English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 August 2012, 16:17   #1
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Question A1200D Project - Mechanical Compat. Advice

Hi everyone,

So a few weeks ago I dug out my A1200 which I hadn't powered on for a couple of years and haven't been able to stop thinking about getting some more use out of the thing ever since! I had been pondering an A1200 tower project with a mediator PCI board, but have now decided keeping the desktop case suits me better (space reasons & not actually sure I need a tower given I have no plans for a PPC card). I've come up with the following shopping list for my 1200D project, but before I start spending money I was hoping to get some input from the board on my plans..

Here is my shopping list/specification I have come up with so far:

  • Indivision AGA 1200 Mk2 (via DVI hole in rear/side of case)
  • 2x 128MB 72-pin RAM SIMM for Blizzard 1230 MkIV
  • SCSI Kit for Blizzard 1230 MkIV (via slot opening on rear of case)
  • Subway USB Interface - maybe (via USB hole(s) in side of case)
  • IDEFix-Express Controller
  • 2x 4GB IDE capable CF Cards in 2.5" HDD housing (http://www.vesalia.de/e_ide25cfx2hdd.htm)
  • Additional external lateral IDE CF port
  • Slot Loading DVD-RW (GWA-4080 for Apple) (via slot hole upper left rear of case)
  • EasyADF PCMCIA Compact Flash Transfer Kit
  • EasyNET PCMCIA Network Card
  • Kickstart 3.1 ROMs
  • 33MHz 68882 PGA FPU (at 50MHz - I hope!)
  • Amiga OS 3.9 CDROM
  • (oh, and a new Dremel tool! )

My goals for this machine are (1) retro gaming and (2) getting on IRC.

Before I go ahead and buy all this stuff and start putting it together (and cutting holes in my A1200 case!) I was hoping some more experienced Amigans on the board would be kind enough to offer some opinion on whether all of the above is mechanically compatible with one another/will fit inside an A1200 desktop case?

Also, are there any other mods/addons I should consider while I'm doing this 'project'?

I'm uncertain if I will need to upgrade my standard A1200 power brick. I'm guessing I will need to but not sure how to tackle this. I'd rather not have a bare ATX PSU hanging out the back..

Looking forward to hearing what people think.

Thanks

Last edited by rikbliz; 13 August 2012 at 23:25. Reason: Changing title in vein hope of a reply :)
rikbliz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 August 2012, 05:33   #2
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,223
Looking at your shopping list - you must have quite a bit of extra cash! I imagine this would cost in the region of 300-500?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 09:31   #3
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Stick out tongue

No, not really - been saving the pennies for something like this for a while. Hence I'm trying to make sure it is all compatible with one another being dropping the dollars..! Seeing as I already have a Blizzard 1230 MkIV card, I think it'll be worth the money.
rikbliz is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 17:53   #4
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
I cant help but think you should wait and see if Jens has something coming that will provide s-ATA for the A1200. But that, on the other hand, can turn in to a looooong waiting game.

Thought on your hardware list. The 2xCF adapter, is it a RAID device, or will it connect 2 4gB drives to the IDE? Either way, your going to have to decide what way you want to "circumvent" the 2gB+ issues.

Seams like a cool build, good luck.
Mr B is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 22:44   #5
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
I cant help but think you should wait and see if Jens has something coming that will provide s-ATA for the A1200. But that, on the other hand, can turn in to a looooong waiting game.

Thought on your hardware list. The 2xCF adapter, is it a RAID device, or will it connect 2 4gB drives to the IDE? Either way, your going to have to decide what way you want to "circumvent" the 2gB+ issues.

Seams like a cool build, good luck.
Hi Mr B - Thanks for your thoughts.. I don't think I can wait for SATA adapter I'm trying to decide between IDEFix Express or a Fast ATA MkIV at the moment.

From what I have worked out, that 2xCF adapter is just a chassis - I think it has internal wiring so that one CF is IDE master and the other is IDE slave.

What do you mean 2GB issue? I thought the limit was 4GB? Plus with IDEFix or FastATA you can use larger than 4GB drives, no?

rikbliz is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 23:46   #6
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
File system limitations cap you well before the hardware does. With FFS, the Amiga default file system, your limited to 2gB. This is true regardless of how you hook it to the Amiga. Both IDEFix, and FastATA does lift the limits of the hardware, but you'd still have to tinker with the filesystem, or run a heap of 2gB partitions. I think. Pretty sure. Someone else should probably confirm this tho.
There are good guides around here, and quite a few fountains of knowledge is around, so getting it all to work isn't THAT hard. But for me, it's still a bit much. I've got a 4gB CF i'm preparing as system / games drive right now, and it's split in to two 2gB partitions, simply coz i find the task of setting up SFS or PFS. Ideally i would have a much smaller systems partition, and a single quite large partition for games and other fun.

