English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 August 2012, 15:50   #21
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Where are the pkgsrc ? so I can download them and put in the CF.
http://www.pkgsrc.org/ (there's a link to source distribution tarball, extract it to /usr/pkgsrc )

But if you don't have working network connection, then you'll also need source tarballs for dillo and all dependencies on your CF (put them into /usr/pkgsrc/distfiles ). Usually they are downloaded automatically by build scripts, but since you have no network, you'll have to download them manually. Be sure to read the pkgsrc user's guide.

Quote:
Is Dillo working fine ?
Last time I tried it was working just fine, but that was around 1,5 year ago. It should still work.
strim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 August 2012, 19:19   #22
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Strim,
I have now a Xircom Credit card PS-CE2-10, 2.10 Manufacturer 0x0105 Product 0x10b

When I insert it, it's not disabled but it's not configured.
Not configured means the driver isn't built in the kernel ?

I thought it was a NE2000 compatible, it is reported as it.
gibs is offline  
Old 23 August 2012, 19:27   #23
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Strim,
I have now a Xircom Credit card PS-CE2-10, 2.10 Manufacturer 0x0105 Product 0x10b

When I insert it, it's not disabled but it's not configured.
As far as I know, this card is support by the xi driver. However...

Quote:
Not configured means the driver isn't built in the kernel ?
Exactly, you'd need to build your own kernel with xi enabled. It's quite easy. However... I am afraid that xi driver might not work properly on amiga. At least not until we fix the PCMCIA driver .

Quote:
I thought it was a NE2000 compatible, it is reported as it.
Who does report it as it? Personally, I doubt it is compatible, since it needs a separate driver.

Last edited by strim; 23 August 2012 at 19:33.
strim is offline  
Old 23 August 2012, 22:56   #24
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Here on a FreeBSD site : http://www.freebsd.org/fr/releases/4.2R/notes.html
gibs is offline  
Old 23 August 2012, 23:00   #25
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
It's not stated very clearly, but you can see that "NE2000 compatible PC-Card (PCMCIA) Ethernet/FastEthernet cards" and "Xircom CreditCard adapters(16bit) and workalikes" are separate points. FreeBSD has different drivers for them too.
strim is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 01:32   #26
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
Exactly, you'd need to build your own kernel with xi enabled. It's quite easy. However... I am afraid that xi driver might not work properly on amiga. At least not until we fix the PCMCIA driver .
I dread to think how long a kernel build would take on an amiga and even an amiga equipped with an 060 (cook a lamb roast and come back later?)

Does "kldload" not work on NetBSD (eg: kldload xi)? I use this on FreeBSD when I dont want to have to recompile the kernel. You can have the kldload persistent across reboots by adding the relevant directives to /boot/loader.conf

Though it's been a long time since I played with NetBSD so this might not apply.

Last edited by ahhyes; 24 August 2012 at 01:43.
ahhyes is offline  
Old 24 August 2012, 01:51   #27
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahhyes View Post
I dread to think how long a kernel build would take on an amiga and even an amiga equipped with an 060 (cook a lamb roast and come back later?)
You can cross-build on almost any POSIX-like system (Linux, FreeBSD, Solaris, etc.). It works great, I do it all the time. It's possible to cross-build not only kernel but whole OS. Building a new kernel is as easy as grabbing the source, then:
Code:
./build.sh -m amiga tools
./build.sh -m amiga kernel=GENERIC
And if you want to build everything specify "release" instead of kernel parameter. This process is explained in the documentation.

Quote:
Does "kldload" not work on NetBSD (eg: kldload xi)?
No, we have something similar on other platforms, but on m68k only statically compiled kernels are supported (no modules).

Last edited by strim; 24 August 2012 at 02:20.
strim is offline  
Old 01 September 2012, 21:08   #28
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Hi strim,

I have received the Surecom, it is recognised now

I have a problem: I can't ping from the Amiga the computers in my network or the gateway. But, I can ping from OSX the Amiga.

route show
default 192.168.1.1 UG

ifconfig ne0
inet 192.168.1.68 netmask 0xFFFFFF00 broadcast 192.168.1.255

I have also added the 2 DNS of my provider in /etc/resolv.conf

what is missing ?

Thanks
gibs is offline  
Old 01 September 2012, 21:51   #29
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Hmm, it should just work.

If you can ping your Amiga from OS X, then it means that communication works both way (after all, ping is sending icmp echo and waiting for reply from the other machine).

