English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 September 2002, 12:09   #1
alkis21
Zone Friend
alkis21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Athens, Greece
Age: 42
Posts: 1,276
Send a message via MSN to alkis21
Magic Workbench - is it worth it?

I want to enhance the way my Workbench looks and works, but I have some questions.

-Will MagicWB slow down my Amiga considerably? I have an A1200, 10MB RAM.
-Will it look ok on a 640x400 resolution?
-Is it easy to uninstall it if I don't like what I see?
alkis21 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 September 2002, 12:44   #2
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
I tried this on an even lower ECS resolution with 12 megs of ram and an 030/33...it slowed it down to a miserable level for me. Not only that, those stupid help windows were always popping up and getting in the way, it looked all goofy and XP-ish...and I didn't even find it functional at all. I felt like my system was all at once coded in AmigaBASIC (well...a cross between ABasic and AMOS). I prefer my Amiga smooth and respectable rather than tacky and sluggish. I already have that (Windows).
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 13:27   #3
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Magic Workbench is just a new set of icons. I used to have it on my 020/2mb machine and haven't experienced any slowdowns It needs 8 (16?) colors so it'll get as slow as a normal workbench screen with that amount of colors. While MWB icons are not perfect, they are better than default ones.

Twist, maybe you're speaking of MUI? I remember no help windows with MagicWB.
 
Old 23 September 2002, 13:52   #4
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Hmmm...it has been awhile. I think you might be right. I remember trying both at the same time and hating one but not the other. I guess my mixing the two up is the only thing that makes sense. I stand corrected.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 15:12   #5
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
You probs have mixed them as MUI and MWB use the same colour standard
BippyM is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 17:07   #6
Antiriad
The Sacred Armour Of
Antiriad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Sussex, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,141
NewIcons are worse for slowing your system down
Antiriad is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 17:11   #7
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
Quite ironically though as it states that NewIcons could even end up speeding up your system.

NewIcons does have the large advantage of different colors where MWB uses a simple color scheme.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 17:41   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
I think nIcons speeds up the sys but MUI surely is a HOG and a common GURU causer IMO.

Bloat
Akira is online now  
Old 23 September 2002, 17:44   #9
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
nIcons might speed up some systems but it surely hogs resources on other systems. My A1200 was crawling along slower than a 133 mhz PC with windows XP.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 22:06   #10
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Newicons require 64 (32?) colors and your system is doomed to slow down. Also default newicons are not pretty, installing it on a system with gfx card and replacing default newicons with replacements from aminet may be a good idea but again, installing os3.9 and glowicons is a better idea!
 
Old 23 September 2002, 22:23   #11
Drake1009
Registered User
Drake1009's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Denmark
Posts: 2,284
I had nIcons running in 16 color mode at the time. Never figured out a way to replace the default icons though. And with it requirering programs to be installed first which means in the end it takes up half the memory and a bit of a stock A1200 I decided to reinstall soon after.
Drake1009 is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 22:27   #12
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
MWB shure looks nice on a proportional screen. But for TV resolution stick with original C= icons, they might not be fancy but at least the harddrive icons look good

I actually ran original C= icons and Birdie on my A1200 with 030/50 in 256 colors. It was not that slow really And it looked really great for the time.
cv643d is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 22:48   #13
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Drake, newicons installs "copynewicon" in the prefs dir. With this you can copy the info files of the newicon compatible inons that you download from aminet over the default icon .info files. I don't like copynewicon for you are required to handle this operation with a file requester so I started this thread. Copyicon is especially good.

I like the way a plain, newly installed system works. Menus are lighning speed, icons too. Speaking of functionality, my 030/50 displays default icons faster than my PPC/Bvision machine that displays glow/new icons.
 
Old 24 September 2002, 06:40   #14
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg
Newicons require 64 (32?) colors
None... No color requirenments for the NI patch to run
Akira is online now  
Old 24 September 2002, 08:34   #15
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
I like the default set that comes with OS 3.9

Before that, I liked MagicWB because it was fast (newicons really dogs the system down) and it looked fairly decent. Although not as nice as what AGA is capable of, or what you can get with a gfx card, on lower end miggy's it's quite nice.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 11:22   #16
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
None... No color requirenments for the NI patch to run
I mean newicons don't look good with anything under 32 colors, no?
 
Old 24 September 2002, 12:09   #17
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Just install one of Bloodwych's Classic Workbenches - They are excellent.
Big-Byte is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Magic Workbench issue amiga support.Apps 1 02 June 2009 17:34
I'm too scared to use Magic Workbench alkis21 support.Apps 16 09 April 2007 18:25
magic workbench 2 Exit! support.Apps 2 07 October 2006 13:23
Magic Workbench 2 Dave_wb support.Hardware 4 12 April 2005 15:09
Magic Workbench, Ay?? etheridge New to Emulation or Amiga scene 3 17 May 2002 11:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20749 seconds with 11 queries