English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 September 2014, 13:12   #1401
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
Quick question regarding the Indivision AGA MK2cr.... can it output via DVI (digital signal) @ 50hz? I would like to get one but only if it retains the 50hz frequency so I can connect to a normal TV with a DVI->HDMI adapter.
This is not within the standard output frequencies of today's VGA/DVI monitors, which is why it's also not in the standard modes that are included with the factory config.

However, you can create a non-standard output screenmode @50Hz with the config tool and assign that to PAL-nonlace for gaming (if your monitor supports 50Hz, that is). The output is NOT V-synced, but animation is still smooth, as most monitors don't support V-syncing anyway.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nostromo View Post
And another question on Chameleon... Can it output @ 50hz when using C64 and Amiga cores? (via VGA obviously)
Chameleon in C64 standalone or cartridge mode does support V-Syncing, but many monitors don't like such low frequencies. CRTs are really the best output units, as they work without a framebuffer. Some flat screens with gaming functions do support V-Syncing (the expensive ones do...). There's a list of compatible monitors in our wiki. If you find a new compatible monitor, please report, so we can update the Wiki.

Chameleon with Minimig core has a scandoubler only, not a framebuffer, so it's V-Synced "by nature" - if you run this core in PAL mode, your monitor MUST support 50Hz, otherwise you only get an "out of range" (or similar) error message.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 26 September 2014, 13:18   #1402
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 43
Posts: 5,090
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Thanks Jens. I was looking for a list of v-sync compatible monitors.
DDNI is offline  
Old 26 September 2014, 13:21   #1403
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
This is not within the standard output frequencies of today's VGA/DVI monitors, which is why it's also not in the standard modes that are included with the factory config.

However, you can create a non-standard output screenmode @50Hz with the config tool and assign that to PAL-nonlace for gaming (if your monitor supports 50Hz, that is). The output is NOT V-synced, but animation is still smooth, as most monitors don't support V-syncing anyway.
I'm not really sure what you mean by this? How does the monitor know anything about vsync? Some/many monitors will convert the received framerate into the display's fixed framerate, but how will that make animations smooth?

Since 50Hz is a standard on HDMI, it would be very useful if there was a standard setting providing a HDMI compatible 1280x720@50Hz output from the Indivision (using a DVI-HDMI converter). On many TVs, that could provide a very nice and smooth picture, better than using their SCART inputs.

For Indivision Mk3, you should consider DisplayPort and FreeSync to get optimal smoothness.
demolition is online now  
Old 26 September 2014, 13:22   #1404
Nostromo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: The World!
Posts: 414
Thanks Jens for the reply

In the case of Indivision I had in mind connecting the machine to a modern PAL TV using a DVI -> HDMI adapter. Would I still have to create the output frequency config file manually? As there is no V-Synced, does it mean during panning/scrolling you get stuttering or tearing?

What is the link for a list of compatible monitors please?
Nostromo is offline  
Old 26 September 2014, 13:57   #1405
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
I'm not really sure what you mean by this? How does the monitor know anything about vsync? Some/many monitors will convert the received framerate into the display's fixed framerate, but how will that make animations smooth?

Since 50Hz is a standard on HDMI, it would be very useful if there was a standard setting providing a HDMI compatible 1280x720@50Hz output from the Indivision (using a DVI-HDMI converter). On many TVs, that could provide a very nice and smooth picture, better than using their SCART inputs.

For Indivision Mk3, you should consider DisplayPort and FreeSync to get optimal smoothness.

DVI-D supports 24hz and 50hz
dJOS is online now  
Old 07 October 2014, 13:38   #1406
chromium
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Melbourne
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Found the eMails - that order was handled outside the shop system, and I've closed that ticket after I shipped the first part of your order. My mistake. More details and tracking number for your joystick has been sent through eMail.

Jens
Got the joystick and the free gift

The joystick works great, feels so nice and the gift will come in handy too

Thanks Jens!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	comppro.jpg
Views:	308
Size:	456.9 KB
ID:	41811  
chromium is offline  
Old 07 October 2014, 20:25   #1407
jdryyz
Registered User

jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 65
Very nice!! Are mugs listed on the new shop redesign? I will go take a look.


Quote:
Originally Posted by chromium View Post
Got the joystick and the free gift

The joystick works great, feels so nice and the gift will come in handy too

Thanks Jens!
jdryyz is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 09:37   #1408
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdryyz View Post
Very nice!! Are mugs listed on the new shop redesign? I will go take a look.
Mugs aren't listed - yet. I'd like to wait until a new feature has been implemented for the shop. Till then, I will include these mugs for free if I feel I need to apologize (or say thanks to returning customers).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 17:04   #1409
jdryyz
Registered User

jdryyz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 65
Sounds good.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Mugs aren't listed - yet. I'd like to wait until a new feature has been implemented for the shop. Till then, I will include these mugs for free if I feel I need to apologize (or say thanks to returning customers).

Jens
jdryyz is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 19:38   #1410
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Dishwasher safe?
Mr B is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 19:50   #1411
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
Dishwasher safe?
As long as you replace the caps and do timing fixes
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 08 October 2014, 19:52   #1412
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
I can do that.
Now I want one
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 10:54   #1413
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
indiMK2 support and bugs

kudos on the new usb board but I wonder - since this is now out of the way - will there be any real development now for the indiMK2s ?
The config tool still is problematic (timings are all over the place) , vsync is still not an option, highgfx still doesn't work properly... any updates on that coming?

Last edited by keropi; 15 October 2014 at 11:03.
keropi is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 13:09   #1414
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,621
Off topic post moved ----> Here

Please keep on topic, and don't hijack threads!!
BippyM is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 13:37   #1415
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
So have you got problems with HighGFX?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 14:12   #1416
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
^ it displays garbage at parts of the screen
keropi is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 14:32   #1417
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by keropi View Post
^ it displays garbage at parts of the screen
Maybe you need this fixing:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
http://aminet.net/package/docs/hard/flickerfix it worked for me with HighGFX. Also clean the pins of Lisa and put a fan if you can.

And also you can try this config (the first if HighGFX gives you problems): http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=920520&postcount=97
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 14:37   #1418
keropi
.
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Ioannina/Greece
Posts: 5,038
^ thanks but what does the author of the fix means by

Quote:
Now we have very effective hardware solution. Simply connect together two
pins of resistor E127R on A1200 board.
there is a resistor (E127R) and we just null it by connecting it's 2 points? or there is no component on E127R and we bridge the points?
keropi is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 14:40   #1419
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
In my mobo there is a resistor -in the back of the mobo-, I don't know in others. And yes, you have to solder a pin or wire to both sides of it. Easy.

Last edited by Retrofan; 15 October 2014 at 14:45.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 15 October 2014, 14:44   #1420
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
HighGFX can produce garbage even with Mk1 indi, it's the A1200 not the Indivision that's at fault.

Think how hard you are pushing your chipset with such a high resolution, the Indi isn't a graphics card after all.
fitzsteve is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29741 seconds with 12 queries