English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2012, 07:41   #1
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Floppy disk workbench.library 45.132 patch to try out

Changes made in workbench.library 45.132 (beta test version):

Code:
* - ICONCTRLA_NewBumpRevision of $REV 130/131 was checking icon.library only
*   for Lib_Revision being exactly 4 and not if the version was 45.4 or newer.
* - Workbench.library copy function sometimes came up with a requester asking
*   to insert a disk with the strange volume name "afadaba..." in any drive.
*   This bug also caused many Enforcer hits and sometimes freezes or Gurus. 
* - The requirements for the version of exec.library have been reduced to V39.
*   Thus, you can use this workbench.library now together with Kickstart 3.0.
Usage: spatch -onewfile -ppatchfile oldfile

spatch -oworkbench.library -pWbLib_45.127-45.132.pch workbench.library.45.127
or
spatch -oworkbench.library -pWbLib_45.131-45.132.pch workbench.library.45.131

Update: The 2nd bug is still not perfectly fixed. But the strange requester won't come up anymore.
Attached Files
File Type: lha WbLib_45.132pch.lha (45.4 KB, 608 views)

Last edited by PeterK; 22 November 2012 at 18:55.
PeterK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 September 2012, 09:32   #2
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 45
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
Changes made in workbench.library 45.132:

Code:
* - ICONCTRLA_NewBumpRevision of $REV 130/131 was checking icon.library only
*   for Lib_Revision being exactly 4 and not if the version was 45.4 or newer.
* - Workbench.library copy function sometimes came up with a requester asking
*   to insert a disk with the strange volume name "afadaba..." in any drive.
*   This bug also caused many Enforcer hits and sometimes freezes or Gurus. 
* - The requirements for the version of exec.library have been reduced to V39.
*   Thus, you can use this workbench.library now together with Kickstart 3.0.
Usage: spatch -onewfile -ppatchfile oldfile

spatch -oworkbench.library -pWbLib_45.127-45.132.pch workbench.library.45.127
or
spatch -oworkbench.library -pWbLib_45.131-45.132.pch workbench.library.45.131
good work....it seems you removed the KICK 3.1 malicious check
so now it is possible to run OS 3.9 on kickstart 3.0 without the patchlibrary fix?
clauddio is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 09:37   #3
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,529
Thank you for your work
gulliver is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 09:44   #4
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
No. I have doubt about that being possible, since there are probably lots of other libraries and tools where their programmers never really checked their code for the real requirements. There are indeed only a very few new functions which have been introduced with OS 3.1, but unfortunately most programmers insist on v40 instead of v39. I would say, maybe 95 % of these programs could work without problems on OS 3.0, too.
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 09:59   #5
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 45
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No. I have doubt about that being possible, since there are probably lots of other libraries and tools where their programmers never really checked their code for the real requirements. There are indeed only a very few new functions which have been introduced with OS 3.1, but unfortunately most programmers insist on v40 instead of v39. I would say, maybe 95 % of these programs could work without problems on OS 3.0, too.
I know it is possible because I have OS3.9 installed on my A1200+ kickstart 3.0 since long time ago....and it works like a charm
supposedly I always assumed that the malicious check for V40 libraries are inside the workbench.library

here is the beginning of my startup-sequence


run >nil: patchlibrary expansion.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary exec.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary utility.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary graphics.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary layers.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary keymap.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary intuition.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary dos.library 40
run >nil: patchlibrary gadtools.library 40
Attached Files
File Type: lha patchlibrary.lha (593 Bytes, 277 views)
clauddio is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 10:27   #6
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Yes, thank you very much clauddio.

That's what I expected, not just one or two libraries have to be changed.


@gulliver
Please don't include this workbench.library in your BB4 package. This is NOT a final version yet. I've just noticed that my fix for this strange "afadaba...." requester is still not working perfectly. When I repeat that test, I get Enforcer hits again.
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 19:23   #7
gulliver
BoingBagged

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: The South of nowhere
Age: 39
Posts: 1,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
@gulliver
Please don't include this workbench.library in your BB4 package. This is NOT a final version yet. I've just noticed that my fix for this strange "afadaba...." requester is still not working perfectly. When I repeat that test, I get Enforcer hits again.
Thank you for your advice, I was going that road...
gulliver is offline  
Old 08 September 2012, 21:13   #8
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
@gulliver
It's always good to do testing before release, preferably on different setups with Enforcer/MuForce/MuGuardianAngel. It's too easy to make mistakes no matter how good we appear to be sometimes.

