English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Demos

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 August 2012, 10:27   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Massive by skarla

Trying to get this to run on my 32mb Apollo 1260, so far all I get is a flashing screen and then a crash....anyone got some tips?
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 August 2012, 12:32   #2
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,523
Is your VBR moved to fast ram? AFAIR the demo won't like that. And it has to be started from a native screen, it won't work from RTG screens.
StingRay is offline  
Old 11 August 2012, 15:02   #3
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Hiya StingRay,

I'm using RemApollo so my VBR will be in FASTRAM. I tried using a 3.1 boot disk but still get the same crash.

Maybe I just haven't got enough memory to run it, anyone know how much it needs?

Last edited by NovaCoder; 11 August 2012 at 15:07.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 11 August 2012, 17:09   #4
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 42
Posts: 1,260
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Code:
							MASSIVE
						  Skarla 2011
					   Marvin Norm Jamie

This demo was released for the revision 2011, you need a 68060 and 16 megas 
to run the show. Only 50% of the optimization are present, wait the final 
version to judge the speed. This demo was tested on winuae 2.3.1 version,
if you use the 2.3.0 version it will not work:( 

Thanks to Kalms for support all my question and Winden for his division tricks.

Contact Marvin at mb@monsterbanks.com	http://www.facebook.com/pages/MBROWN/22776198564
Contact Norm at eyegabooom@gmail.com	http://www.flickr.com/photos/skarla/
Contact Jamie at fmacre@bioware.com 	http://www.namdoolabs.com/
Foul is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 05:39   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Tried it without RemApollo and still got a crash.

Has anyone got this to run on an Apollo?
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 12:48   #6
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
Can't get it to run even with the latest WinUAE, just sound but no GFX. I don't bother to search the working settings.
zipper is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 13:39   #7
Mendel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kokkola/Finland
Posts: 75
Works just fine with Blizzard 1260.

Very nice demo
Mendel is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 13:58   #8
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 5,523
Quote:
Originally Posted by zipper View Post
Can't get it to run even with the latest WinUAE, just sound but no GFX. I don't bother to search the working settings.
I have already mentioned the reason for this:
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
And it has to be started from a native screen, it won't work from RTG screens.
StingRay is offline  
Old 12 August 2012, 15:19   #9
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,382
> This demo was tested on winuae 2.3.1 version,
if you use the 2.3.0 version it will not work >
I was trying on PAL mode.
zipper is offline  
Old 19 August 2012, 07:44   #10
Damion
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: US
Posts: 243
I can confirm I ran this on my Apollo 1260 (32MB 80MHz). I can't recall if anything special was required to get it going, unfortunately the system is disassembled at the moment. I had a hacked 3.1 ROM installed and was running the cpu library from the mmulib package. Usually, if a demo didn't work from WB, I could boot with no startup-sequence, run setpatch (and maybe some of the mmulib tools), then start the demo without any problem.
Damion is offline  
Old 19 August 2012, 10:23   #11
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
I'm using the official Apollo 1260 library (patched for RemApollo).

I'll try making a boot disk that uses the MMU 060 library to see if that helps...

Last edited by NovaCoder; 20 August 2012 at 09:02.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 October 2012, 02:14   #12
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Ok finally got this to work and it also allowed me to run TBL's Silkcut on my 32mb Apollo 1260.

Here's what I did:

1) Created a 3.1 boot disk
2) Copied my 'dummy' 68040.library and Cosmos's updated 68060.library over to the libs folder on the floppy boot disk
3) That was it actually.




BTW Massive is very very cool @ 80Mhz, must do a video

Video done -> [ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by NovaCoder; 06 October 2012 at 03:33.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 October 2012, 21:33   #13
Mendel
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Kokkola/Finland
Posts: 75
Massive runs just fine at 66MHz too. Actually itīs still okay even at 50MHz. Not a "we come in peace" or anything like that.
Mendel is offline  
Old 06 October 2012, 22:34   #14
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
i was watching the video and happenrd to see one of your other vids,the one with tfx on nova would you say it was playable.yes i have the game.


yeah,we come in peace is a nice demo.

Last edited by roy bates; 06 October 2012 at 22:40.
roy bates is offline  
Old 07 October 2012, 08:13   #15
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,438
Hiya Roy,

Yep TFX is just about playable on my system so it should run quite nicely on yours

I'll do a write-up when I get the time.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 December 2012, 15:05   #16
SaphirJD
Registered User
SaphirJD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Austria
Posts: 66
Anyone can tell me what's necessary to activate/deactivate in winuae to run that? i managed it once, but i can not find that comb ination of winuae functions which did the trick for me
SaphirJD is offline  
Old 19 August 2017, 04:53   #17
IvanEBC
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 385
Sorry to bring up an old topic, but thought it might be better than starting a new thread and other people who search may find an answer.

But Stingray - can you please define exactly "how" one does this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay View Post
And it has to be started from a native screen, it won't work from RTG screens.
I tried starting the demo using an -aga switch like elude demos but i hear the music but see no visuals.
IvanEBC is offline  
Old 20 August 2017, 03:47   #18
kriz
Junior Member
kriz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: No(R)Way
Age: 35
Posts: 2,338
Open screenmode and select a Pal (or ntsc) screenmode
kriz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need a massive favour - Deuteros Neil79 Retrogaming General Discussion 11 10 September 2012 19:51
Skarla - When we ride on 060 problem jonathan support.Demos 1 27 November 2011 00:57
Massive retro collection daznic MarketPlace 1 28 March 2011 11:17
Massive oversight in HRTMON! h0ffman Coders. General 9 26 February 2011 14:42
IRC massive update ! RCK project.IRC 0 26 April 2003 01:48

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.19789 seconds with 11 queries