English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2013, 05:06   #861
elpiloto
Registered User
elpiloto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Buenos Aires / Argentina
Posts: 78
Any update about the aca500 status?
elpiloto is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 June 2013, 07:20   #862
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by elpiloto View Post
Any update about the aca500 status?
Still didn't have the chance to start that pilot production, and this whole week is reserved for Nequester - my Taiwanese partners are in Germany for the ANGA COM, and that's a rare chance for a few meetings.

I hope we can get the first few units out the door before the end of the month.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 01:42   #863
sian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stafford uk
Posts: 10
id love
a new backward compatible more up to sx 32 for my cd 32

can some one remake the sx32 please there not enough units to go round everyone wants them
there near 800 each if you can find them

new cd32 sx32 combo would be great with higher specs
like
usb
cf and sd mmc card reader
keyboard
internet
more memory, Amiga os more ram
hard drive
joy pad and joy sticks
faster cd which can read dvd and blue ray

love my amiga cd32
the size is perfect
etc
so are you up for the challenge
sian is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 02:14   #864
sian
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Stafford uk
Posts: 10
sounds good

anything for cd32 really want to add sx32 but just cant find one hope here will help as i havent read meny post yet
but cant there be a new sx32 for the cd 32

i posted details elseware on here

but things like card reder for cf and sd memory , usb , dvd or bluray etc are somethings i love to have . amigakit.co.uk sugested i post here they said there only 40 people wanting
a new sx32 that ic need over 300 to even get it on the board

so im asking for some help to get cd 32's notice again there flying out of everywhere i tryed get one from
sian is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 14:38   #865
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
The new A604n memory expansion for the Amiga 600 replaces the older design. It is now available for pre-ordering and order will be sent from our store next week.


Direct Product Links:

UK Store:
amigakit.co.uk Amiga store

Europe:
amigakit.eu Amiga store

USA:
amigakit.us Amiga store

Canada:
canada.amigakit.com Amiga store
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 14:54   #866
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
So the A604n is basically just a handicapped version of the A604 (no RTC)?
demolition is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:04   #867
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Still didn't have the chance to start that pilot production, and this whole week is reserved for Nequester - my Taiwanese partners are in Germany for the ANGA COM, and that's a rare chance for a few meetings.

I hope we can get the first few units out the door before the end of the month.

Jens
Is the Nequester available yet, I would be interested in it for use at work just for the fallback capabilities ?.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:06   #868
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
So the A604n is basically just a handicapped version of the A604 (no RTC)?

It looks like its an optional extra just like it is for the aca12xx boards - It's not exactly expensive.
dJOS is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:17   #869
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
There's no pic. So what's the difference ?
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:22   #870
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
Pic uploaded here:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1151
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:31   #871
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
It looks like its an optional extra just like it is for the aca12xx boards - It's not exactly expensive.
A604n + RTC board is still about 5 more than the old A604 was, so bad news if you want RTC. And who doesn't want that?
demolition is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:34   #872
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
Looks pretty cool
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:35   #873
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
A604n + RTC board is still about 5 more than the old A604 was, so bad news if you want RTC. And who doesn't want that?
I see your point but many folks simply don't need rtc these days on their miggy. I'm one of the more anal types that does and didn't mind paying a few extra bucks for it - they are much cheaper now than back in the day.
dJOS is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 15:45   #874
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Not many uses their Amiga for serious stuff now so RTC isn't really that necessary, but I still like to have a proper time stamp on all files and a correct clock in the corner of the screen. At least it can be expanded with an RTC so people have the option, and it also makes sense to reuse the existing RTC module in as many products as possible.
demolition is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 18:28   #875
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Is the Nequester available yet, I would be interested in it for use at work just for the fallback capabilities ?.
I've had an important meeting with Castlenet (my Taiwanese partner) yesterday, and we agreed on another prototype run before the pilot, which is now planned for september. That'll give us time to implement new WLAN features ("WLAN to go") and xDSL vectoring, which is a hot topic in Germany.

Germany uses xDSL Annex B, where vectoring really gives more than a measurable boost. If you have some hard numbers about Annex-A countries, that would be great. I have no idea if any other carrier than Deutsche Telekom is using DSL vectoring.

Quote:
Originally Posted by demolition View Post
Not many uses their Amiga for serious stuff now so RTC isn't really that necessary, but I still like to have a proper time stamp on all files and a correct clock in the corner of the screen.
The A600 has a PCMCIA slot, and I'd expect that these days, pretty much everyone has a networking card there. I haven't tried it myself yet, but I'd look at Aminet - comm/tcp/facts.lha if money for a battery-backed up RTC is an issue.

I have separated the RTC from other products in order to be able to sell without RTC. This serves two purposes: a) my goal of "making the hobby affordable for more people" is closer, and b) the limited quantity of RTC chips is not that much of a problem.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 07 June 2013, 21:34   #876
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,378
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The A600 has a PCMCIA slot, and I'd expect that these days, pretty much everyone has a networking card there. I haven't tried it myself yet, but I'd look at Aminet - comm/tcp/facts.lha if money for a battery-backed up RTC is an issue.
I do have a PCMCIA NIC but since I have a 1200 it will never let its little brother, the 600, borrow it.. Even so, it doesn't run startnet automatically since it's not used very often and delays the startup, but I guess some people might. I usually use the PCMCIA port for CF card file transfers.

Still a useful program though for syncing the clock whenever going online.

And I didn't know that RTC chips were scarce, so then it makes good sense to only sell to those who really want them.
demolition is offline  
Old 15 June 2013, 13:22   #877
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
The A604n memory expansion arrived in stock and we sent out all preorders.
amigakit.com is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 11:20   #878
Cauterize
Registered User
Cauterize's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Leeds
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by amigakit.com View Post
The A604n memory expansion arrived in stock and we sent out all preorders.
Bit of a newbie question here, but would the A604n provide enough extra memory to run some of the larger WHDLoad titles on the A600?
Cauterize is offline  
Old 25 June 2013, 11:46   #879
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cauterize View Post
Bit of a newbie question here, but would the A604n provide enough extra memory to run some of the larger WHDLoad titles on the A600?


no its only chipram,the board just takes the 600 to its max chipram of 2mb youll need more memory in the form of fastram.
roy bates is offline  
Old 26 June 2013, 00:40   #880
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cauterize View Post
Bit of a newbie question here, but would the A604n provide enough extra memory to run some of the larger WHDLoad titles on the A600?
Yes, you can run "a few more games", but certainly not all of them. You'll have to run a very minimal workbench in low resolution and very few colours to have enough memory. The A604n is a very good start for upgrades, as it's the lowest-cost memory expansion you can get for the A600.

The more interesting games will benefit from more memory and a little bit more horsepower on the CPU. The ACA620 would be the right thing for that, but about three times as expensive as the A604n.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31709 seconds with 12 queries