English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 March 2014, 12:10   #621
DonVitoPuppone
 
Posts: n/a
CDTV + Zeus68k.
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 March 2014, 22:17   #622
Mohican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Fine.
Count me in too A500+ /w A570.
Mohican is offline  
Old 09 March 2014, 11:50   #623
diskers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
Hmmm delightful... me too +1
diskers is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 11:21   #624
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Zeus68k – Accelerator/IDE/RAM for the A500/2000/CDTV and others

Bam, in your face:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1394961466.057469.jpg
Views:	353
Size:	240.6 KB
ID:	39417

Zeus68k with standard IDE HDD... And a whopping 6.6MB per second.

Speeeeeed:

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByTapatalk1394961647.793449.jpg
Views:	391
Size:	181.9 KB
ID:	39418

And all with the compatibility of pure 68k power. And 8MB of real fast...

I like my A500.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 11:34   #625
jimbob
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Kilmacolm
Age: 39
Posts: 616
Impressive, most impressive, but your are not a . . . oh wait, I guess you are.

So is it ready, any idea of final price?
jimbob is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 11:57   #626
JanciB
Registered User
JanciB's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Bratislava / Slovakia
Posts: 189
Nice. What is processor occupancy under hdd load? Can you test it
with RSCP ?
JanciB is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 13:45   #627
dirkies
Zone Friend

dirkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Belgium
Age: 45
Posts: 1,183
As I got my A500 powered on just fine for the first time in over 10 years, this is an interesting item on my watchlist but the price and availability remain a rather annoying "known unknown"... :-) so please can you also post more clarification on this besides tech updates?
dirkies is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 14:33   #628
arti040
Piotr

 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Lodz/Poland
Age: 33
Posts: 149
Send a message via Skype™ to arti040
@mr.vince
I'm interested also

Do you consider version with CF slots instead of IDE port? Also version with 2.5 IDE would be great - no power supply cables needed, easy CF-IDE adapter mounting etc.
arti040 is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 15:32   #629
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
So, to quote myself:

Quote:
Six devices in one: Accelerator, RAM (real fast & slow), IDE controller (supports A600 Gayle emulation and AT2008 ROM), 6 x Kickstart switcher, Realtime Clock, Action Replay 3.
The final price will likely be between EUR 250.- and EUR 300.-. Quantity and currency conversion will decide about the final price. The amount of original ROMs included (Kickstarts, AR3, AT2008) will also make a difference.


Quote:
Originally Posted by arti040 View Post
Do you consider version with CF slots instead of IDE port?
http://www.ebay.com/itm/New-DUAL-CF-...-/170377032875

USD 2.49. Free int'l shipping.

mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 16:33   #630
mazxim
Registered User

mazxim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Italy
Posts: 53
250 EUR?..


Last edited by mazxim; 16 March 2014 at 16:44.
mazxim is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 17:34   #631
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Well, look at the price for other accelerators, then take a four layer PCB, add a powerful FPGA... and try to do as much as possible in Europe, not China. But I don't have any plans to excuse for the price it has. It's based on cost.

But you might check prices for

- an accelerator
- an Action Replay cartridge
- 8 MB fast ram expansion
- a Kickstart switcher
- an IDE controller
- a realtime clock module


If you want low cost, why not buy a low cost accelerator? With Zeus68k you can turn an A500 into a machine that's faster than an A3000...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 17:46   #632
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Well, look at the price for other accelerators, then take a four layer PCB, add a powerful FPGA... and try to do as much as possible in Europe, not China. But I don't have any plans to excuse for the price it has. It's based on cost.

But you might check prices for

- an accelerator
- an Action Replay cartridge
- 8 MB fast ram expansion
- a Kickstart switcher
- an IDE controller
- a realtime clock module


If you want low cost, why not buy a low cost accelerator? With Zeus68k you can turn an A500 into a machine that's faster than an A3000...
I still want one . I blame my parents, if they had bought me lots of toys as a kid there would be no need to make up for it now lol

Last edited by kipper2k; 16 March 2014 at 18:12.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 17:52   #633
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Thanks, I know you know about electronics and stuff, so you can put that price into perspective.

We never meant to cut features & strength to make it cheaper. I assume we'll only sell a fraction of what other accelerators sell/sold, but hey... still our vision built.

I'll prepare some vids and photos. Still some nice surprises waiting.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 19:34   #634
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
The price seems about right when all is taken into account.
I was hoping it would be around 200 mark, but I guess it's normal for a buyer to hope for a lower price
Still, can't argue with anything. It is a terrific upgrade.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 16 March 2014, 19:50   #635
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
We'll make it as cheap as possible. But looking at e.g. the ACAs, or Blizzards etc. - there's just a mark that you hit. The FPGA also is very expensive (relatively), but it holds it all together.

Don't forget you will be able to play with the core sources once it's out.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 09:59   #636
lucadip
Where is my mind?

 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Nürnberg, Germany
Age: 43
Posts: 103
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
With Zeus68k you can turn an A500 into a machine that's faster than an A3000...
Sweet! :-)
Did you already test ram-access? I would be really interested in comparing that against a standard A3000...
lucadip is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 10:01   #637
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
We will make sure to get one of those units in the hand of someone who has the knowledge and some more spare time... I am tempted to say it's faster, but I am biased.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 13:22   #638
svin83
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Trondheim / Norway
Posts: 24
Count me in

Count me in. I want one.
Worst case scenario is a bit less junkfood for a month or two, and i'll afford it :P
svin83 is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 14:31   #639
voxel
Amiga Nuts!
voxel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Le Mayet d'Ecole, 03800, FRANCE
Posts: 162
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Sweet! Count me in
Count me too ^^)
voxel is offline  
Old 17 March 2014, 15:19   #640
skape
 
Posts: n/a
I will purchase one too
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.34522 seconds with 12 queries