English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 September 2013, 00:51   #981
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by velourfog View Post
Any way this card could work inside A2000 with a CPU-slot adaptor?
Don't bother building something - there will be a special A2000 version. Also, even though we do a few tests on the A1000 as well, it doesn't mean that it's going to work on the A1000. It does work on the 4-layer boards (non-piggyback), but it doesn't work on piggyback models - at least for the few testers who currently have a card.

I am planning a special A1000 version that takes care of other A1000-specific shortcomings as well. The ACA500 really only targets the A500 and A500plus.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 02 September 2013, 12:45   #982
bubbob42
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Aachen, Germany
Posts: 364
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Serial, parallel, RF, even composite and DF1 are rarely used today.
Ah, the subtle drawbacks of text-based communication.

I should've written "expansion connector" and I think that's neither a joke nor an overstatement, then.

Then maybe I'm just generalising my own behaviour here - again. But hey, who wants to throw the first stone?
bubbob42 is offline  
Old 02 September 2013, 13:12   #983
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
Quote:
Originally Posted by Photon View Post
Serial, parallel, RF, even composite and DF1 are rarely used today.
I have a serial link cable connected, midi interface on the parallel port, RF is however not used nor composite. But I do have twin disk drives set up. However, my a500 is my "real retro" machine so I usually fire up real disks there.
moijk is offline  
Old 02 September 2013, 15:01   #984
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbob42 View Post
Ah, the subtle drawbacks of text-based communication.

I should've written "expansion connector" and I think that's neither a joke nor an overstatement, then.

Then maybe I'm just generalising my own behaviour here - again.
Yes, well I think so and try to convince you of that.

So what I mean is that I simply don't agree that just because a few people will put a heap of things on the clockport, it's impossible to make any kind of case for *all* the other ones who buy it just as 'enabler', and to get files over to their A500.

And Jens didn't make ACA500 only for the guys who will spend 400EUR on their A500. We already know he could have made a 68030 accelerator, with 64MB memory, and IDE, and so on - a 180EUR product like the others. Instead, here is something more modest that simply plugs in the side - with possibilities for the future.

I agree very much with this philosophy, since it will get more A500s out of parents' attics

So I just don't see how it's impossible or bad to make a case that covers most cases (My, aren't we inadvertently punny today?)

I hope he does make it happen. A rectangle with holes for the ports. (Then he wouldn't have to make the spacer thingy solution with alu plates and stuff.) And maybe he wouldn't get support tickets for people with cats who want a cuddle when Master is at the keyboard... but that's generalizing from my own situation perhaps
Photon is offline  
Old 05 September 2013, 21:52   #985
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Found the cause why the ACA1220 didn't work with the ACA500 and fixed it. The fix is on the ACA1220 side, nothing that the ACA500 could do anything about.

If you already own an ACA1220 and intend to use it with the ACA500 (despite me warning a couple of times that it doesn't work yet), please send it here, and you'll get free shipping for your ACA500 order (wherever on the planet you are).

New ACA1220 cards will work on both, the A1200 and ACA500. I'll contact resellers for any stock they have of the ACA1220, so they will only have the latest version that works on both.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 05 September 2013, 22:28   #986
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Jens you are quality.
lukassid is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 01:22   #987
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Very impressive support!
dJOS is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 01:59   #988
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,667
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, Jens. You know I don't want anything A500 related, but your support is .... just something to talk about, as I've had with all your products
Retrofan is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 17:19   #989
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 185
Little OT :

@Jens

Great news for the A1000

I Hope that a day you will make a magic peace of hardware that upgrade the A1000's chipram to at least 1mb
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 20:37   #990
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by velourfog View Post
Any way this card could work inside A2000 with a CPU-slot adaptor?
No. Why in the world would you want to do that anyway? To fit A1200 accels in the A2000? Seems pointless since the 2000 has plenty of accelerator options. Would be a messy hack anyways.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 21:12   #991
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by TjLaZer View Post
No. Why in the world would you want to do that anyway? To fit A1200 accels in the A2000? Seems pointless since the 2000 has plenty of accelerator options. Would be a messy hack anyways.
Just like there will be an A1000 version that includes some additional goodies, I am planning a special A2000 version that goes into the 86-pin CPU slot. It's not all that pointless to give the "smaller" Amigas access to the latest A1200 accelerators. 128MByte RAM is not all that common, and I see lots of people trying to get their 2630 upgraded with some RAM, and still living with the slow speed of Z2 harddisk controllers. Hint: The CF card controller on the ACA500 goes well over 4MByte/s, which is twice as fast as any Z2 controller can ever be.

Still pointless?

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 21:27   #992
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
thats great news jens

nice to add all theses options to our slower less upgradeable amigas

johnim is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 21:28   #993
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 38
Posts: 6,342
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Found the cause why the ACA1220 didn't work with the ACA500 and fixed it. The fix is on the ACA1220 side, nothing that the ACA500 could do anything about.

