English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 August 2012, 00:33   #221
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
When are the pre-orders being accepted?
BarryB is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 August 2012, 00:48   #222
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Let's finish the design, let's put up the website... then find out about final production cost... then ask for binding pre-orders.

You haven't seen these, have you?

Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment-1.jpg
Views:	858
Size:	214.8 KB
ID:	32353

Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment-2.jpg
Views:	571
Size:	204.5 KB
ID:	32354

Last edited by mr.vince; 15 August 2012 at 09:33. Reason: Typo
mr.vince is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 00:50   #223
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
Impressive !
TotO is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 01:07   #224
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I already replied earlier that problem is missing Amiga IDE DMA controller implementation.
It's true. The Amiga power goes through it's DMA capabilities, and getting an IDE DMA will allow the best for our computer and it's multitask.
TotO is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 05:50   #225
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Let's finish the design, let's put up the website... then find out about final production cost... then ask for binding pre-orders.

You havn't seen these, have you?

Attachment 32353

Attachment 32354
Awesome work!

Any chance you could go back to using the right angled IDE connector from the original prototype or offer a right-angle IDE adaptor as an option?
dJOS is online now  
Old 15 August 2012, 11:36   #226
1time
Amiga Lover

1time's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Stockholm / Sweden
Age: 40
Posts: 565
Looks wonderful. Cant wait.....

I really hope this one will be a MAJOR hit, so you guys can do more hardware projects to our Amigas.
1time is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 23:40   #227
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Looks great! I can't wait for its release, I'll be buying one of these for my A500 for sure!

Modifying the contents of the Spartan3 it could also be made useful for Mac 128k, Mac 512k and Mac Plus owners IMHO.
luncheon is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 01:09   #228
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by dJOS View Post
Any chance you could go back to using the right angled IDE connector from the original prototype or offer a right-angle IDE adaptor as an option?
This means you are not interested in using this in a computer that might be using a third party flickerfixer?

We might change it for the final production run if there's enough space.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 03:27   #229
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by luncheon View Post
Looks great! I can't wait for its release, I'll be buying one of these for my A500 for sure!

Modifying the contents of the Spartan3 it could also be made useful for Mac 128k, Mac 512k and Mac Plus owners IMHO.
Maybe the cores from the Turbo Chameleon 64 can be ported ?
gibs is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 05:49   #230
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
This means you are not interested in using this in a computer that might be using a third party flickerfixer?

We might change it for the final production run if there's enough space.
Hmmm good point, scratch that idea.
dJOS is online now  
Old 16 August 2012, 16:25   #231
CUF
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: St-Hubert/Qc/Canada
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by FastRobPlus View Post
Definitely want this is it fits the A1000 or the Phoenix 1000
So... Will these fit in an Amiga 1000?
CUF is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 17:25   #232
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Open it up, take a look... I can't say because of different revisions, it might collide with some piggback or whatever.

Maybe we create a cutout shape as a PDF so you guys could help by cutting it out and trying if it would.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 18:12   #233
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,414
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Maybe we create a cutout shape as a PDF so you guys could help by cutting it out and trying if it would.
Sounds like a right 'Blue Peter' job that

You sure this Zeus thing isn't made out of some Stickyback Plastic and Cardboard Toilet Rolls??
BarryB is offline  
Old 16 August 2012, 20:07   #234
FastRobPlus
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seattle,WA
Posts: 57
I've already applied a best-guess based on the pics here, using the known size of the 68000 outline as the baseline to get the overall size. It *might just* fit fine without issues. The real concern is with the IDE connector bumping up against the underside of the disk drive or the 1000's massive disk drive mounting plate.

The mounting plate is a non-issue, you can dremmel that away - the thing is made of recycled battleship steel or something - you could cut way 8-90% of it and it would still be more than strong enough to suspend the floppy disk drive firmly.

Then there's the disk drive itself. The A1000 uses 3 different makes of drive mechanisms. All are different thicknesses, but all must align with the A1000's front drive slot opening.

Depending on which drive mechanism you have, you might be able to get away with cutting away at the drive's own external housing, and either raise the device high enough on socket extenders to clear the drive, or cut away enough of the drive underside to let the device clear that way.

Here's a 68040 board in one of my A1000s where I had to cut away both the drive mechanism's housing and the mounting plate:
Click image for larger version

Name:	fastrobplus_68040_a1k.gif
Views:	465
Size:	200.9 KB
ID:	32361

Hopefully, with the Zeus it won't be quite that extreme.

What is really needed is a small 68000 socket-shifter - a device that moves the A1000's 68000 socket down about one inch. That would probably allow most A500 plug in accelerators to fit, including the two new ones being discussed here. I've seen a few people make their own - I even saw someone publish an egl pcb file for one a few years back, but nobody has ever actually produced a run of this adapter.
FastRobPlus is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 17:47   #235
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Maybe the cores from the Turbo Chameleon 64 can be ported ?
Thing is, does a Spartan3 has enough gates to host not only the Gayle IDE and the rest of the necessary glue logic, but also a 6510, SID and VIC chips? The question would be how many 'idle gates' does the Spartan3 have with all the stuff already on the Zeus68k?

Maybe with a 50mhz 68000 we can run real time C64 software emulation directly on the A500?
luncheon is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 20:12   #236
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
No, this is an 68k accelerator...
mr.vince is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 20:22   #237
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
TotO is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 22:13   #238
luncheon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Buenos Aires, Argentina
Age: 33
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
No, this is an 68k accelerator...
That's what I meant: what's the point on doing that, if you can emulate a C64 in software? (I'd rather use my proper C64 instead of emulating one, but that's just me )

Besides that, it would be interesting to know how many space is left on the FPGA to implement additional expansion hardware.
luncheon is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 22:30   #239
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by luncheon View Post
Besides that, it would be interesting to know how many space is left on the FPGA to implement additional expansion hardware.
I'd like to see FPGA-based hardware assist for things like JPEG and MP3 decoding. One of these days I'll get around to trying to implement such things on one of the Minimig ports. If I ever find time, and actually succeed, the sources will of course be available for inclusion or adaptation in projects like this.
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 17 August 2012, 22:37   #240
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
You can natively display great HAM pictures and play amazing 8svx audio streaming in real time... Why you ever want to make it a PC instead of using it as a glory AMIGA !?

Last edited by TotO; 17 August 2012 at 22:51.
TotO is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27398 seconds with 12 queries