English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 July 2012, 09:14   #81
Buzzfuzz
Registered User
Buzzfuzz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10
If the price is right and it fits well in an A500, A1000 and CDTV, I will buy a few of them.
Buzzfuzz is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 July 2012, 09:51   #82
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Question, does this use a real 68k CPU or is the CPU simulated in the FPGA? Makes me think it is a softcore one, since the real thing can't run at 50 MHz... right?
Looks like it's 20MHz overclocked to 50Mhz.
tom256 is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 10:11   #83
Scrat
Registered User
Scrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by frank_b View Post
I think he means it would be treated as 4 * 2 megabytes of RAM. You would still have 8 meg of fast RAM but a single allocation can't span more than 2 meg.
Ah ok, got it.

@Toni: Thanks for pointing this out, we'll investigate on this.


To answer the CPU question: The Zeus68k board is powered by the 68SEC000 CPU, which is also found on the Minimig. And yes, we're overclocking the CPU at 50MHz, basically the same way as the Minimig does in Turbo Mode.
Scrat is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 11:42   #84
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
Scrat

Are you going to optimize memory to have zero-waitstate cycles??

Did you try to overclock more MC68000? I'm just curious how far it can run.

50Mhz is already 250% speed of official design
tom256 is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 11:47   #85
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@tom256

A 28Mhz 68HC000 achieves about 3 MIP's (with some FAST RAM), while not everything is an order of scales I would expect a 50Mhz 680000 to achieve somewhere in the realms of 6 MIPS - maybe a little more pending memory controller.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 12:49   #86
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,935
Quote:
Originally Posted by robinsonb5 View Post
Is there a significant difference, besides base address?
Different base address and interrupt request register.

Simple DMA controller for IDE would be even better if FPGA has enough space
(Driver is not be a problem, AROS ata.device can be easily hacked to work with custom controllers)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 15:56   #87
Scrat
Registered User
Scrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 30
The current prototype delivers about 5 MIPS, SysInfo's CPU benchmark reports that the card is slightly faster than a stock A3000/25. We'll need some real world benchmarks to see how the card actually performs, personally I don't trust SysInfo a single bit

We've changed the FastMem thing a bit so that there's only one Autoconfig memory device with either 1, 2, 4 or 8 Megs. Originally we had a 6MB setting (which Autoconfig doesn't support), thats why we had implemented the 4x2MB thing. That's one big advantage of the FPGA based design - the card is almost completely reconfigurable by changing the Verilog code.

Btw... if you need a real low level debugger you'll just connect a JTAG adapter, fire up the Xilinx ISE software and use the Chipscope feature to see what's really going on:
Click image for larger version

Name:	Chip_RAM_IRQ.jpg
Views:	915
Size:	145.6 KB
ID:	32116

The Zeus68k is a true hacker device
Scrat is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 17:16   #88
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
Im interested in a empowering hardware like that for my 500!.
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 17:26   #89
alenppc
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Canada
Age: 37
Posts: 660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrat View Post
To answer the CPU question: The Zeus68k board is powered by the 68SEC000 CPU, which is also found on the Minimig. And yes, we're overclocking the CPU at 50MHz, basically the same way as the Minimig does in Turbo Mode.
Isn't this gonna fry the CPU really fast? Or make its behaviour very unpredictable?
alenppc is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 17:29   #90
_ThEcRoW
Amiga Geek
_ThEcRoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Spain
Age: 38
Posts: 903
So, the card doesn't use the 68000 originally in the 500?
_ThEcRoW is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 18:41   #91
christianlucio
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Sigmaringen / Germany
Posts: 109
IDE for Amiga 500

Ah yes, finally IDE for Amiga 500; a dream comes true !
christianlucio is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 19:42   #92
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
A600s are SMD, like A1200. You can not plug chips in and out. Also A600's 68000 CPU is physically different (it's squarish, compared to the elongated A500's CPU).

Hopefully we can end the A600 questions.
Just cos you aren't interested in A600 doesnt mean other people aren't? I've seen many asking!