If you have DHCP server on your network then just put into your rc.conf:
Code:
rc_configured=YES # if missing or set to NO
ifconfig_ne0="dhcp"
Then do
Code:
/etc/rc.d/network restart
All settings will be updated automatically. Alternatively you can just try to use configure the interface from command line.
Code:
dhclient ne0
Static configuration (without DHCP) is a bit more complicated:

Set gateway in /etc/rc.conf :
Code:
rc_configured=YES
defaultroute="192.168.0.1"
Put interface configuration in /etc/ifconfig.ne0 :
Code:
inet 192.168.0.68 netmask 255.255.255.0 up
Put your DNSes into /etc/resolv.conf :
Code:
nameserver 192.168.0.1
Then restart network:
Code:
/etc/rc.d/network restart
Also... take a look at your dmesg, sometimes ne0 does not get detected due to infamous A1200 PCMCIA card reset bug. Solution is to remove the card and insert it again.

If you are sure that the network setting are OK, then double check configuration on other machines (like firewalls, etc.). Also, what error does ping give when trying to reach other machines?

Now I'm away from my amigas and can't check above examples, but you should get the picture .
strim is offline  
Old 02 September 2012, 02:04   #30
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I set the network config in dhcp, now it's working.
Therefore I don't know why it wasn't in manual...it was a routing issue.

Well now I can't add the repository

The documentation say:
export PKG_PATH="ftp://ftp.NetBSD.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD-<RELEASE-NUMBER>/<PORT>/All"
export PKG_PATH

But I get:
"export command not found"
gibs is offline  
Old 02 September 2012, 05:17   #31
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Export only works as a command if your shell is bash. If it is csh, then use setenv. Example: setenv CFLAGS "-O3 -ffast-math"

You can use echo $SHELL to find out what your current shell is.

Last edited by prowler; 02 September 2012 at 22:47. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
ahhyes is offline  
Old 02 September 2012, 10:33   #32
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
I set the network config in dhcp, now it's working.
Therefore I don't know why it wasn't in manual...it was a routing issue.
It's documented in rc.conf man page. But it's true that it should be added to the NetBSD guide.

Quote:
Well now I can't add the repository

The documentation say:
export PKG_PATH="ftp://ftp.NetBSD.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD-<RELEASE-NUMBER>/<PORT>/All"
export PKG_PATH

But I get:
"export command not found"
The export command must exist since it's an internal bourne shell command, but as ahhyes suggested, you might have csh configured as your shell. You may want to change it to /bin/sh with chsh command if it's set to something else. Also, /bin/bash is not installed by default, but that's unrelated to this problem (just use /bin/sh ).

Proper way to use the export command is:
Code:
VARIABLE_NAME=value
export VARIABLE_NAME
(don't do export twice)

By the way, you must use full path in PKG_PATH, variables such as release number and port are to be filled by user in this example, like:
Code:
ftp://ftp.netbsd.org/pub/pkgsrc/packages/NetBSD/amiga/5.1/All/
Notice that path has changed a bit since release of 5.1. This is explained in a README file that lies in an old directory structure . Documentation should probably be updated again...

Also, you'll notice that not so many packages are prebuilt for m68k. That's why it's good to install pkgsrc and build packages on your machine. I've explained this in some previous post .
strim is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 10:55   #33
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
Hmm, it should just work.
Hi Strim,

I am giving NetBSD a go on my 1200 (Equipped with an 060 (Blizzard 1260, 128MB RAM)).

I think I have gotten the partitioning right. However when I boot from the swap partition (after having written the miniroot.fs), It just bombs with error 2 at the netbsd bootstrap loader. Any ideas? I gather one needs to gunzip the miniroot image, as it was compressed (miniroot.fs.gz). I did this before writing the image
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMAG0028.jpg
Views:	364
Size:	475.4 KB
ID:	32609  
ahhyes is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 11:09   #34
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahhyes View Post
Hi Strim,

I am giving NetBSD a go on my 1200 (Equipped with an 060 (Blizzard 1260, 128MB RAM)).

I think I have gotten the partitioning right. However when I boot from the swap partition (after having written the miniroot.fs), It just bombs with error 2 at the netbsd bootstrap loader. Any ideas? I gather one needs to gunzip the miniroot image, as it was compressed (miniroot.fs.gz). I did this before writing the image
Yes, miniroot should be decompressed.

Error 2 is ENOENT (No such file or directory).

Are you really sure your partitioning setup is right? Double check with HDToolBox if:
- swap partition ID is 0x4e425301
- custom boot code is ON
- reserved blocks on start and end are set to 0
- number of custom boot blocks is to 16
- automount is set to ON

You might have to run xstreamtodev again after correcting it!

The swap partition must be within first 4GB of a disk for bootblocks to work. If it's not, you can try to boot the installation with loadbsd (should be somewhere on installation ISO).

