English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 September 2012, 21:09   #301
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
What's not in there can be put in by the community. The authors wish to GPL the software. Not sure if IPF support will be a feature because of this. The IPF lib itself is under the MAME licence. This might let it collide with the GPL of the Zeus' firmware.

But that's something we can look at after it's released...
mr.vince is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 September 2012, 18:15   #302
Ritcho
 
Posts: n/a
Wow! I'm really interested!
Excellent job!

[]s!
Ritcho.
 
Old 25 September 2012, 02:44   #303
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
What's not in there can be put in by the community. The authors wish to GPL the software. Not sure if IPF support will be a feature because of this. The IPF lib itself is under the MAME licence. This might let it collide with the GPL of the Zeus' firmware.

But that's something we can look at after it's released...
GPLed firmware sounds cool! This means the user can reverse engineer the board in order to build similar FPGA based accelerators? This may be the start of something bigger than just an A500 turbo board...
luncheon is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 05:14   #304
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
i forgot to mention ADF too
kipper2k is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 13:39   #305
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by luncheon View Post
GPLed firmware sounds cool! This means the user can reverse engineer the board in order to build similar FPGA based accelerators? This may be the start of something bigger than just an A500 turbo board...
If that's the only intention... yes, you could do that. Looking at the price for a production run (easily EUR 20k or more), it might make more sense to work _with_ the original team to enhance it and make further products possible.

Otherwise it's just a way of killing it right after the first batch. I don't see how it would pay off, if there'd be e.g. five projects competing to deliver e.g. 30 boards each.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 16:02   #306
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
If that's the only intention... yes, you could do that. Looking at the price for a production run (easily EUR 20k or more), it might make more sense to work _with_ the original team to enhance it and make further products possible.

Otherwise it's just a way of killing it right after the first batch. I don't see how it would pay off, if there'd be e.g. five projects competing to deliver e.g. 30 boards each.
I try not to think about it in terms of competing projects; the possibilities are unlimited... It's just that maybe by just changing the IO ports around some different uses may be possible. At least one example comes to mind using the 40-pin IDE header on the board: instead of using all pins, a couple can be used for a SD card reader (connected internally thru IDE), and the rest for something else such as a floppy emulator connected to the motherboard floppy connector...

The very same firmware could be used to build a 68020/68030 or even a PPC board for the A500, based on the original board design.

But I agree that it would be better for now to work together with the original team...
luncheon is offline  
Old 25 September 2012, 21:11   #307
lifeschool
Local Moderator

lifeschool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Lancashire, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 959
This hardware really seems like a good idea. I guess you would downgrade to 7Mhz for floppy games and then have it on 50mhz to boot and launch HDD stuff. This project reminds me a lot of the old Derringer 030 board, which I bought for my A500 as soon as they came out in the early 90's (as well as a Bodega Bay). Cost me about 250 - 300 as I recall as they were top notch units and quite rare. The Derringer had a DIL socket on there as well as an 030/50 + a 25/50mhz FPU, and a large SIMM socket that could hold probably around 8meg. It was FAST! - faster than an A3000 030, and 100% compatable. In fact I remember I once pulled out the 25mhz clock/crystal chip and replaced it with a 33mhz one - it went even faster! (I may have even installed a 50mhz clock after that...)

When installing you had to pull out the 000 and install it into the DIL socket on the board. There was some kind of key-activated toggle (I think) to swap the 000 for the 030 CPU on reboot. It was also MAPROM compatable so the roms would kick from ram. The DIL legs on the underside of the board were rigid (not bendy like the 000 cpu legs) and if you broke one of those legs it was practically game over. It was an amazing piece of kit, but VERY rare these days.

