English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2014, 14:59   #1081
ShK
Apollo Team
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I better look out for more real chips.
What about making the 68060-turbos? Freescale plans to make a new batch of 68060 processors.

I reaffirmed it from the Freescale:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Freescale Support
Dear ShK,

Thank you for your inquiry.

The MC68060RC50 device is still manufactured, however recently (21 Nov 2013) has been announced start of 2-year OEL process (see Product Discontinuance notification http://cache.freescale.com/files/sha...n/PCN15939.htm ).

Last Order Date is 21-Nov-2014 and Last Ship Date 14-Nov-2015.
This gives you time for placing orders and build inventory stock, or re-design your product, if necessary.

Should you need to contact us with regard to this message, please see the notes below.

Best Regards,
Technical Support
Freescale Semiconductor

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sear...ER=MC68060RC60
http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/...umentation_Tab

MC68060RC50: 10000 @ €239,84 each
MC68060RC60: 10000 @ €337,31 each
ShK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 January 2014, 15:51   #1082
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
And the price for 10 instead of 10000?
duga is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 16:05   #1083
ShK
Apollo Team
ShK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Lahti / Finland
Age: 46
Posts: 258
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
And the price for 10 instead of 10000?
Wrong thread for that issue, but check it from your local dealer (They may have the last batch in stock):

http://www.freescale.com/webapp/sps/...e=DISTRIBUTORS
ShK is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 16:06   #1084
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,384
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
And the price for 10 instead of 10000?
10000 might be minimum order quantity. They probably only manufacture what is being ordered, and they obviously can't start a production run for only 10 units, although if you pay *1000 as much, they could probably be persuaded to throw away the remaining 9990 chips and only ship you the 10 you need. :-)
demolition is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 16:19   #1085
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
Man, those prices are insane. I am as much in favour of a new 68060 accelerator as anybody else but nobody's gonna pay that amount for a 20-year old CPU. They'd need to slash them by a factor of 10 for this to be viable.
alenppc is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 16:31   #1086
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,444
I don't think we'll ever see a new 040/060 board

I think FPGA is the answer. It may take another few years to get a really fast and compatible board but I'm sure that it will be option one day.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 16:43   #1087
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Wait... What?
"MC68060RC60: 10000 @ €337,31 each" They are kidding, right? 3.4 million Euro for 10K chip's? At that price, i'd rather kill my self, then by anything using them.
And 0,034E each, doesn't seam quite likely either, so i guess the first is what they were planing.

FPGA's might not be such a bad alternative after all. Damn.
Mr B is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 18:50   #1088
el nico
 
Posts: n/a
i have a blizzard IV 030/50
i notice the great value of the ACA accelerators is
- the speed of the memory
- the ACA1232 is generic for the 68020 or 68030

why individual computer don't implement a "generic ACA like accelerator card for 68040 or 68060" ?
without the processor !!! but with the cpu socket

for example, 68040 is at 24.90 $
http://www.vesalia.de/e_68040.htm

for example, 68060 is 109.10 $
http://www.vesalia.de/e_68060.htm

the advantage for the seller is :
- no stock of processor to buy

the advantage for the buyer
- the old owner of 68040 or 68060 (apollo, blizzard) will change for a best Bandwidth of memory
- the new owner could buy the processor on internet

the desadvantage for the buyer
- you must find and install processor and choose jumper settings for cpu and memory clock speed

i think the best solution would be with no soldering

i'm a dreamer
Nico
 
Old 02 January 2014, 19:05   #1089
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Disadvantage for the seller: Customers usually don't have a proper PGA puller, and it's more than likely that the board is mechanically damaged before the customer can make the first test run. It'll feel like "dead on arrival", and the customer will blame the seller.

Seller must give warranty because it's hard to prove that the customer made a mistake. Even if seller proves that customer made a mistake, customer will be p*ssed and badmouth the seller in forums.

Result: Cards without CPU will be more expensive than cards with CPU.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 19:31   #1090
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
I suppose it won't be long before FPGA's can achieve 68060+ performance.
wXR is offline  
Old 02 January 2014, 19:33   #1091
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,941
The next CPU cards will almost certainly be an FPGA with an integrated ARM SOC. They are so cheap and so powerful with USB, DDR3, Ethernet and many other hard cores. The difficulty being the level shift to the FPGA which has already been solved at least once before on Amiga.
alexh is offline  
Old 11 January 2014, 11:46   #1092
ishe
 
Posts: n/a
Hi,

I have just ordered an ACA500 and have one question. My A500 (Rev6A) has onboard 1MB chip ram and no RTC. Trapdoor expansion is empty. Is it not possible to connect the icomp clock module to ACA500?

Thanks
Hege
 
Old 11 January 2014, 14:42   #1093
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by ishe View Post
Hi,

I have just ordered an ACA500 and have one question. My A500 (Rev6A) has onboard 1MB chip ram and no RTC. Trapdoor expansion is empty. Is it not possible to connect the icomp clock module to ACA500?

Thanks
Hege
No, you have to get a memory expansion with RTC for the trapdoor slot.
duga is offline  
Old 14 January 2014, 22:58   #1094
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Reading http://www.amiga68k.de/ I've seen the best case enclosure for the ACA500:

http://www.amiga68k.de/?p=2906

Although it is just for the ACA only.

Last edited by Retrofan; 15 January 2014 at 11:34.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 07:08   #1095
elpiloto
Registered User
elpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Posts: 78
Is there any ETA for the ethernet and usb add on for the aca500?

cheers
elpiloto is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 12:01   #1096
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpiloto View Post
Is there any ETA for the ethernet and usb add on for the aca500?
Nope - too much work on other projects at the moment. I still have the ACA2000 prototype PCB lying here, and no time to assemble that.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 15:06   #1097
Riempie
Amiga freak
Riempie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 338
Other projects.... Amiga-related? Or totally different stuff...
Riempie is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 15:20   #1098
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Before I can make a combined USB/network module, I should finish the USB module. Also, the first batch of Nequester routers was sold out within weeks (looks like I've hit the right set of features with OpenVPN in the box - thanks Mr. Snowden!), and then there's a significant birthday for the C64 this year (0x20). So it's not all Amiga-related ;-)

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 17 January 2014, 16:22   #1099
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
Any chance we may one day see an ACA3000/ACA4000 card? Even a 68030 version would be beneficial since the commodore A3630s are seliing for quite a bit of money these days.
alenppc is offline  
Old 20 January 2014, 20:17   #1100
lolafg
Registered User

lolafg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Tours/France
Age: 45
Posts: 1,230
Just had my ACA 1220 from Amigakit (really great service as usual) , plugged it in my A1200 and all is running fine , i have an 1D4 motherboard....me really happy now !!

Mr Shoenfeld just one thing , would it be posible to make acatune software more friendly with for example some choices to click , that would be more easy for noobs....like me.
lolafg is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:16.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24113 seconds with 12 queries