English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 July 2012, 00:41   #101
imigger
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: england
Posts: 135
ill buy 1 if it can be clocked to 18ghz lol ,joking i would defo buy 1 nice job.
imigger is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 July 2012, 00:48   #102
moijk
License to Bubble

moijk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Grimstad, Norway
Age: 40
Posts: 293
I would buy this. maybe even retire my gvp hd+ as well.
moijk is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 13:48   #103
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Well... IF there is room, we have a few experts here on EAB who will make such an adapter.
It's of course possible to do a special version for the A600, but since it's the only Amiga with this footprint (except for the A1200, which does not need a Zeus68k), we would look at this after having a version for Amiga 500/1000/2000), Atari ST etc.

If you are good at soldering it should not be an issue soldering this to your board but... only do if you have the skills. This is tiny stuff...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 14:26   #104
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
It's of course possible to do a special version for the A600, but since it's the only Amiga with this footprint (except for the A1200, which does not need a Zeus68k), we would look at this after having a version for Amiga 500/1000/2000), Atari ST etc.

If you are good at soldering it should not be an issue soldering this to your board but... only do if you have the skills. This is tiny stuff...
Thanks.. but its also STE (not just A600) that uses PLCC 68000

Would an adapter like those sold here fix this and enable us to use your board?

http://www.ironwoodelectronics.com/c..._TO_PLCC_TABLE
Methanoid is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 14:54   #105
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
A simple 48 pin IDE header (or variation thereof) built onto the board would be ideal to allow a simple adapter to be made that will allow connectivity between the A500 and A600 usage. A cross over adapter board would be simple to create then. (I think 48 pins should be enough, just a guess
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 15:18   #106
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
I have designed an A600 CPC (chip package changer) which connects to the 68pin PLCC, and converts it to a 64pin DIP with handshaking to assert the the on board CPU into RST state.

the interesting thing is that E clock is actually generated by GAYLE on the A600, so one could theoretically over-clock the A600 using a brute force hack and it should be stable - as long as the chip you are clocking is capable of said speed
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 15:34   #107
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Ah, the tech gurus arrive with the answers. Thanks lads!! Don't forget those Atari STE owners
Methanoid is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 15:41   #108
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
I have designed an A600 CPC (chip package changer) which connects to the 68pin PLCC, and converts it to a 64pin DIP with handshaking to assert the the on board CPU into RST state.

the interesting thing is that E clock is actually generated by GAYLE on the A600, so one could theoretically over-clock the A600 using a brute force hack and it should be stable - as long as the chip you are clocking is capable of said speed

you old dog you
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 16:39   #109
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
If it works also on the ste i will have to buy a pair.(one for the 500 and other for the ste). Cool!
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 01:11   #110
A1200
 
Posts: n/a
I will have one.... where's your Kickstarter page?!?!
 
Old 17 July 2012, 10:26   #111
Scrat
Registered User
Scrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
can you say more on the IDE implementation?
Well... it's an A600 style IDE interface with a little speedup (our latest Sysinfo test says 5MB/s). Requires Kickstart 2.0+ or a patched Kick 1.3 to work.
Scrat is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 16:10   #112
alexh
Thalion Webshrine
alexh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 11,942
I'd certainly be interested in two, one for an A500+ and one for a CDTV (depending on the price.)

Is it a one-time programmable FPGA? Or can it be reflashed via JTAG?

FYI the Atari ST's equivalent to the Gayle IDE controller is called the "ST-Book IDE controller" and AFAIK a re-creation of it is part of the opensource SUSKA project. As is the Atari Memory Map.
alexh is offline  
Old 17 July 2012, 16:48   #113
CrashMidnick
Registered User
CrashMidnick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 185
Interested aswell in 1 or 2 units if price is fair and if compatible with A1K and CDTV.
CrashMidnick is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 14:17   #114
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
The FGPA is booted from flash, so it's easy to replace or edit the code.

The price will be fair of course, but we need to pay for the parts + assembly.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 15:59   #115
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
for me, the Action Replay would be whether i bought or not
kipper2k is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 16:27   #116
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
The freezer code is in there and there's a pinheader to connect a button to.

It won't come with the ROM preloaded, you would need to flash yours onto it with the software included for use on the Amiga side.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 17:47   #117
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
I would buy one if it will work with ST (or any other Atari )
kovacm is offline  
Old 18 July 2012, 21:28   #118
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
We would love to make this work... It's completely reconfigurable via the FPGA... I hope we get some Atari pros on board...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 19 July 2012, 00:38   #119
kovacm
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Serbia
Posts: 275
maybe somebody from http://acp.atari.org/ team could/would help
kovacm is offline  
Old 19 July 2012, 01:10   #120
BuZz
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Oxford / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 582
Send a message via ICQ to BuZz
Great project. I'd definitely be interested!

nice job!
BuZz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.26956 seconds with 12 queries