English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 July 2012, 00:57   #1
lee t
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Nottingham, England
Posts: 38
c64

Can you play c64 games on a 1200? if so how ? How cost?

Thanks

Lee
lee t is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 July 2012, 01:06   #2
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Frodo is a free portable C64 emulator

http://frodo.cebix.net/

Look for version 2.4 for Amiga OS.
prowler is offline  
Old 28 July 2012, 01:07   #3
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,386
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
I had an 060 .. games weren`t full speed
stainy is offline  
Old 28 July 2012, 01:23   #4
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
Quote:
Originally Posted by stainy View Post
I had an 060 .. games weren`t full speed
Were you using v2.4? This version is much faster than v3.x/v4.x.
prowler is offline  
Old 28 July 2012, 02:10   #5
sir_xeno
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: amigaland
Posts: 19
MagiC64 is quite playable on 030/50.
sir_xeno is offline  
Old 29 July 2012, 09:03   #6
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
Yeah, MagiC64 is the best option for 680x0 users. Nice and fast, and reasonably compatible. On my old blizzard iv 50mhz '030 it was quite usable. About 90% speed when skipping 2 out of 3 frames (which is actually more playable that it might sound). Disabling sound will result in a decent speed up as well.
On my current 40mhz '040 it's full speed with sound using only 1 frameskip and the occasional game will run pretty much full speed without frameskip.
An '060 fill give full speed/framerate for most games.

I did try it on cd32+sx-1+fast ram some years ago and it ran pretty horribly unless screenmode is set to 1bit color, which made a huge difference. I could even play c64 buggy boy at an ok-ish speed, even if it did look a bit spectrum-esque

Ultimately though unless you want to use 1bit color forget it unless you have at least a fast '030 + fast ram. Much like the amiga a c64 isnt the easiest machine to emulate and requires a lot more power than other machines of it's era.
fishyfish is offline  
Old 29 July 2012, 10:28   #7
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 41
Posts: 2,972
Quote:
Originally Posted by fishyfish View Post
Much like the amiga a c64 isnt the easiest machine to emulate and requires a lot more power than other machines of it's era.
Very true, that's why I don't even bother and use WinVice on the peecee, because sadly, Amigas aren't really up to this challenge.

Ultimately, Amigas aren't great for emulation because of limited CPU speed, and as much as I hate recommending a peecee, I'll do just that
Thorham is offline  
Old 29 July 2012, 10:42   #8
fishyfish
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 475
CPU grunt is definately handy for emulation, but perhaps ironically I often prefer emulators on amiga os (or a variant). There's just something about emulation that feels more "genuine" running under amiga os in my opinion. I always put it down to the apis being very raw, ergo the feel, etc., isnt filtered out the way it might be using some other apis.
Amithlon+OS3.x is probably my favorite system when it comes to running emulators, followed by AROS, then Windows, although the reverse is true when there's 3d hardware involved.
Having said this though, it still does fit in with your suggestion that cpu speed is important, even if I personally like amiga based systems for emulation (ie. my "amigas" of choice also have some nice cpu grunt).

Incidently Vice is also available for pretty much every amiga based system out there. Runs great on Amithlon/AROS/MOS, but Id hate to try it on a real amiga
fishyfish is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
C64 yourself s2325 Nostalgia & memories 4 20 March 2012 01:09
c64 .DATS and playing games on the C64 hardware pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 22 15 April 2011 14:40
C64/3D vs C64/3D vs Picasso IV (or both) alewis support.Hardware 19 30 November 2006 12:36
c64 Traquer MarketPlace 20 31 January 2006 12:35
C64 on your TV!! MSC Retrogaming General Discussion 25 22 February 2005 10:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13205 seconds with 11 queries