English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 April 2013, 04:19   #461
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by grobda View Post
exciting!

There are so many products for the amiga now, its' a pity the Atari ST has none other than the lotharek floppy adaptor. the ST community is crying out for an accelerator and probably more importantly a hard disk interface.

My Amiga is sorted out now so I dont really need one for it, but id definitely buy one for the ST.
Ummm, if it fits the 68000 slot, it will work (apparently).

Quote:
Originally Posted by diskers View Post
bag of rolls [urghhhhhh] - backe
Damn you guys, I had a picture in my head of Bukakke

Last edited by prowler; 19 May 2013 at 00:23. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
whiteb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 April 2013, 08:02   #462
whiteb
Fanatically Amiga.

whiteb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Age: 48
Posts: 1,539
Okay, the family had me out and about (Wife and Kiddies) so I have had time to ponder this.

Fantastic project. I have 4 A500's in the cupboard, one of which has a kickstart switcher, and a trapdoor 4MB expansion, but this idea of having all in one is GREAT.

8MB's of Ram, sweet.
Rom switcher for up to 6 Kicksatarts (Drool).
IDE (YAY, IDE for A500 !!!!!, Gimme).

After reading the thread from front to back, i get the impression IPF support will not be included but could be added (Please !!!!!!!!!), Wanted this on Minimig !

all accessible from the one board, no need to have wires darting here and there to various points on the Motherboard. In reality what we have here is a Minimig (no Scandoubler) with 8MB of memory that plugs in to, and utilizes the original A500. OKay not really a Minimig as such, by utilizing the original chips on the motherboard, freeing the FPGA logic for other cool stuff.

Gimme..., Sign me up for one !
whiteb is offline  
Old 24 April 2013, 17:14   #463
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
What mfilos is trying to say, is, No, this thing does not add a AGA capacity to your toy. With a fast enough FPGA it could probably be emulated, but then again, where is the advantage of emulating in a FPGA over emulating on, say a SFF PC. The PC would be cheaper, and more versatile on top of everything else...
Right thanks!
Neil79 is offline  
Old 28 April 2013, 14:33   #464
Sim085
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lija
Posts: 317
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr B View Post
What mfilos is trying to say, is, No, this thing does not add a AGA capacity to your toy. With a fast enough FPGA it could probably be emulated, but then again, where is the advantage of emulating in a FPGA over emulating on, say a SFF PC. The PC would be cheaper, and more versatile on top of everything else...

So it will be possible just (and that is more then fine for me) nott out of the box. right? Or?
Sim085 is offline  
Old 28 April 2013, 18:08   #465
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Zeus68k Accelerator/IDE/RAM for the A500/2000/CDTV and others

No. This is for OCS/ECS machines.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 28 April 2013, 21:36   #466
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
As Vince said, no. This device isn't aimed at such, and for good reasons. It would be hard to justify the price for a fast enough FPGA to run of. I find it likely we will see accelerators based on softcores running in FPGA hardware, but AGA for non-AGA hardware... Doubtful. Possible perhaps, but i don't think it's happening, ever.
Mr B is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 22:40   #467
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 162
Looking forward to buying one of these!
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 15 May 2013, 22:57   #468
chaos
Registered User

chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Slovenia
Posts: 133
This looks like a great product, can't wait to see it in action and possibly hack on it
chaos is offline  
Old 16 May 2013, 13:07   #469
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
What a strange idea to think that AGA features can be added with this board...

As I have already said, I'm waiting it too for my A500 and CDTV !!!
Good luck mr.vince & co. !!!
TotO is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 23:17   #470
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 739
Whats the progress on this?
trydowave is offline  
Old 18 May 2013, 23:47   #471
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotO View Post
What a strange idea to think that AGA features can be added with this board...

As I have already said, I'm waiting it too for my A500 and CDTV !!!
Good luck mr.vince & co. !!!


Not everyone has such a high knowledge of Amiga's and this product
Neil79 is offline  
Old 19 May 2013, 00:00   #472
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil79 View Post
Not everyone has such a high knowledge of Amiga's and this product
AGA is A1200/A4000/CD32 graphics related.
Zeus is A500/A2000 CPU related.

It's not like the Amiga was a new technology to discover for peoples here.
Just 20 years old basic knowledge...
TotO is offline  
Old 19 May 2013, 00:05   #473
Neil79
Senior Member
Neil79's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Kent
Age: 38
Posts: 2,518
You'd be surprised

All I knew was the Amiga 500, up until this month when I purchased an A1200! Didn't even know the other systems existed

But anyway I'm taking this one off track
Neil79 is offline  
Old 19 May 2013, 00:13   #474
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
OK. You're welcome.
I though that a people asking for AGA about a CPU expansion for A500/A200 was not a beginner, but a confused user.
TotO is offline  
Old 25 May 2013, 22:50   #475
deladrevoc
 
Posts: n/a
I want one of these, what an awesome project!

Will it work quite happily alongside the A570 (CD I mean - not the road between Southport & St Helens!)?

Just a thought
 
Old 26 May 2013, 10:17   #476
squidbass
Registered User
squidbass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Southport The Last Resort
Posts: 191
I live just off the A570 in Southport so I would say it would work quite happily along side it.

Cheers!
squidbass is offline  
Old 30 May 2013, 22:00   #477
BvdW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Netherlands
Age: 39
Posts: 11
How's the project coming along guys? I've had a modest wad of cash reserved for it, burning a hole in my pocket for a while. Really looking forward to buying this baby. Any more sneak peeks to offer? ;-)
BvdW is offline  
Old 01 June 2013, 00:16   #478
Cyprian
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Warsaw/Poland
Posts: 32
I'm also curious about progress (and price)
Cyprian is offline  
Old 12 June 2013, 14:35   #479
Mohican
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Age: 43
Posts: 65
Can be use any zorro expansion port attached hardwares together Zeus ?
Mohican is offline  
Old 13 June 2013, 03:46   #480
deladrevoc
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mohican View Post
Can be use any zorro expansion port attached hardwares together Zeus ?
Hello again, this echoes my first post somewhat, I think the A570 may be the most useful hardware to be supported?

I hope I haven't thrown an unworthy spanner in the works, we are all eager to get our hands on this gem

I grew up in Southport squidbass, happy days in my life - sun, sand (very little sea unfortunately). C64, Amiga and the Kingsway!

Please Mr Vince, update us soon.
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37445 seconds with 12 queries