When it comes to selecting one over the other, for the ATA interfaces. I'd go with the cheap option, simply due to not really seeing the main advantage of the second as a real advantage. Speed. It's faster. Quite a bit. But even without the interface upgrades, loading to the desktop takes only seconds, and launching softwares, games or otherways, is more about CPU, then disc access from what i see with my usage, and i think my ACA1230/56 is faster then your Blizzard 1230MKIV. (No disrespect intended.) Big stuff does launch faster from the ramdrive, but not that much really. The lack of noticeable searchtime from the CF is a lot more of an advantage then the higher bandwidth.
But all in all, that depends on what you intend to DO with the system once it's up and running. If speed turns out to be an issue, find a fast SCSI-II drive, and you should get performance right in the middle of the two ATA interfaces. And to me, that would suggest go with the cheap one, as your getting the fast SCSI-II either way.
But then again, your build is pretty far out there compared to mine, so for all bells and whistles, get the fast one. (That would be FastATA MKIV, but you knew this)
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 00:13   #7
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Oh that's good to know - I didn't know about the 2GB software limitation, as I currently have only a 2GB IDE HDD.

Yes, I think your ACA1230/56 is faster, but only by 6MHz!

FastATA MkIV I am thinking. Might order some parts from AmigaKit tomorrow...

Last edited by rikbliz; 12 June 2017 at 11:16.
rikbliz is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 02:24   #8
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
I'm a UNIX sysadmin by day (Amiga UBER-NOOB by night though!) so think I will try to use SFS in order to use 4GB partitions on my CF drives.
I'd recommend a smaller system partition, regardless of filesystem, but there is more about that in pretty much every "how to" on the topic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
I'll need to track down some howtos/docs on file systems - think I saw a stickied post on EAB the other day actually.
There is bound to be some there, and there is some good threads here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
Yes, I think your ACA1230/56 is faster, but only by 6MHz!
I think it's more about the memory, and wait-states / access times actually. Jens did explain a lot of what he did to these new accelerators to make em go faster, but basically, since he doesn't have to make it work with exchangeable memory, he could push it a bit further. However, it's getting of-topic. Sorry.
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 03:48   #9
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
1) Indivision AGA 1200 Mk2 (via DVI hole in rear/side of case) - HDMI is much cleaner (goes in the RF hole) like this [ Show youtube player ]
2) SCSI Kit for Blizzard 1230 MkIV (via slot opening on rear of case)
3) EasyADF PCMCIA Compact Flash Transfer Kit
4) EasyNET PCMCIA Network Card
5) Kickstart 3.1 ROMs
6) 33MHz 68882 PGA FPU (at 50MHz - I hope!) - you should be able to find a 40Mhz or even 50Mhz one.
7) 2x 128MB 72-pin RAM SIMM for Blizzard 1230 MkIV - you don't really need this much memory, 64MB is enough.


If you are going SCSI you don't need the IDEFix-Express Controller or internal CDROM, you could mount your HD and CDROM in an external unit (faster than IDE with less CPU load).

You don't really need a CDROM drive with a 1200 anyway, you can normally just rip any data you need off an Amiga CDROM using WinUAE and then transfer it using a CF card.

Don't bother with the Subway either as an 030 is not really up to the task.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 09:23   #10
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Hey NovaCoder

Thanks for the tips about the RAM and the Subway. I'll keep those in mind.

Also regarding the SCSI - I want the system to be as self contained as possible as I'll be moving it around quite a lot so having an external SCSI enclosure is a nice idea but not going to suit me. To be honest the SCSI is just a 'nice to have' and probably the last thing on this list that will get bought/integrated..

I want to put in a slot loading optical drive mainly for the case modding fun-ness

Does using the HDMI header inside the case result in a cleaner signal than having DVI out with a DVI->HDMI cable adapter ?
rikbliz is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 09:57   #11
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
No it won't give you a better signal, it's just a neater mod (as you can see in the video) than using the included DVI output. It also allows you to mount your SCSI out in that empty spot (near the floppy) which is probably the best place for it.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 10:22   #12
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
No it won't give you a better signal, it's just a neater mod (as you can see in the video) than using the included DVI output. It also allows you to mount your SCSI out in that empty spot (near the floppy) which is probably the best place for it.
Yeah, good shout. Its all digital so I suppose DVI or HDMI connection won't make any difference. I'll need to connect to both DVI (monitor) and HDMI (LCD TV) so I'm going to need an adapter either way. I looked at that vid, you're right, it will fit together better plus no hacking a hole in the case... Thanks
rikbliz is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 10:47   #13
hooverphonique
ex. demoscener "Bigmama"
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Fyn / Denmark
Posts: 705
I agree with novacoder.. Focus on either scsi or ide, not both..
hooverphonique is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 11:07   #14
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
Its all digital so I suppose DVI or HDMI connection won't make any difference.
Now that isn't true. DVI isn't all digital, which is why the Indivision was equipped with it and not HDMI in the first place. Going with HDMI means you lose the VGA option, and as long as your fine with it, go for it, it makes for a neater mod.
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 11:15   #15
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
1. You forgot the HxC Floppy Emulator, no more buggy floppies + you get a emulated floppy sound if you'd like(wife hates that sound btw ).
2. PICO-psu?
3. I just installed Kippers CF-IDE adapter, this lets me change CF:s without opening my 1200.
4. Next mod will be Kippers HDMI-outout.
Coming mod:
5. I'm thinking of hacking an joystick/mouse autoswitcher into my Amiga. And will mount a USB input that will be connected to a MicroMys inside the miggy. And I'll hook up the normal joystick input to the switch. But as I don't know the size of the switch, this might have to be done in a none desktop 1200(might do a Rackmount version 1200 if I can get hold of a 1200 for a small sum some day
N-Ed is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 14:53   #16
rikbliz
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: ...
Posts: 113
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
Now that isn't true. DVI isn't all digital, which is why the Indivision was equipped with it and not HDMI in the first place. Going with HDMI means you lose the VGA option, and as long as your fine with it, go for it, it makes for a neater mod.
Sorry, was thinking of DVI-D there oops. What are the implications of 'losing the VGA option'? Does this mean some games won't run over HDMI?