If you already own an ACA1220 and intend to use it with the ACA500 (despite me warning a couple of times that it doesn't work yet), please send it here, and you'll get free shipping for your ACA500 order (wherever on the planet you are).

Jens
Hi Jens,

Glad to hear that as I was hoping to use my ACA1220 with my ACA500 when I get one.

Just to ask if you would accept my ACA1220 for update since it has been overclocked with Gold type processor replacing the old ceramic one, obviously voiding the warranty...

By the way good to hear about future updates, I don't think an A2000 version is crazy at all, I remember the pain I had trying to get a CF card working with my Oktagon IDE board and then trying to upgrade the Ram on my GVP Combo (to max it out the GVP Simms cost near as much as the ACA500 will)
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:04   #994
gnujon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Tauranga / New Zealand
Age: 41
Posts: 42
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Just like there will be an A1000 version that includes some additional goodies, I am planning a special A2000 version that goes into the 86-pin CPU slot. It's not all that pointless to give the "smaller" Amigas access to the latest A1200 accelerators. 128MByte RAM is not all that common, and I see lots of people trying to get their 2630 upgraded with some RAM, and still living with the slow speed of Z2 harddisk controllers. Hint: The CF card controller on the ACA500 goes well over 4MByte/s, which is twice as fast as any Z2 controller can ever be.

Still pointless?

Jens
I'm very exited to hear there will be an A2000 version. The A2000 will always be my favorite Amiga model. I still have my original one in near mint condition, just waiting for a nice accelerator and a way to attach a CF card.

Last edited by gnujon; 06 September 2013 at 22:08. Reason: typos
gnujon is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:07   #995
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Just like there will be an A1000 version that includes some additional goodies, I am planning a special A2000 version that goes into the 86-pin CPU slot. It's not all that pointless to give the "smaller" Amigas access to the latest A1200 accelerators. 128MByte RAM is not all that common, and I see lots of people trying to get their 2630 upgraded with some RAM, and still living with the slow speed of Z2 harddisk controllers. Hint: The CF card controller on the ACA500 goes well over 4MByte/s, which is twice as fast as any Z2 controller can ever be.

Still pointless?

Jens
Well now that sounds like a good plan especially since it will be a proper A2000 cpu card, I just don't like hacking adaptors to make things work. But I do know Supra did something similar with their Supra Speed 28Mhz 68000 card.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:14   #996
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Last week I've published these pictures of my back-then-favourite idea for CF card support and card standoff.

This week, several offers from service companies arrived, and I have a new favourite! The photo shows it a bit more spectacular than it actually is, therefore I want to experiment with modern super-bright LEDs next week. Normally I don't like products that require you to wear sunglasses because of way-too-bright LEDs, but since the CF cards cover a large part of the light, I guess I need to crank it up a little. Will try what it looks like with two different colours (green for left, red for right), because the light comes out "almost everywhere". It would otherwise be hard to tell which activity LED is flickering.

This transparent material is shock resistant, and although it's not as stiff as the aluminium that I used last week, it stands my highly scientific test of "put down the coffee mug accidently on the inserted card".

What do you think?

Jens
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Standoff_LED.JPG
Views:	250
Size:	37.2 KB
ID:	36614  
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:17   #997
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Just to ask if you would accept my ACA1220 for update since it has been overclocked with Gold type processor replacing the old ceramic one, obviously voiding the warranty...
Hey, I want to sell an ACA500! Just contact me through the contact form on the website, and we'll sort out the rest there.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:17   #998
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Last week I've published these pictures of my back-then-favourite idea for CF card support and card standoff.

This week, several offers from service companies arrived, and I have a new favourite! The photo shows it a bit more spectacular than it actually is, therefore I want to experiment with modern super-bright LEDs next week. Normally I don't like products that require you to wear sunglasses because of way-too-bright LEDs, but since the CF cards cover a large part of the light, I guess I need to crank it up a little. Will try what it looks like with two different colours (green for left, red for right), because the light comes out "almost everywhere". It would otherwise be hard to tell which activity LED is flickering.

This transparent material is shock resistant, and although it's not as stiff as the aluminium that I used last week, it stands my highly scientific test of "put down the coffee mug accidently on the inserted card".

What do you think?

Jens

I think the top side needs the protection, transparent or otherwise
kipper2k is offline  
Old 06 September 2013, 22:49   #999
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
you could simply use two pieces of plastic and stand offs for a cheap and chearfull solution to protection in a sandwich arrangement with the pcb and 1200 card in between.
i dont really mind seeing the innards.

just saying.

although i'll probably make an aluminium full case for it.when i get a chance to get a aca500.

im not too worried about the led's i think there might be a way to make them seen without moving them.but if you fit it with high brightness leds thats even better.

Last edited by roy bates; 06 September 2013 at 22:56.
roy bates is offline  
Old 07 September 2013, 01:02   #1000
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
I don't really like bare pcb's but that ACA500 looks kind a cool.
lukassid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:12.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25121 seconds with 12 queries