English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 March 2013, 11:39   #681
paulo_becas
Registered User
paulo_becas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Porto/Portugal
Age: 41
Posts: 452
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
ive just had a thought,yep another one.

is it a viable option to have a 68010 on the board to add more usefullness to the base card,or are the parts to hard to source and to far/late into disign expense wise?

its no big deal either way it was a thought that popped to mind after realising some problems with whdload and a 68000 etc.

it may sound like a silly thing to ask since it was made to take another card in the back,but..
I post the same question to Jens since i have a 68010 P-10 on my 500 and he said that it will not work once the ACA500 is in
paulo_becas is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 March 2013, 11:41   #682
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
fair anough,i dident read back very far,
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 11:44   #683
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
is it a viable option to have a 68010 on the board to add more usefullness to the base card,or are the parts to hard to source and to far/late into disign expense wise?
The one and only thing that the 68010 can do better than the 68000 is to move it's vector base to any location. This is probably what you mean by "advantage for WHDload", because you can make use of the quit-key.

As I explained an hour ago, the ACA500 now has the possibility to move the vector base to a different position in fastmem, so the advantage of the 68010 has been added to the 68EC000 with external logic. This results in the same functionality as with the 68010, but the lower cost of the 68EC000 processor.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 12:58   #684
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
I want to buy a scandoubler flicker fixer for my 1200 but can't.
daro2096 is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 13:20   #685
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The one and only thing that the 68010 can do better than the 68000 is to move it's vector base to any location. This is probably what you mean by "advantage for WHDload", because you can make use of the quit-key.

As I explained an hour ago, the ACA500 now has the possibility to move the vector base to a different position in fastmem, so the advantage of the 68010 has been added to the 68EC000 with external logic. This results in the same functionality as with the 68010, but the lower cost of the 68EC000 processor.

Jens

yes it was exactly what i ment,i should of just read back a bit.
i do that sometimes.
roy bates is offline  
Old 04 March 2013, 15:22   #686
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by daro2096 View Post
I want to buy a scandoubler flicker fixer for my 1200 but can't.
If you could, you'd just sit here with the rest of us complaining about the missing software for it.
You'll have to wait, the Indivision MKII is a great piece of kit, but he doesn't want more people added to the already long lines of people who complain about it's missing functionality.
Mr B is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 12:11   #687
daro2096
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Chester-le-Street/UK
Posts: 85
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
If you could, you'd just sit here with the rest of us complaining about the missing software for it.
You'll have to wait, the Indivision MKII is a great piece of kit, but he doesn't want more people added to the already long lines of people who complain about it's missing functionality.
I was referring to any scan doubler/flicker fixer not just the one from Indivision.
daro2096 is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 12:45   #688
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 49
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by daro2096 View Post
I was referring to any scan doubler/flicker fixer not just the one from Indivision.

you wont have to wait very much longer by the look of it.
roy bates is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 13:06   #689
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
Quote:
Originally Posted by daro2096 View Post
I was referring to any scan doubler/flicker fixer not just the one from Indivision.
There is a crapload of threads about scandoublers & flickerfixers, you can pick one up @ eBay. Guess your just in the wrong thread then.
Mr B is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 13:59   #690
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 673
Quote:
I was referring to any scan doubler/flicker fixer not just the one from Indivision.
As you are from UK, you can just buy any LCD-TV to get nice flicker free picture with correct cable.
utri007 is offline  
Old 05 March 2013, 15:18   #691
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
I would like to test compatibility of the ACA500 with A1200 accelerators that only use 24-bit addressing. I know that this model and this model have been sold in large quantities through Power Computing in the mid-90s.

If anyone of you has one of these cards, please contact me for a sale or trade (please use eMail).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 15:26   #692
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
I assume....

(Jens, from having now just read this)

nothing you make is aimed at the A2000 series?

and, I guess this beggers a question,

When I was last into Amiga, (mid-late 90's), there was good support for the Amiga's most popular in the US market, 500, (even 1000), 2000 and 3000, 4000

Seems that from what I've read here that the 500 is supported, but it's bigger cousin, the much more expandable 2000 (In Europe) is not, probably because the majority of Europeans have never seen a big-box Amiga, such as the 2000-3000-4000 series, much less owned one.

