English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 29 June 2014, 01:06   #1261
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 446
Is ACA500 for A2000 still considered or cancelled?
amigoun is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 June 2014, 18:50   #1262
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
In the works - I have a prototype of the ACA2000 here, but work on that was interrupted in favour of the USB module.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 30 June 2014, 22:59   #1263
meckert
Registered User

meckert's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Gdansk, Poland
Posts: 162
And ACA 1000 ?
meckert is offline  
Old 01 July 2014, 09:14   #1264
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
The PAL/NTSC switch of C64 Reloaded is super cool. Is it possible to make that also switch between PAL/NTSC VICs? Since there is extra room on the motherboard it would be great to have sockets for each.
wXR is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 20:06   #1265
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by meckert View Post
And ACA 1000 ?
...ist a very much extended version of the ACA500, and therefore requires more development. I want that to also include a 2M Chipram expansion, so it'll be a mixed internal/external unit (small board that goes into Agnus socket, cable to the outside world and the accelerator plugged to the side). No idea when I can start working on that - sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
The PAL/NTSC switch of C64 Reloaded is super cool. Is it possible to make that also switch between PAL/NTSC VICs? Since there is extra room on the motherboard it would be great to have sockets for each.
Two VIC chips in the same computer would mean more logic than having two mainboards. The VIC is "the" bus master in the C64, and it cannot be configured to be a slave. If I'd want to design a mainboard with two VIC chips, a whole bunch of additional logic would be required to completely remove the unused VIC chip from the bus. That's not worth it - if you want something that can be switched from PAL to NTSC and back, the Chameleon will be the cheaper solution.

Some good news: I started to take pre-orders for Competition PRO Retro joysticks today. Go to icomp.de and click on "shop". Shipping starts on september 1st, and I haven't yet decided if they will be available from resellers (no financial support at all, only empty promises).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 04 July 2014, 21:34   #1266
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Some good news: I started to take pre-orders for Competition PRO Retro joysticks today.
On that subject, might you consider making the molded D9 cables available separately for fixing old sticks, please?
Jope is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 18:26   #1267
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Some good news: I started to take pre-orders for Competition PRO Retro joysticks today. Go to icomp.de and click on "shop". Shipping starts on september 1st, and I haven't yet decided if they will be available from resellers (no financial support at all, only empty promises).

Jens
If only they were cheaper Shame really, I'm sure they'll sell but for me it's more than I want to pay!
BarryB is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 18:34   #1268
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 35
Posts: 2,235
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
If I'd want to design a mainboard with two VIC chips, a whole bunch of additional logic would be required to completely remove the unused VIC chip from the bus.
Why couldn't you connect them in parallel and turn one of them off?
Hewitson is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 18:38   #1269
jonathan
Pastafarian

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Uppsala/Sweden
Posts: 243
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
If only they were cheaper Shame really, I'm sure they'll sell but for me it's more than I want to pay!
Try to find an brand new unused original pro for that price. You won't. If you do they'll be sold for much more than the asking price of this. So, it's not expensive at all.
jonathan is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 19:07   #1270
klx300r
Registered User
klx300r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Toronto, Canada
Age: 47
Posts: 706
Thumbs up

Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
...ist a very much extended version of the ACA500, and therefore requires more development. I want that to also include a 2M Chipram expansion, so it'll be a mixed internal/external unit (small board that goes into Agnus socket, cable to the outside world and the accelerator plugged to the side). No idea when I can start working on that - sorry.

Jens
extra chip ram for the A1000 is amazing any chance of this board also having a built in RTC ?
klx300r is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 19:17   #1271
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by jonathan View Post
Try to find an brand new unused original pro for that price. You won't. If you do they'll be sold for much more than the asking price of this. So, it's not expensive at all.
He clearly realizes this, but it's still outside of what he's willing to pay, and he regrets this. I cant say that i blame him, after buying both a ACA 1230@56MHz with MMU, and a Indivision MKII for my A1200. They both cost an arm and a leg, i'm done spending on it for now. Everyone has their own limits. If you think it's cheap, buy two. Nobody deserves to make sales more then Jens, who keeps bringing hardware for a very tiny amount of legacy & retro freaks.
Mr B is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 22:44   #1272
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Luckily I still have some Comp Pros that are still going strong 25 years on (I think), so in no hurry to replace them. If they had been cheaper I would have considered a couple, but only Jens knows why they are the price they are.
BarryB is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 23:41   #1273
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Don't think 15 Euros is excessive though!? I think they cost more in 1989, and that was 1989 money...

There's KeyRah v2 at twice the price with two 9-pin joyports if you want...
Photon is offline  
Old 05 July 2014, 23:49   #1274
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,009
15 euro's? I'm looking at the page now and it's reading 30.50 euro's plus p+p. Still worth it though.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 00:47   #1275
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
I bought 2 Comp Pro's from the last run, worth every cent although a switch to make them 1/2 button would have been nice.
dJOS is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 01:33   #1276
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Well I just clicked the Price/Availability link from its product page on icomp.de and it says:

"Competition PRO Retro Joystick 14,90€"

The red color seems to indicate "out of stock" which is not the case, so I don't know if it's updated.
Photon is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 01:37   #1277
Snyfls
Heavy Metal Hamster

Snyfls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: N/A
Posts: 32
Quote:
Originally Posted by ptyerman View Post
15 euro's? I'm looking at the page now and it's reading 30.50 euro's plus p+p. Still worth it though.
Yes, price list 14,90, eshop 30,50. I am confused.
Snyfls is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 02:27   #1278
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Now €14.90 sounds more like it, but it's probably wrong
BarryB is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 09:50   #1279
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,009
Quote:
Some good news: I started to take pre-orders for Competition PRO Retro joysticks today. Go to icomp.de and click on "shop". Shipping starts on september 1st, and I haven't yet decided if they will be available from resellers (no financial support at all, only empty promises).
I was going on what Jens said there. If you click on the shop link and look, it is 30.50 euros pre-order.
ptyerman is offline  
Old 06 July 2014, 14:25   #1280
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
The €14.90 price is on the EOL (End Of Life) list so probably the 'old' price before a new run was made!
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:18.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24502 seconds with 12 queries