@PeterK
There is the workbench.library bug with fonts that seemed to be introduced in the later fixes. I get pink text in Workbench if ENVARC:sys/font.prefs or diskfont.library does not exist. Might be worth looking into. You might also consider a basic library cleanup:

1) SAS/C CopyMem() -> exec.library/CopyMem()
2) .b and .w branches to .l branches is slower and doesn't save much code (time consuming to fix)
3) divul/divsl always use the same form, remainder unneeded sometimes
4) mulu/muls doesn't use <ea> form most of the time either
5) Func_Table could be short version
6) Some smaller functions could be inlined (especially if only called from 1 location)
7) Scc Dn+NEG.B Dn+EXT.L Dn -> Scc Dn+EXT.L Dn+NEG.L Dn for 68060

The library is nearly clean of dead code which is very good for SAS/C . The library uses the library base A6 inefficiently which is tricky and slow to eliminate . I do have the whole library disassembled, reassembled and appears to be working but it is large (~4MB with the ADis comments). Are you reassembling the whole library or are you just patching?
matthey is offline  
Old 10 September 2012, 01:19   #9
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Hi Matt,
thank you for all your recommended improvements. I will add them to the ToDo-list, but atm, I do not even have a recompilable version of the workbench.library. Usually, I won't start to make any changes to the existing code before I can recompile it with the result of getting a 100 % identical executable again. I didn't have the time yet to build a commented ASM source listing. That's why I only patched the v45.131 with a hex editor, in order to avoid any label movements and maybe broken branches. I'm not sure, if I should start a workbench.library project before the icon.library is finished. The library meight be nearly clean of dead code, but I'm sure there is a very large easter egg in the workbench.library too which corresponds with other parts in the original icon.library (both written by Olaf Barthel) and also in IPrefs (the easter egg manager). I still don't know how to trigger that large easter egg. I just know the hidden tags.

Last edited by PeterK; 10 September 2012 at 01:34.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 September 2012, 04:50   #10
matthey
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,284
Hi Peter,
Yes, it's more risky to create a recompiled version of an executable but it's easier to work with and the savings are nice. I've tediously patched by hand with a hex editor also. ADis can list file offsets which makes it easier.

Let me know if you want my disassembled version of the workbench.library. I know where most of the trouble spots for ADis are and how to correct them. I could do a basic cleanup too. There is always a working original version to roll back to if there is a problem. I can see trying to isolate the problem by reducing the possibility of introducing more problems though .

I doubt eliminating the easter eggs in workbench.library will save much. More could probably be saved by combining duplicate text. I see "rexxsyslib.library" twice for example. The diskfont.library had 3 versions of the same string in some cases. It's interesting what is found in programs sometimes.
matthey is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 01:43   #11
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 122
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterK View Post
No. I have doubt about that being possible, since there are probably lots of other libraries and tools where their programmers never really checked their code for the real requirements. There are indeed only a very few new functions which have been introduced with OS 3.1, but unfortunately most programmers insist on v40 instead of v39. I would say, maybe 95 % of these programs could work without problems on OS 3.0, too.
Here is the link with various ROM3.x with changes made inside:
http://privat.bahnhof.se/wb409723/bl...00/romcomp.htm
I hope it will be useful.
tom256 is offline  
Old 22 September 2012, 02:03   #12
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Thanks tom256 !
Very interesting, I've never heard anything of Kickstart 40.55 before. I will make a screenshot or copy. My information about new functions is based on the LVO listings.
PeterK is offline  
Old 03 October 2012, 04:04   #13
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,447
Carry on the good work guys, make those system libraries as fast and bug free as possible
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 October 2012, 19:20   #14
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,380
the patch for 45.132 fails here. version of original says 45.131 ( size 191928 ), command line is ok: "incorrect version of original file". disabled JIT in winuae ( you never know ...). what am I doing wrong?
emufan is offline  
Old 16 October 2012, 22:19   #15
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Your workbench.library 45.131 is NOT the original, it's probably a version of 131 which I once modified to make it usable with Kickstart 3.0. It was included in one of the demo packages. You can see the difference with a hex editor and the date of the original should be 28.06.2006. My version will have a newer date and a different ID string inside.
PeterK is offline  
Old 16 October 2012, 23:04   #16
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,380
yes, from icon.library demo adf. i'll look for the real one.

Edit: found workbench.library 45.127 in BoingBag #1. patch for 45.132 is working now, but version says 45.131 after patching.

Last edited by emufan; 16 October 2012 at 23:57.
emufan is offline  
Old 17 October 2012, 10:14   #17
apex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Amigaplanet
Posts: 313
@PeterK
If there will be a final version from the workbench.library, it would be also nice to get this information on a1k. Or just a small PM to me.
apex is offline  
Old 17 October 2012, 22:23   #18
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,818
Hi apex,

no need to worry about that since there is already a thread at a1k.org, too: http://www.a1k.org/forum/showthread....170#post551170

However, please don't expect that I would start writing a new workbench.library soon. I've no intentions to do anything like this ATM.
PeterK is offline  
Old 14 November 2012, 23:08   #19
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 122
Works fine with WinUAE.
tom256 is offline  
Old 14 November 2012, 23:14   #20
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Not only with WinUAE but with the real thing as well
I have it from day 1 and never experienced a problem in my heavy custom setup.
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot open "workbench.library" amigatv project.ClassicWB 8 17 April 2012 13:57
Patch for Workbench version requester Leandro Jardim request.Apps 8 19 November 2011 21:41
three in one? (SCSI Patch,Mac Patch,MapRom) RogerWilco09 support.Apps 0 05 May 2009 17:56
looking for Amigaguide.library v44.5 patch voxel request.Apps 5 03 October 2006 21:44
Making a shared library from a gcc .a library JoJo Coders. General 1 10 March 2003 20:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:50.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21757 seconds with 12 queries