English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 March 2015, 04:30   #1481
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
I am getting a blue one and a transparent one!!

Last edited by TjLaZer; 20 March 2015 at 07:43.
TjLaZer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 05 March 2015, 11:21   #1482
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by chiark View Post
shoenfeld, I'd message you if I could as I work for someone who might be able to help getting drivers in windows... failing that, publish a non signed driver with instructions on how to install them.
We've compiled the old Catweasel driver with the 64-bit DDK, and even had help from companies with full Microsoft support. None of them was able to get rid of all the compiler errors, they all concluded that the DDK has errors.

I therefore decided to discontinue the Catweasel MK4 series in order to limit my losses on software development. I will not fall into the same trap again - thanks for your offer, but the risk of Microsoft or Apple pulling away the foundation for my business case is too big. I'll go OS-independent.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 05 March 2015, 15:25   #1483
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,354
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Would crowdfunding be a solution then?
As Jens said, crowdfunding is not legal in Europe.. Basically if someone pays you, you have to ship asap. :-)

Alternately Jens would have to set up a company in another country where crowdfunding can happen and then transfer the money over. :-)

Last edited by Jope; 05 March 2015 at 15:30.
Jope is offline  
Old 14 March 2015, 14:43   #1484
Hanzu
Registered User

Hanzu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Finland
Age: 45
Posts: 33
Send a message via MSN to Hanzu Send a message via Skype™ to Hanzu
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Very cool, just a bad choice of colors imo.. Original beige or black would be nice. Even if find my whitest keyboard, it will look horribly yellowed when put into a bright white case. If only he'd have also found the moulds for the keycaps.
Now there is an option for beige and transparent cases too.
https://www.kickstarter.com/projects...ing-in-new-coo

The creator also comments black color.

I suspect keys caps were not made just for some Commodore product. I once found exact match for Amiga key caps from old Keytronic keyboard. Designing Commodore-only key caps does not sound like Commodore which usually tried to make everything in the cheapest possible way. Ofcourse key cap prints had to be Commodore only, but they were maybe done in whole another place.

Last edited by Hanzu; 14 March 2015 at 14:49.
Hanzu is offline  
Old 14 March 2015, 19:26   #1485
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
If only someone found the molds for A500, A600 and A1200. I would like a transparent A1200

I'm a bit surprised about the crowdfunding not being legal in Europe. I know there's at least one Dutch platform and kickstarter also accepts Dutch projects.
spudje is offline  
Old 14 March 2015, 22:30   #1486
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Okay someone has to make a clear case for the A500/A1200. But what would be nice is holes cut for a Gotek USB drive and VGA/DVI for the Indivision :-)
lurch is offline  
Old 14 March 2015, 22:39   #1487
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
A dual purpose case could possibly be made for the A500/A1200 that would save on costs?

Someone needs to do this, I'd back it :-)
lurch is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 18:54   #1488
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Mmm, I thought, why not revive my old A500 with things like an ACA-500. But they're sold out everywhere.

Jens, can we expect a new batch of them?
spudje is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 19:00   #1489
Zippy Zapp
Registered User

Zippy Zapp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CA/USA
Posts: 295
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Mmm, I thought, why not revive my old A500 with things like an ACA-500. But they're sold out everywhere.

Jens, can we expect a new batch of them?
I just recently bought one too and it appears right after that they were sold out everywhere. I looked for another one for my other A500 because I like it so much. I was told by one of the retailers, might have been amigakit that they were expecting another production run soon. So I hope they are making more as it is a fantastic expansion. Wish it had a simple enclosure, though instead of the large one that accommodates an A1200 accelerator as I don't plan on using that part of it.
Zippy Zapp is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 20:36   #1490
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
The bad news is that the ACA500 won't be made in that form any more.

The good news is that the new version of the ACA500 will add some features, such as "full switch-off and downgrade to 7MHz" and "exact speed emulation of ranger-mem" for highest compatibility. I'll overhaul the memory design, add some flash, improve CF card speed, improve CF card compatibility (hot plug on the aux port!), and all this while maintaining compatibility with existing case designs.

A few American guys collected money and sent me an NTSC Rev.5 A500 board, which does not work with the current ACA500. I hope I can tackle that problem as well with the new design. Never took the time to send a "thanks" to those guys. Shame on me...

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 22:46   #1491
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Wow, that sounds awesome!!

While you're at it, please also add a freezer (action replay etc.) option too, like the zeus68k announced to include. Any timelines when this new version will be available? If only you had them for sale at Amiga30.eu

And same requirements? No rev .3 mainboard support?
spudje is offline  
Old 19 March 2015, 23:48   #1492
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
New products for C64 and Amiga from Individual Computers

Will it have 4mb ram standard? If it does I'll finally buy one!

