English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2012, 12:52   #41
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
so to start saving for an ACA500, ACA620, ACA1220

Good thing I have a Birthday and Christmas comming up eh?
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:06   #42
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikos.rizos View Post
There are several different shaped Chip ram expansions (MiniMegi, MiniMega, WAW etc) for the 500. Is there any chance you know if these will physically fit with the ACA500 on it's own or the ACA500/123X combo?
These chipram expansions are the reason for the two-level accelerator design: The adapter as shown in this morning's post on the first page is just a passive thing that rises the accelerator itself above Agnus and potential chipram expansions. I know it sounds like a high tower, but the A500 is a huge machine compared to the A1200 or A600.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:10   #43
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Does it matter if the trapdoor expansion is considered real chipram or slowram?
duga is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:13   #44
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
Does it matter if the trapdoor expansion is considered real chipram or slowram?
You should make it real chipram, because ACA500 puts 1MByte of fastmem into the $c0.0000 area. The other 1MByte fastmem is reserved for Maprom'd Kickstart. If the trapdoor expansion is "fake-fast", then it will be disabled by the fastmem-overlay. Only the RTC of the trapdoor expansion would be usable, and you probably don't want that.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:18   #45
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
You should make it real chipram, because ACA500 puts 1MByte of fastmem into the $c0.0000 area. The other 1MByte fastmem is reserved for Maprom'd Kickstart. If the trapdoor expansion is "fake-fast", then it will be disabled by the fastmem-overlay. Only the RTC of the trapdoor expansion would be usable, and you probably don't want that.

Jens
Good to know. I guess this will make a lot of A500 owners change their 512 KB chip mem + 512 KB slow mem machines to 1024 KB chip if they haven't already done this.
duga is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:22   #46
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
Our new accelerator for the Amiga 500 has already been discussed in user forums, but will be released with some changes, so customer demand is met in both price and features. The ACA500 is powered by a 14MHz CMOS-68000 processor with 2MBytes RAM and a mass-storage controller for CF-cards and CD drives. Autoboot from CF-card is possible from Kickstart V1.3 and higher. Thanks to our TrueIDE technology, any CF card can be used, even if the card identifies as "removable device". A CD-ROM drive can be connected to the easily reachable IDE port on the side of the A500.
The relatively moderate increase in speed is enough to run WHDload.
This sounds very interesting to me! I wonder how it it will be plugged into the A500 because I already use an 8MB Alfa Power controller with CF Card.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:38   #47
gunni
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Dundee
Posts: 140
Send a message via ICQ to gunni
wow! thanks Jens! I'll definitely be grabbing the ACA500!
gunni is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 14:54   #48
pete_uk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Stevenage / England
Age: 35
Posts: 50
Great news Jens. I might finally get a Ram card for my A1200
pete_uk is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 14:56   #49
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Jens,

Would you be interested in selling/disclosing where you got the 150 pin connectors for the A1200 expansion slot ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 16:35   #50
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
Perfect Turbo Boards for WHDLoad in awesome price .

BTW Jens I found in China MC68030RC50C in price ~ 42$.
Maybe it will allow you to lower price of ACA boards :]

Last edited by tom256; 16 July 2012 at 16:49.
tom256 is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 17:01   #51
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Would you be interested in selling/disclosing where you got the 150 pin connectors for the A1200 expansion slot ?
I have my own tooling. Cost me an arm and a leg, but it's RoHS-compliant and I have guaranteed pressure-per-pin. And I can make almost any colour :-)

Quote:
Originally Posted by tom256 View Post
BTW Jens I found in China MC68030RC50C in price ~ 42$.
Maybe it will allow you to lower price of ACA boards :]
Nope - China sells lots of things, but no good MC68030RC50C. You get sample parts that are good, and you get mass-re-printed 68030RC16B units. This won't make the accelerator cheaper, but put me out of business the minute I have transferred the money. I buy my stuff from trustworthy sources. Oh, and I don't buy overpriced. 68030 are traded for "gold price plus a few percent". If someone wants more money, I'm not a customer.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasajoe View Post
This sounds very interesting to me! I wonder how it it will be plugged into the A500 because I already use an 8MB Alfa Power controller with CF Card.
Please read the other posts in this thread: ACA500 requires you to remove *anything* from the 86-pin port and from the 68k socket. At such a low price, you cannot expect me or my resellers to give support for compatibility for the myriads of expansions that there have been for the A500. Your first move MUST be bringing your A500 back to (almost) stock condition.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 17:15   #52
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
I have my own tooling. Cost me an arm and a leg, but it's RoHS-compliant and I have guaranteed pressure-per-pin. And I can make almost any colour :-)

Jens

Hi Jens, you almost answered my question , are you willing to sell some of the connectors, like about 100 in any colour. my intention would be to make a simple small memory expansion board for people for the A1200.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 17:53   #53
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
in any colour
Make 'em pink
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 20:19   #54
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
The relatively moderate increase in speed is enough to run WHDload. For those who want more CPU power, the ACA500 has a CPU-slot compatible with our accelerators for A1200 computers. This makes even our top model ACA1231 available to the A500 computer.
Will the ACA1231 be stable with all A500 motherboard revision ?
gibs is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 20:31   #55
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
Did I read correctly that there might be an networking add-on for this device? Being able to network my A500 would be awesome, even just on the LAN to my PC.
brett71 is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 21:52   #56
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 42
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
.
Please read the other posts in this thread: ACA500 requires you to remove *anything* from the 86-pin port and from the 68k socket....Your first move MUST be bringing your A500 back to (almost) stock condition.
Oh yes, Ive found it in post #25 now. Sorry. In spite of that it still sounds very interesting regarding the retail price. Im looking forward to it.
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 22:39   #57
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,170
Quote:
Originally Posted by mombasajoe View Post
Oh yes, Ive found it in post #25 now. Sorry. In spite of that it still sounds very interesting regarding the retail price. Im looking forward to it.
There really is no issue people. As anyone that has an upgraded A500 with stuff that plugs into 68000 socket, 86-pin bus etc just needs to leave that system as is and enjoy it as such and simply just get another Amiga 500 for this A500 upgrade! Can't have everything.

Like the saying goes: Have your cake and eat it too

Can the ACA500 be overlocked to 16MHz?

Last edited by prowler; 16 July 2012 at 23:29. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 00:19   #58
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
can we wish list here too? I would like a production run of network cards for the big box machines. Be a nice addition on my a3k.

lost
lost_loven is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 00:40   #59
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
can we wish list here too? I would like a production run of network cards for the big box machines. Be a nice addition on my a3k.

lost
A Zorro 3 FastEthernet card for 50-90 bundeled together with the mythological Roadshow68k TCP/IP stack and we have a winner.
duga is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 01:03   #60
Analyzer
 
Posts: n/a
If you take all three, do we get a discount then .

Great stuff, am interested in the BIGRAM+, ACA1220 and ACA500.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Santa's come early... A new scandoubler from Individual Computers NovaCoder News 708 18 October 2016 23:43
Individual Computers Announces Clone-A Project Paul News 83 14 December 2013 17:05
Individual Computers Silver Sponsor of the Revision gibs Amiga scene 1 22 April 2011 17:43
Individual Computers: New products, RoHS comliance, Vacation until july 26th Paul News 31 21 July 2007 20:22
New products by individual Computers Paul News 0 30 November 2004 16:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27670 seconds with 12 queries