Quote:
Originally Posted by N-Ed
1. You forgot the HxC Floppy Emulator, no more buggy floppies
After the system is on its legs, HxC is something I will probably look at (plus an external amiga floppy drive for my old discs/posterity!)

Quote:
Originally Posted by N-Ed
2. PICO-psu?
Thinking about this currently. Either that, or maybe just an A500 high wattage PSU brick...

Quote:
Originally Posted by N-Ed
3. I just installed Kippers CF-IDE adapter, this lets me change CF:s without opening my 1200.
Was just in the process of looking him up to order a couple of bits and thought I'd check in on this thread before hand. Got to make up my mind on the HDMI front now first!

Joystick/mouse switcher is also something I've been grappling with, but will have to put that on the back-burner for now.

Cheers
rikbliz is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 15:47   #17
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
HxC is really sweet!

Yeah PICO psu will be in my next machine, now I'm using a 500 brick.

Amigakit is looking into building more switches, will be ordering 2 when they're in stock.
N-Ed is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 17:54   #18
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
Sorry, was thinking of DVI-D there oops. What are the implications of 'losing the VGA option'? Does this mean some games won't run over HDMI?
To the Amiga, it makes no difference. To your screens... Right now, given that the software to configure the Indivision isn't released, and development possibly is suspended pending the resolution of family issues with the developer it's pretty much luck of the draw if your screen will work over digital signals. I got 1 TV, and 5 monitors here. Only two of the monitors work, and both of those are VGA only. Everything else either doesn't see a signal at all, or claim the signal to be out of range.
To top it of, nobody really knows when the configuration tool will be released. It's promised to arrive someday, everyone wants it sooner rather then later, but by now it's already later, and Jens explained not that long ago that anyone who bought the hardware, cant use it, and is waiting for the software, could get their money back. Ofcourse everyone said no. Money back means returning the Indivision MKII, and nobody wants that. So, we wait. (Not trying to slam Jens, he's been honest, and is working to try and find a solution. But rikbliz needs the full story to make a informed buy.)

Bottom line. Don't get a Indivision MKII, hook it up in your miggy over one of Kipper2k's HDMI mods, without having tested that the darn thing actually works for you, on at least some screen you got access to.
The easy way to test it, is using the DVI it comes with, and either use it, or a DVI to HDMI adaptor, and see if it works anywhere for you. First after that i'd cut a slot in the Amiga to fit the HDMI mod from Kipper2k. Also, don't throw away the original DVI part, i suspect it may be the best option to get a visual when one starts playing around with the config tool once it's here.

Quote:
Originally Posted by rikbliz View Post
After the system is on its legs, HxC is something I will probably look at (plus an external amiga floppy drive for my old discs/posterity!)
I never understood the fuzz about this one. With the storage space in todays Amiga systems, why are we emulating floppies? I've stuck one of these in a keyboard, since it doesn't have any internal storage that made sense but i feel like i'm missing the point with the Amiga. Anyway, if you decide to get one, make sure you get a rev C or later. (Earlier models were incapable of writing to Amiga floppies. Not sure if they wrote to other formats, but Amiga is a no go)

Good luck.
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 18:52   #19
N-Ed
Registered User
N-Ed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 116
I've mostly used my HxC to install WB a bunch of times and to play games that hasn't been WHD:ified. And on top of that it a cool gizmo for the miggy, and I can't pass on stuff like that
I actually bought the HxC for my 500, but ended up dremeling it into my 1200 since that is the machine that sees daily usage!

Last edited by N-Ed; 15 August 2012 at 21:22.
N-Ed is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 19:48   #20
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 739
Ah. The Gizmo argument. Yeah, i fall for that one every now and then to. You got to have it, but cant really say why. Cool.
Mr B is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200D BPPC Project Retrofan Hardware mods 107 01 October 2015 13:46
My A1200D Project phipscube Hardware mods 307 02 April 2013 22:13
CF slot with mechanical eject? wXR Hardware mods 5 02 July 2011 19:09
Advice Needed On Black 1200 Project chrispy Hardware mods 41 16 October 2010 14:00
Massive disk archiving project - Looking for advice thgill Amiga scene 75 04 September 2010 15:37

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34248 seconds with 11 queries