Oh it would be great if it would play nice with other fast ram expansions like kipper's internal 4 mb unit too?
dJOS is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 00:07   #1493
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Yeah, I have a rev 5 and not a rev 3 mainboard
spudje is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 02:18   #1494
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 446
Hopefully it will have NMI button and if also built-in AR or HRT I would definitely buy even this new one.
amigoun is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 15:27   #1495
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
While you're at it, please also add a freezer (action replay etc.) option too,
I'm already in contact with the original author of AR3. He's totally out of the Amiga world, so I can't make any promises. The good news is that I found him, and that I have reserved some space in the logic - along with a button for the "freeze" action.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
Any timelines when this new version will be available?
No timeline, sorry. Retro projects always have to stand back after contract work.

Quote:
Originally Posted by spudje View Post
And same requirements? No rev .3 mainboard support?
I'll see what I can do, but no promises at this point. Rev.3 is a horrible revision if it comes to ground noise.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Will it have 4mb ram standard?
No, it won't.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Oh it would be great if it would play nice with other fast ram expansions like kipper's internal 4 mb unit too?
No promises, just like with the old ACA500: The target system is an un-expanded A500. CPU socket MUST be empty (i.e. only the 68000 CPU in there, no expansion), and the only thing it'll be guaranteed to work with is trapdoor memory expansions.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 20 March 2015, 16:35   #1496
spudje
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 629
Thanks for all the feedback, all the best getting this thing ready!
spudje is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 00:25   #1497
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post


No promises, just like with the old ACA500: The target system is an un-expanded A500. CPU socket MUST be empty (i.e. only the 68000 CPU in there, no expansion), and the only thing it'll be guaranteed to work with is trapdoor memory expansions.

Jens

Will it physically have 4 mb (or more) that is unlockable via your new upgrade process?

If not it would be nice if you could test against Kipper's 4 mb expansion as it's very cheap and would be great for those of us not able to afford an aca12xx to go with it.

In my case i already have two of these in my a500's and would love to have an aca500 to share between them.
dJOS is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 10:06   #1498
adrianh78
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Northampton
Posts: 25
@Jens - just wanted to say, thanks for continuing to make cool new stuff for classic Amiga - it cannot be easy given age of hardware, and relatively small user base so I feel incredibly grateful

Thanks
adrianh78 is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 18:57   #1499
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
I saw the brand new cases for C64 kickstarter. Very nice but what about the keyboard? If you put an old yellowed keyboard in there it would look nasty!
Nostromo is offline  
Old 21 March 2015, 20:01   #1500
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Will it physically have 4 mb (or more) that is unlockable via your new upgrade process?
The new ACA500 will not use this unlocking method.

Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
If not it would be nice if you could test against Kipper's 4 mb expansion as it's very cheap and would be great for those of us not able to afford an aca12xx to go with it.
That's just one out of myriads of expansions that I'd have to test against. The answer is "no" - I won't guarantee function with any other device than trapdoor memory expansions. The ACA500 is a really cheap expansion that is only possible, because the host computer is something that doesn't vary too much. All the different revisions already pose a pile of problems, and I don't want to increase the amount of testing, and hence the amount of support that I'll have to provide with my product.

Quote:
Originally Posted by adrianh78 View Post
@Jens - just wanted to say, thanks for continuing to make cool new stuff for classic Amiga - it cannot be easy given age of hardware, and relatively small user base
I learn a lot from making new designs for old computers, and this has already brought in some very interesting contract work. It doesn't have to be easy - it's fun, and I make sure that it stays fun by ironing out things that will break the fun.

The A500 does not follow any standard. There is no reference document that says "build your expansion this way, and two of them will work". It's easy to completely stop my company's operations if I'd promise compatibility under such circumstances - I'd have hundreds of customers pestering my inbox, and I could decide how I let my company die: Either by answering all those support cases and not developing new stuff, not shipping any parcels, or by not answering those support cases and get lots of negative feedback.

I choose none of the above. If you want to deviate from the recommended configuration, you're on your own.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
I saw the brand new cases for C64 kickstarter. Very nice but what about the keyboard? If you put an old yellowed keyboard in there it would look nasty!
I don't make those cases, and I also don't make keyboards. I did try to contact the original manufacturer of the keyboards (Mitsumi) a few years ago, but they have quit the OEM computer business long ago. What they do today is automotive OEM stuff, and all old tooling has been scrapped, so this is gone forever.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:31.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25411 seconds with 12 queries