in the checkerboard. So it looks like it would be a case of placing a pixel if the LSB of the X value matches the LSB of the Y value, otherwise leave it as colour 0. That's where I'd start anyway...
Daedalus is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Replacing OS4 functions for OS3.x arti Coders. C/C++ 22 03 May 2013 17:27
Some icons not shown on OS3.9 Foul support.Apps 50 06 March 2011 11:31
OS3.5 Icons Anubis project.ClassicWB 17 23 September 2007 12:05
Display 32bit OS4 Icons in Amiga OS3.x! klesterjr News 12 28 February 2007 17:31
HivelyTracker 1.2 for OS4 and OS3.x out now! spoUP News 5 08 January 2007 04:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:55.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26439 seconds with 12 queries