English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 10 October 2013, 11:13   #1041
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Aca2000 looks very good. I imagine possibility of plugging a1200 accelerators must be exciting for A2000 owners.
lukassid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 10 October 2013, 13:55   #1042
Turran
Registered User

Turran's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 917
No, just the cheap harddrive =)
Turran is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 12:02   #1043
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Kickstart unpacking is now *a*lot*faster* with a new decruncher: Instead of LZX, the ACA500 now uses "Nibbler", a decompression software by bitBrain Studios (Sweden). While it's a tiny bit less efficient in compression, it's a good 2x faster than decompression with LZX, taking startup time with "just a 14MHz 68000" to a respectable 3.5 seconds. With a 68030-33, you barely have the time to read the "decrunching..." message: Kickstart 3.1 decrunching is done after just over one second.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 13:10   #1044
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,823
does the kickstart need to be crunched jens?
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 14:41   #1045
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
thats a thought,theres nothing for the cd32 at the moment.
I so wish that would happen, as already said, a simple expansion with memory and IDE would be all that's necessary, in my opinion an accelerator is pointless.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 14:48   #1046
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
does the kickstart need to be crunched jens?
Yes - the hardware o f the ACA500 has 512k flash, and the two included Kickstarts are already 768k uncrunched. Further, there's the startup menu, the scsi.device patches, a no-click feature, the FAT95 filesystem for PC-formatted CF card availability even if you boot from a WB floppy... crunching is the way to go. More flash would mean higher cost.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
I so wish that would happen, as already said, a simple expansion with memory and IDE would be all that's necessary, in my opinion an accelerator is pointless.
A CD32 expansion without real CIA chips is also pointless.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 15:47   #1047
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
More flash would mean higher cost.
I'm not pretending to have the answer, but at some point, slapping 1MB flash on the thingy rather then 512K might mean time savings, and your not working for free.... However, the higher flash cost stays the same for every unit made, the cost of the time spent gets less for every unit sold. Win some, lose some. It's all about picking your battle, and at this point you got "some" practice at that, i think.
:- )
Mr B is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 16:30   #1048
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
A CD32 expansion without real CIA chips is also pointless.
Have in mind I know nothing technical: why is this?
Akira is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 17:45   #1049
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Have in mind I know nothing technical: why is this?
The CD32 does not have CIA chips. Only parts of the CIAs are implemented in the support chips, but some timers and shift registers are not there. If you want to make the CD32 a real A1200-like computer, you need real CIA chips. Otherwise lots of programs that access the CIA chips directly won't work.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 18:25   #1050
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
OK, understood.
I don't really want to make the CD32 into a computer, might as well use my A1200. I just want an expansion to make WHDLoad easier to operate in a console form factor. With a hard drive and memory, it's all set. Now, if any WHDLoad installs also need the CIA stuff, then yeah, you could be ruined, I guess.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 19:00   #1051
wmsteele
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 110
A CD32 expansion is being developed (with CIA support), test boards have already been produced, have a look on A1K... http://translate.google.com/translat...hp%3Ft%3D32822
wmsteele is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 20:00   #1052
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The CD32 does not have CIA chips. Only parts of the CIAs are implemented in the support chips, but some timers and shift registers are not there. If you want to make the CD32 a real A1200-like computer, you need real CIA chips. Otherwise lots of programs that access the CIA chips directly won't work.

Jens
What about FPGA'ing the CIA's? bit over the top, but its the Amiga, .
FOL is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 20:50   #1053
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmsteele View Post
A CD32 expansion is being developed (with CIA support), test boards have already been produced, have a look on A1K... http://translate.google.com/translat...hp%3Ft%3D32822
Floppy, clockport, rtc... all that stuff is pointless for the gaming device the CD32 should be. And what are those sockets? and a 28MHz clock generator? If this is an accelerator, again, it beats the point for me. Then again it ONLY has 8MB of RAM, a sub-par amount by today's standards. Would prefer a design boasting at least 32MB of Jens' superfast access RAM.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 21:45   #1054
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Floppy, clockport, rtc... all that stuff is pointless for the gaming device the CD32 should be. And what are those sockets? and a 28MHz clock generator? If this is an accelerator, again, it beats the point for me. Then again it ONLY has 8MB of RAM, a sub-par amount by today's standards. Would prefer a design boasting at least 32MB of Jens' superfast access RAM.
yeah but,how much memory do you need for gaming?
roy bates is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 22:27   #1055
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
8MB would be enough for a lot of games but if you want to load something big, like those adventure games, we're looking at a minimum of 16/32MB I'd say.
Akira is offline  
Old 16 October 2013, 22:31   #1056
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,823
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
8MB would be enough for a lot of games but if you want to load something big, like those adventure games, we're looking at a minimum of 16/32MB I'd say.

true.
roy bates is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 11:59   #1057
AmiDog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Kumla / Sweden
Posts: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
8MB would be enough for a lot of games but if you want to load something big, like those adventure games, we're looking at a minimum of 16/32MB I'd say.
The CD32, just as the A1200, has an EC-processor with 24-bit address bus. That is, it can only address 16MB, and some of those 16MB are already in use by CHIP-RAM, Kickstart, etc, which is why you can't have more than 8MB without creating an accelerator with a full 020 or a 030.
AmiDog is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 13:25   #1058
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
I didn't know that. Thanks AmiDog!
But it would still be better to max it out as much as you can, like in the ACA620. So I guess 10MB. Then again big games won't run with that config.
It's a minor nitpicking though.

is there any release date for this A1k development? Price? Sucks that the information isn't widely available in english.
Akira is offline  
Old 17 October 2013, 18:30   #1059
wmsteele
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 110
Probably looking at next year now for the CD32 expansion. Its true that lots of good dev projects get missed due to the A1K lingo barrier. I almost missed a rerun of SCSI boards for the CDTV, can you imagine!
wmsteele is offline  
Old 20 October 2013, 16:58   #1060
b0lt-thrower
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: US
Posts: 65
Question for you Jens: Will the A1200-to-A2000 accelerator adapter board only work with your accelerators, or just primarily - that is, a different board (DCE, GVP, Blizzard, etc.) may work but no guarantees or support?

'cause I know it'd be like putting a jet engine in a model-T but I could see some crazy person wanting to put an BPPC in an A2000
b0lt-thrower is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29088 seconds with 13 queries