English Amiga Board   Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 September 2002, 12:50   #1
r00t
 
Posts: n/a
writing amiga discs from a .adf in an amiga 500

Hi, first of all i'm VERY happy to see an amiga forum so big and alive and great that this one.
I think the AMIGA 500 is the greatest game machine ever, and i still have my A500 in remembrance for a lot unforgetable moments.
A couple of days ago, i've decided to borrow the A500 to my little sister, (she lives far from my house). I have a lot of discs but i've seen in internet a lot of great games that i dont have in discs.
My problem is that i want to copy the .adf's into real AMIGA discs.
I found a program to copy a .adf into an amiga disc, but it needs Kickstart 2.0. I have an A500 with 1mb, KickStart 1.3 and 2 disc drives. Anyone knows a really feasible method to copy the .adf's into real AMIGA discs?.

Greets and Thanks.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 September 2002, 17:32   #2
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 45
Posts: 1,361
Re: writing amiga discs from a .adf in an amiga 500

Quote:
Originally posted by r00t
Hi, first of all i'm VERY happy to see an amiga forum so big and alive and great that this one.
I think the AMIGA 500 is the greatest game machine ever, and i still have my A500 in remembrance for a lot unforgetable moments.
A couple of days ago, i've decided to borrow the A500 to my little sister, (she lives far from my house). I have a lot of discs but i've seen in internet a lot of great games that i dont have in discs.
My problem is that i want to copy the .adf's into real AMIGA discs.
I found a program to copy a .adf into an amiga disc, but it needs Kickstart 2.0. I have an A500 with 1mb, KickStart 1.3 and 2 disc drives. Anyone knows a really feasible method to copy the .adf's into real AMIGA discs?.

Greets and Thanks.
Unless I am mistaken, TransADF works in 1.3.

What is TransADF?
TransADF creates Amiga Disk Files (ADFs), a 880kb file copy of
an Amiga floppy disk. It can also be used to transfer ADFs back
to a real disk.

Do a search on Aminet, www.aminet.org/aminet
whiteb is offline  
Old 25 September 2002, 01:43   #3
Nyarlathotep
Zone Friend
Nyarlathotep's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Italy
Posts: 148
You can use transdisk, available with WinUae.
"transdisk -w file.adf" writes file.adf to df0:
Nyarlathotep is offline  
Old 25 September 2002, 01:47   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 23
Posts: 4,662
BTW, welcome to EAB, r00t!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 28 September 2002, 15:08   #5
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 31
Posts: 441
More info about transdisk:

You should copy have transdisk in your c: directory into wkbench 1.3 disk,

So:

1) Format a disk with the Amy
2) Open the shell
3)
type transdisk -w ser: and insert the ami formatted disk in df0:, then start sending with a pc program ( with a serial cable )

or transdisk -w ser: -d trackdisk1 if you put the disk in df1:

To send/receive adf you can use for example adf sender terminal.

Problems:

With a 1.3 500 it is as slow as hell, it will take about 8 minutes for a disk! So be patient...

Maybe you could gain something with the baudbandit.device ( aminet ), but i am not so sure it can gain speed even from pc to ami.

Last: can you verify if it works even with 512 kb?
mtb is offline  
Old 28 September 2002, 15:19   #6
Unknown_K
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Ohio/USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,377
Send a message via ICQ to Unknown_K
Cloanto amiga explorer works fine (kinda slow) for moving adf's from pc to amiga 500 (mine is a 1mb unit).

All you need is a workbench disk to boot the amiga (I used 1.3) the software on the pc send data to the amiga through a null modem cable, this data is dumped to a floppy and then you just run the sopftware. The program sends the adf directly to an unformatted disk in you amiga floppy drive (takes a while since baud rate is 19200). On the pc side it shows your amiga floppy drives you just drag the adf to the drive you want to send it to, the amiga doesnt even have to have a monitor running since its all done from the pc.
Unknown_K is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 500 Adf. Games On Cdtv j_sntos support.Other 1 31 March 2012 20:24
Catweasel IV Plus - ADF writing on disk works but errors on real Amiga Rakki support.Hardware 8 07 January 2011 19:53
pc .adf to real amiga 500 disc fickel New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 02 February 2006 17:58
writing floppy discs doublescotch support.WinUAE 11 13 August 2004 12:06
ADF Files -> Amiga 500 on a XP machine Chaser New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 02 May 2002 05:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12122 seconds with 11 queries