English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 July 2001, 01:02   #1
Sniper5*
 
Posts: n/a
Amiga Monitors are ACE for PS2!!

I was playing around with my Philips CM8833 monitor for my Amiga and thought I would try it with my PS2 through the Philips rather than my 28" Toshiba.

It's amazing, I can't believe the crispness of the image, now before anyone states the obvious, yes it's only a small screen compared to the TV, but it's well worth it, to see MGS2 demo alone is &^%$!!!

It's like playing a new game, you appreciate things much more and Onimusha - WOW!!

Anyone else tried?

he, he!
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 July 2001, 01:07   #2
RCK
Administrator

RCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Paris / France
Age: 39
Posts: 2,856
Big grin

I actually don't have found the way to connect my GBA to one TV :laugh
RCK is offline  
Old 05 July 2001, 02:24   #3
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Big grin I know a way RCK

It involes a screwdriver, a BIG hammer, some wires and Selotape, I suggest you DON'T try it though
Ian is offline  
Old 05 July 2001, 12:13   #4
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
Excellent idea!

Why didn't I think of this before! Thanks, Sniper, now I can't wait to get home from work
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 05 July 2001, 23:20   #5
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
If you connect your PS2 thru RGB with the miggy monitor, it SURE would be a huge increase in image quality. Anyone with a SCART plug can build a SCART-to-1084 (or similar) interface.

RCK, someone's been planning to do such a device... or so i heard
Akira is offline  
Old 06 July 2001, 00:25   #6
Sniper5*
 
Posts: n/a
Another Thought!!

If you purchase a good quality scart lead for the PS2, one with the S-VIDEO connection half way up the cable, you can have the PS2 running simultaneously on the Amiga monitor and the TV. Just plug the S-VIDEO connector into the back of the monitor~!!

Enjoy a new quality!!
 
Old 06 July 2001, 06:27   #7
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I hooked my VCR up to my Amiga monitor (1084S) several tears ago and the picture quality was stunning!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 07 July 2001, 10:08   #8
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Sorry...inside joke. It just means that I am pining and whining for my monitor to get here from my old home. I was assured a few days ago that it was on its way, but I've heard that song and dance before, so the tears are still falling.

Just pretend it's an old Stones song or something...
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 09 July 2001, 03:52   #9
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Bought Onimusha the other day, and was conciderably impressed, I haven't got a monitor to try out what you said though Sniper5* But it still looks amazing though Scart on my Wega TV

Before I get any comments form a certain someone on this board (You know who you are) it plays great to, shame it's so short (But then again all the Resident Evil games were short)

BTW GT3 comes out on July 20th for those who are interested and live in Blighty land
Ian is offline  
Old 11 July 2001, 19:27   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
Quote:
Originally posted by IanCharge
Before I get any comments form a certain someone on this board (You know who you are) it plays great to, shame it's so short (But then again all the Resident Evil games were short)
Mwahaha, I think that's me Anyway, you won't get a better picture quality in a miggy monitor if you are using SCART on a Wega... SCART is like RGB, so it's the BEST output quality you can get from any machine.

SCART TVs are brill.


.... PS2 sucks.. there, I had to say it Now, methinks that I will have to eventually get one, since Sega seems to be pulling ice shit for it. We'll see...
Akira is offline  
Old 12 July 2001, 00:10   #11
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
Stick out tongue Your right ...

... It was you

Sega's stuff for it is all s$#t so far because none of it is their own work (Acclaim pronounced F%$k up a completly brilliant game, CRAZY TAXI, with a p#$s poor conversion), later this year (Virtua Fighter 4 anyone) this all should change

Sega is Dead:eek
Long live SEGA
Ian is offline  
Old 12 July 2001, 18:15   #12
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,274
I didn't know Acclaim converted Crazy Taxi.. why on earth?? Whatevr, I was talking about Sega-produced stuff, of course
Akira is offline  
Old 12 July 2001, 18:24   #13
Ian
HIGH FIVE!!

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby
Age: 39
Posts: 1,898
I agree

Their first game will be Virtua Fighter 4 and it's supposed to come out in August or there abouts.
Ian is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2 X Amiga monitors ElectroBlaster MarketPlace 3 03 May 2007 01:49
FS: 2 Amiga monitors lopos2000 MarketPlace 0 06 March 2007 14:03
Amiga monitors Unknown_K support.Hardware 15 25 June 2005 13:59
Emulating Atari 800 on Amiga: ACE ROM problems mr_a500 Retrogaming General Discussion 6 25 February 2005 23:36
Amiga Monitors NytroX86 Retrogaming General Discussion 6 01 December 2002 04:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:05.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.16497 seconds with 11 queries