Of course the Derringer board (whilst legendary) didn't take 64+MB memory (maybe 16MB max), didn't have an SD socket or PATA IDE socket, and didn't have a Freeze function (I think it had a real-time clock though). For me, I'd certainly appreciate USB port(s) on the new board as then this opens the door for external HDDs and portable memory sticks, xbox and other USB joysticks and controllers, printers (seems they're all USB these days), modems, and of course things like 19-in-one multi-card-flash/SD readers (so your boot drive can easily be swapped/upgraded without having to open the computer). Sadly this would circumvent the need for a super-fast IDE port, but the space (and pinouts) could be used for a SATA port maybe? Or better, USB 3.

Mr.Vince, you have certainly provoked major interest with this labour of love - with a large number of interested people from this thread (this site) alone. There is certainly a market out there for this kind of equipment, and if you don't get enough interest to fullfil a large batch, I'm more than sure Amikit (or other) would buy any surplus stock and trade the item for you.

Last edited by lifeschool; 26 September 2012 at 20:20.
lifeschool is offline  
Old 28 September 2012, 23:25   #308
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
What's not in there can be put in by the community. The authors wish to GPL the software. Not sure if IPF support will be a feature because of this. The IPF lib itself is under the MAME licence. This might let it collide with the GPL of the Zeus' firmware.

But that's something we can look at after it's released...
"If you build it, they will come". Put the options in there for future upgrdes and it will open up the Amiga and future proof sales of the board even more
kipper2k is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 00:35   #309
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
This has been asked by many but I haven't seen a real answer for it, Vince can you guys source an equiv version of the 68010 instead of the plain 68k please?

Many of us already have 68010's and don't want to loose our whdload quit key plus there is a small performance gain at the same clock speed.

Ps, if a suitable 68010 can't be sourced I'm sure we'd all be very happy with a 68020ec.
dJOS is online now  
Old 29 September 2012, 08:14   #310
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
This has been asked by many but I haven't seen a real answer for it, Vince can you guys source an equiv version of the 68010 instead of the plain 68k please?

Many of us already have 68010's and don't want to loose our whdload quit key plus there is a small performance gain at the same clock speed.

Ps, if a suitable 68010 can't be sourced I'm sure we'd all be very happy with a 68020ec.
I don't think there are 50MHz capable 68010s; I assume it can't be done because of that...
luncheon is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 10:22   #311
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
The goal was to make a 100% backwards compatible card with comparable speed, hence the 68000. Don't think that any 68010 equipped Amiga can compete with it. See the first post for performance charts.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 10:44   #312
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Ok thanks Vince, guess I can put up with quitting via ctrl+A+A instead.
dJOS is online now  
Old 29 September 2012, 18:31   #313
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 37
Posts: 3,383
I'd also like to declare my interest in this project. I hardly ever use my A500, which is too bad to be honest, but this upgrade would definately bring it back to life as it could then be used for WHDload. :-)
demolition is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 19:31   #314
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Ok thanks Vince, guess I can put up with quitting via ctrl+A+A instead.
Why not just press e.g. F10?
mr.vince is offline  
Old 29 September 2012, 19:43   #315
Mr B
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Sweden
Posts: 740
I'm not sure, but i think the "quit" key as defined by the different WHDLoads needs a minimum of a 68010 to work, and thats the point of upgrading, or wanting a upgrade, to a 68010...
Mr B is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 02:01   #316
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Why not just press e.g. F10?
Cause it doesnt work on a plain 68k.
dJOS is online now  
Old 30 September 2012, 10:54   #317
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,355
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Depends on the slave. Some hook the game's keyboard routine to provide quit and thus are able to quit on the 68000.
Jope is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 15:11   #318
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Cause it doesnt work on a plain 68k.
I know.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 15:14   #319
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Anyhoo, Im very keen on this Accelerator (as are many many others) - can you please provide a rough estimate on how far away completion is*?




*Im keeping money aside for this.
dJOS is online now  
Old 30 September 2012, 20:49   #320
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
You should re-read my post and yours before...
mr.vince is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22364 seconds with 12 queries