English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 November 2012, 11:58   #361
diskers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
Hi,
Really nice. In previous post you said that there's a possibilty to bake, where is it possible?
diskers is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 November 2012, 19:58   #362
Geraldine
Amigas4Ever!
Geraldine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Sunny Scotland. Anarchy System Tech Level 0 No Police Presence. Enter At Own Risk!
Posts: 107
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
We don't deliver banana products that ripen at the customer. We want to make sure we have a perfect, fully working product, which will make everyone happy..
Totally respect that. I will look forward to the new year then
Geraldine is offline  
Old 15 November 2012, 20:17   #363
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Bake? This aint no bag of rolls...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 17 November 2012, 02:20   #364
TroelsDK
Registered Amiga Maniac

TroelsDK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Denmark
Age: 34
Posts: 385
News of this?

Is this board in the making?
TroelsDK is offline  
Old 18 November 2012, 14:15   #365
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Well would you mind reading the posts I made? There are three boards being tested and we are in the process of testing all important stuff while implementing the FPGA logic.

This thing replaces the CPU and does all kinds of trickery to create all these different devices in a single chip. You want this to be rock solid, otherwise it's guru time up the ying yang.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 18 November 2012, 23:23   #366
Charlie
. . Mouse . .
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Nowhere
Age: 49
Posts: 1,792
Ahh, I have a warm glow about this thread.

Speaking for myself may I restate my keen interest in getting my hands one one of these boards as soon as possible...

...having said that I'm very happy to see the devs are keen to do as excellent a job as they can and so won't rush the release - an attitude I'm fully along side.

All the best with this project, I hope there will be more to come.
Charlie is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 09:26   #367
diskers
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Poland
Posts: 23
bag of rolls [urghhhhhh] - backe
diskers is offline  
Old 19 November 2012, 10:41   #368
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
We will let you know soon enough when it's time to pay the production company that will assemble the boards. Before that it's just development costs we can cover ourselves at the moment.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 02:06   #369
RobertB
 
Posts: n/a
I would be interested in buying one or two of these boards - one to expand my A500 and possibly another for an A2000.

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
 
Old 03 December 2012, 16:10   #370
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
For the record... AR3 support is now working as on a real Amiga, too.

Stay tuned for more news, soon.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 22:51   #371
amigoun
Registered User
amigoun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Czech Rep
Posts: 449
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
For the record... AR3 support is now working as on a real Amiga, too.
Excelent, this is one of the features, that I would prefer Zeus68k to other (current & future) products.
amigoun is offline  
Old 03 December 2012, 22:56   #372
RobertB
 
Posts: n/a
Nice, another added feature.
Quote:
Originally Posted by me View Post
I would be interested in buying one or two of these boards - one to expand my A500...
I should elaborate. I need it to finish Project Bodega Bay. See

http://retro-link.com/smf/index.php?topic=252.0

Truly,
Robert Bernardo
Fresno Commodore User Group
http://videocam.net.au/fcug
 
Old 03 December 2012, 23:54   #373
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,278
@RobertB: Please read this forum rule regarding signatures. It could save you some typing.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 December 2012, 21:19   #374
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
So, gentlemen... Here's some more stuff.

Herzi has done the impossible and even enhanced chip mem write speed which is troublesome, because chip mem is in your Amiga and not on the Zeus board.

If you look at the first picture, you'll notice that a standard A500 with the Zeus is faster than an A3000 with 68030 at 25 MHz.

Click image for larger version

Name:	sys_cpu_IMG_2050.jpg
Views:	648
Size:	169.9 KB
ID:	33456



7MB/s:

Click image for larger version

Name:	aaib_mem_IMG_2048.jpg
Views:	471
Size:	123.1 KB
ID:	33459


Now for line draw and write pixel. Green is standard, red is Zeus. More is better.

Click image for larger version

Name:	aaib_lines_low_IMG_2046.jpg
Views:	316
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	33458 Click image for larger version

Name:	aaib_lines_high_IMG_2047.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	122.6 KB
ID:	33457

Click image for larger version

Name:	aaib_pixel_low_IMG_2044.jpg
Views:	238
Size:	128.9 KB
ID:	33461 Click image for larger version

Name:	aaib_pixel_high_IMG_2045.jpg
Views:	268
Size:	138.9 KB
ID:	33460


mr.vince is offline  
Old 15 December 2012, 22:53   #375
lukassid
Registered User
lukassid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Surrey
Posts: 390
Impressive performance
lukassid is offline  
Old 15 December 2012, 23:12   #376
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
I think we have a winner!
1time is offline  
Old 15 December 2012, 23:27   #377
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
great work
johnim is offline  
Old 16 December 2012, 00:08   #378
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Herzi has done the impossible and even enhanced chip mem write speed which is troublesome, because chip mem is in your Amiga and not on the Zeus board.
Careful with these "enhancements" - not all Agnus types like a late start of the access. I've tried that as well, but found that it's better to make it a user-option rather than a standard setting. Especially the NTSC 8370 Agnus (the "first ever" fat Agnus) is piccy. Also, an early end of the access will most probably only work on newer boards with faster memory chips. I've had the exact same idea when working on a Rev.8 A500 board, but quickly found that it's best to continue testing with a Rev.5 board that has 150ns RAMs (worst-case). The combination of "late start" and "early end" for read access will only work on later boards, and "early end" for writes doesn't work at all, as you probably violate data-hold times.

Commodore has used all kinds of memory chips in the A500 (always the cheapest on the market!), so going fancy on chipmem access bears quite some dangers. You won't be able to increase the average of 3.5MBytes/s to chipmem, but you may gain a cycle or two of execution between chip(ram/register) accesses.

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
You should use Bustest instead of AIBB - it's way more accurate and will show a higher number. That's way better for your promotion ;-) I believe that the actual performance of your Fastram is way higher then 7MB/s. You should get something close to 25MBytes/second for 0-waitstate or 16.6MBytes/second for 1-waitstate.

Jens
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 16 December 2012, 03:16   #379
Slayer
Amiga Member
Slayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: New Zealand
Age: 50
Posts: 695
Sorry I can't check the entire thread at the moment but does this project have a web page or a blog etc?

Cheers!

I haven't brought anything off you chaps since first batch Kyroflux, I'm looking forward to supporting you again. Since the X1000s, Amigakit has been getting all my business =)
Slayer is offline  
Old 16 December 2012, 16:43   #380
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 43
Posts: 120
do you have a a1200 fpga accelerator in the pipline? or just the a500 version? great to see these developments on amiga platform, keep up the great work!
Exit is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.41804 seconds with 12 queries