Besides, NetBSD 5 is old. Grab the newest NetBSD 6 beta from this server.

Last edited by strim; 11 September 2012 at 11:14.
strim is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 11:50   #35
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
Yes, miniroot should be decompressed.

Error 2 is ENOENT (No such file or directory).

Are you really sure your partitioning setup is right? Double check with HDToolBox if:
- swap partition ID is 0x4e425301
- custom boot code is ON
- reserved blocks on start and end are set to 0
- number of custom boot blocks is to 16
- automount is set to ON

You might have to run xstreamtodev again after correcting it!

The swap partition must be within first 4GB of a disk for bootblocks to work. If it's not, you can try to boot the installation with loadbsd (should be somewhere on installation ISO).

Besides, NetBSD 5 is old. Grab the newest NetBSD 6 beta from this server.
Same issue with 6. Photos of the partitioning included. Where have i gone wrong!

http://ahhyes.net/IMAG0029.jpg
http://ahhyes.net/IMAG0030.jpg
ahhyes is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 13:03   #36
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahhyes View Post
Same issue with 6. Photos of the partitioning included. Where have i gone wrong!

http://ahhyes.net/IMAG0029.jpg
http://ahhyes.net/IMAG0030.jpg
Hmm no idea, it looks good .

How did you use xstreamtodev to transfer miniroot? It should be something like

Code:
xstreamtodev --input=miniroot.fs --rdb-name=CDH1
Anyway, do an experiment. Get loadbsd-2.16 and GENERIC kernel image (ungzip it) from distribution. Put them into same directory on AmigaOS. Try to load the kernel with:

Code:
loadbsd kernelfile
You might want to use -A parameter to force VGA compatible video mode. Just running loadbsd without any parameters will print possible options.

See if it will boot. Pass wd0b (your swap) as root device to run installer.
strim is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 13:23   #37
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
Hmm no idea, it looks good .

How did you use xstreamtodev to transfer miniroot? It should be something like

Code:
xstreamtodev --input=miniroot.fs --rdb-name=CDH1
Anyway, do an experiment. Get loadbsd-2.16 and GENERIC kernel image (ungzip it) from distribution. Put them into same directory on AmigaOS. Try to load the kernel with:

Code:
loadbsd kernelfile
You might want to use -A parameter to force VGA compatible video mode. Just running loadbsd without any parameters will print possible options.

See if it will boot. Pass wd0b (your swap) as root device to run installer.
I used the same arguments to xstreamtodev as you quoted

I'm wondering whether the type of disk drive I am using could be an issue? It's not a real IDE drive:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=883

Though the Amiga HD Tools had no trouble seeing it..

I'll try the stuff you suggested tomorrow I have the unit at work
ahhyes is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 13:24   #38
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 396
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahhyes View Post
I used the same arguments to xstreamtodev as you quoted

I'm wondering whether the type of disk drive I am using could be an issue? It's not a real IDE drive:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=883

Though the Amiga HD Tools had no trouble seeing it..
I don't think it's a problem. I have the same adapter type in my A600 and it works with the NetBSD.
strim is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 13:30   #39
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
I don't think it's a problem. I have the same adapter type in my A600 and it works with the NetBSD.
Could it be an issue that xstreamtodev has not written ALL of the minirootfs contents?? I notice the utility goves no indication whether it was successful or not, even with the --verbose option. It wrote for probably about 10 seconds and then just stopped and went back to the amiga cli prompt. I can only assume it worked ok.

I am just wondering what exactly the loader cant find?
ahhyes is offline  
Old 11 September 2012, 13:34   #40
ahhyes
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 75
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahhyes View Post
Could it be an issue that xstreamtodev has not written ALL of the minirootfs contents?? I notice the utility goves no indication whether it was successful or not, even with the --verbose option. It wrote for probably about 10 seconds and then just stopped and went back to the amiga cli prompt. I can only assume it worked ok.

I am just wondering what exactly the loader cant find?
Could it be any jumper setting on my Blizzard 1260 causing an issue? There is a mapROM jumper setting that supposedly maps ROM to fastram. I wonder if this could be messing anything up?
ahhyes is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
NetBSD 6.0 released! strim News 2 19 October 2012 01:44
NetBSD 68k megabyte support.Apps 1 27 June 2012 12:30
WinUAE 2.3.0 + NetBSD 5.0.2 No go. ahhyes support.WinUAE 71 15 November 2010 09:29
NetBSD 5.0 shortwind support.WinUAE 6 03 October 2009 13:53
NetBSD/Amiga ?? Highlander support.WinUAE 10 14 January 2005 15:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:17.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.47423 seconds with 12 queries