Similarly STE used SMD 68000... so would be great if we could have a clip on adapter?
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 21:46   #93
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrat View Post
The current prototype delivers about 5 MIPS, SysInfo's CPU benchmark reports that the card is slightly faster than a stock A3000/25. We'll need some real world benchmarks to see how the card actually performs, personally I don't trust SysInfo a single bit

We've changed the FastMem thing a bit so that there's only one Autoconfig memory device with either 1, 2, 4 or 8 Megs. Originally we had a 6MB setting (which Autoconfig doesn't support), thats why we had implemented the 4x2MB thing. That's one big advantage of the FPGA based design - the card is almost completely reconfigurable by changing the Verilog code.

Btw... if you need a real low level debugger you'll just connect a JTAG adapter, fire up the Xilinx ISE software and use the Chipscope feature to see what's really going on:
Attachment 32116

The Zeus68k is a true hacker device

Stop tempting me with your tempting temptyness!

=)

can you say more on the IDE implementation?
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 21:55   #94
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
Isn't this gonna fry the CPU really fast? Or make its behaviour very unpredictable?
No, this CPU was designed in 2001 by Freescale. It's not like overpowering a high end CPU which will get hot and unstable. If you try this with a Minimig you will see it stays cold and stable. We will run more tests with the final boards and I am sure we won't encounter any problems.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 22:01   #95
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Just cos you aren't interested in A600 doesnt mean other people aren't? I've seen many asking!

Similarly STE used SMD 68000... so would be great if we could have a clip on adapter?
Don't get me wrong I have an A600, and I am interested in any way of expanding it. But this time it's tough. Clip on adapter... possible in theory, but they wont change the PCB. So something to stick the card in, and then in A600... How much space in tiny A600 ? If you are looking for A600 speed upgrade ACAs are the way to go. Alternatively you can wait a bit for kipper2k's 8 megs fast RAM cards. They will be way cheaper then ACAs for sure.

Cheers
Lord Aga is online now  
Old 15 July 2012, 22:49   #96
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 51
Posts: 1,609
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lord Aga View Post
Don't get me wrong I have an A600, and I am interested in any way of expanding it. But this time it's tough. Clip on adapter... possible in theory, but they wont change the PCB. So something to stick the card in, and then in A600... How much space in tiny A600 ? If you are looking for A600 speed upgrade ACAs are the way to go. Alternatively you can wait a bit for kipper2k's 8 megs fast RAM cards. They will be way cheaper then ACAs for sure.

Cheers
I am NOT suggesting they change the board, just manufacture an addon that clips on and maps to the pinout of normal 68000. Saves you soldering all those wires and instantly increases doubles market (all those A600s and STEs). How expensive would that be? Probably not a lot...
Methanoid is offline  
Old 15 July 2012, 23:32   #97
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Well... IF there is room, we have a few experts here on EAB who will make such an adapter.
But do not trust the hope.
Incidentally, in the other thread, Jens has just announced some cheaper A600 goodies So there's our chance.
Lord Aga is online now  
Old 16 July 2012, 00:15   #98
keitha1200
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Tayside
Posts: 181
I have too admit: awesome piece of engineering there

Could I suggested having a budget run maybe after the main order? or along side it! if it was technically possible. I realise you's guys will be busy and have to cover costs etc but having a 'stripped down' version (if it's possible) might allow others who are a little bit short of funds, participate and maybe reduce PCB production costs.

I'm not being tight-fisted or being a cheap-skate by suggesting this! It's just there is a depression/recession on, with high levels of unemployment or the threat of it.

PS: Just a general thought idea/opinion.

Last edited by keitha1200; 16 July 2012 at 00:20.
keitha1200 is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 00:19   #99
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Quote:
Originally Posted by keitha1200 View Post
I have too admit: awesome piece of engineering there

Could I suggested having a budget run maybe after the main order? or along side it! if it was technically possible. I realise you's guys will be busy and have to cover costs etc but having a 'stripped down' version (if it's possible) might allow others who are a little bit short of funds, participate and maybe reduce PCB production costs.

I'm not being tight-fisted or being a cheap-skate by suggesting this! It's just there is a depression/recession on, with high levels of unemployment.
The one with an A500 and on tight budget should maybe look at the ACA500 instead.
duga is offline  
Old 16 July 2012, 00:20   #100
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
love this.. would buy one!
1time is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24783 seconds with 12 queries