Am I off-base here, or somewhat right?

Last edited by tesla; 07 March 2013 at 00:08.
tesla is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 15:41   #693
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 39
Posts: 4,509
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla View Post
(Jens, from having now just read this)

nothing you make is aimed at the A2000 series?

and, I guess this beggers a question,

When I was last into Amiga, (mid-late 90's), there was good support for the Amiga's most popular in the US market, 500, (even 1000), 2000 and 3000, 4000

Seems that from what I've read here that the 500 is supported, but it's bigger cousin, the much more expandable 2000 is not, probably because the majority of Europeans have never seen a big-box Amiga, such as the 2000-3000-4000 series, much less owned one.

Am I off-base here, or somewhat right?
Look at this, you will understand then http://amigamap.com/computers.html
Predseda is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 16:02   #694
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
There will be an A2000 version of the ACA500. It'll go into the 86-pin CPU slot, but have some restrictions for the Zorro cards that can be used: DMA will not be supported, so A2091, GVP SCSI and similar cards won't work.

A1000 is similar to the A500 in it's 86-pin slot, but the ACA500 should not be plugged to it. I'll make a special version for the A1000 that also covers the "not enough chipram" problem (2M Chipram expansions are hard to find and fiddly to adjust with their funny PLL solutions).

Cleaning the logic of the ACA500 was on the agenda today: I took care of these nasty cheap A1200 accelerators that block all of the Z2 memory space. A second brain is currently verifying my ideas, and if that's positive, I'm almost ready for ordering the PCBs.
Members of a1k.org thought that white PCB with black print will look better than black PCB with white print. This "white" will not look like the beige of the A500, but more like the white of the ACA1231. Opinions?

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 16:54   #695
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
Predseda,
Although that map is nice, I don't believe it can be anything more than a gross approximation. From what I saw, the map is based upon data submitted by fanatics such as us.

Here in the US, for example, many of the big-box Amiga's were sold to business's that used them for video production, using of course, a Toaster. My old 3000T, for example, had the Toaster removed before it was sold to me. I doubt that any of these Amiga's used professionally will be reported, but I also suspect that their numbers are dwindling and are essentially too small to worry about.

IMHO, I suspect that of all the Amiga's that are still being used, most have not and will never be reported. Even if the owner is interested in submitting his/her Amiga, unless someone tells them about the site, it's not getting reported. Still, I think that the site in question is useful, and a good approximation.

Last edited by tesla; 06 March 2013 at 18:22.
tesla is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 16:58   #696
tesla
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Vista, Calif
Posts: 194
Thank you Jens for the progress report. From what you have said, I guess I couldn't use my Blizzard '060 card.
tesla is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 19:33   #697
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by tesla View Post
From what you have said, I guess I couldn't use my Blizzard '060 card.
It's true that I will not guarantee it. However, with the recent success on my specimen of the B1230-IV, it has gotten more likely that other accelerators will also work.

However, there's a clear line that I will draw: While I will do the best I can to make other A1200 accelerators compatible, I will not answer any support questions about that topic. Tickets will just be closed without further notice. Maybe - if I'm in the mood on that day - I will answer with "not supported" and the recommendation to buy a supported card.

Documentation of all ACA500 software registers will be open. The community will have all the chances to make things work. The only role I will play in such endeavours is a voluntary one. The only obligation I will accept is to get my own A1200 accelerators to work, where the ACA1230 (all three models) is already excluded (that's a syncronous design, and these won't work with the ACA500).

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 06 March 2013, 19:41   #698
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi jens thanks for the 1230mk iv testing
johnim is offline  
Old 07 March 2013, 19:57   #699
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 398
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Documentation of all ACA500 software registers will be open.
That is really appreciated!
strim is offline  
Old 08 March 2013, 06:46   #700
jalex
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post


Members of a1k.org thought that white PCB with black print will look better than black PCB with white print. This "white" will not look like the beige of the A500, but more like the white of the ACA1231. Opinions?

Jens
I vote for black PCB.

P.S. I own ACA 1231 and indivision MK II...
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.42133 seconds with 12 queries