English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 05 August 2012, 15:06   #181
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
Interested in 1 as well please.
Calabazam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 06 August 2012, 04:00   #182
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
depending on price, im interested in one too.
dJOS is offline  
Old 06 August 2012, 04:28   #183
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
so am I
gibs is offline  
Old 07 August 2012, 11:08   #184
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Puzzling stuff, as I have an A500+ which has 1MB onboard and a 1MB via the trap door.

Have Toms 8MB in the CPU socket.

So going by what has been said if I get an ACA500 I'd have to remove the 1MB in the trap door and the 8MB in the CPU socket as the ACA500 blocks the CPU socket :-/

ACA500 2MB (classed as chip?) + 1MB onboard + 80 Euros

ACA1220 - 128MB + 90 Euros

170 Euros..... Not too bad.

Is there anymore info about the Zeus board?

Another thing that is confusing to me is I have no issues playing 90% of the games via WHDLoad on my 500+ My CPU is a 68010 for the quit key to work properly but no other tweaks.

Only games that are really slow are space quest/kings quest although they're far more playable now that I have the 8MB to play around with.
lurch is offline  
Old 07 August 2012, 13:32   #185
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 332
Nope. You'll leave the trap door expansion which gives you a total of 2 MB chip.

Then you'll remove the Toms 8 MB and replace it with the ACA500. That gives you 2 MB fast.

Then you can sell Toms 8 MB and buy a ACA1220 as a replacement.
duga is offline  
Old 07 August 2012, 15:44   #186
ikonsgr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Thessaloniki /Greece
Posts: 80
Quote:
Originally Posted by lurch View Post
Another thing that is confusing to me is I have no issues playing 90% of the games via WHDLoad on my 500+ My CPU is a 68010 for the quit key to work properly but no other tweaks.
Only games that are really slow are space quest/kings quest although they're far more playable now that I have the 8MB to play around with.
So the old 68000/7Mhz (68010 is barely faster than 68000...) can handle whdload games without any speed penalty? I was under the impression that except for extra fast ram you will also need a more powerfull cpu than 68000/7Mhz! I have an amiga 500 (with 1mb chip mod) and i was thinking, if adding only fast ram (like the one kipper2k make) and perhaps something like the ide68k with ide to cf card adaptor could make my amiga 500 be able to run whdload games without any speed problems! (Of course,i will need to change kickstart with a 2.04 version too, right?)
What exactly is your configuration, that allows you to run whdload games?
ikonsgr is offline  
Old 07 August 2012, 15:53   #187
TotO
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: France
Posts: 57
Sure, with WHDLoad you need few power to handle games that already kick off the good old 68K@7MHz.
TotO is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 03:48   #188
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Quote:
Originally Posted by ikonsgr View Post
What exactly is your configuration, that allows you to run whdload games?
Current config is an A500 plus with 2MB chip, Toms 8MB fast RAM which connects to the CPU socket, a 68010, an A590 with a Mechware SCSI card reader so I can use a 2GB cfcard.

Can play 90% of games fine, Space quest I gave up on too slow, kings quest enhanced works not too badly needs a slight bump in speed :-)

The 8MB from Tom helped alot.

Upgraded to Workbench 3.1 along with the kick but that gave me less chip RAM available.

Actually the fastest combination was Workbench 2.x with kickstart 3.1 :-) Gave me 1.9MB chip to play with.
lurch is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 03:50   #189
lurch
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 104
Will be replacing the SCSI card reader with the ide68k I have sitting here so should improve the HDD seek times :-)
lurch is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 16:50   #190
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by TotO View Post
A multiple frequency choice on the boot menu will be just great to increase compatibility.
This would be awesome !
7 MHz 100% compatible
14 MHz cruise speed
28 MHz serious muscle
50 MHz turbo charge (when rendering with Real 3D )

So we can pick some medium values where the extra speed is showing, but it still goes easy on the CPU.
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 19:25   #191
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Whatever you like. get ready for some pics later tonight.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 08 August 2012, 20:11   #192
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails
Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 901
Ohboyohboyohboyohboy
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 01:35   #193
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Alright, this is no vaporware... Here's a real PCB. We plan to have the final boards immersion gold coated, but it's too expensive for one demo board. Please look at the first picture, especially on the lower left and tell me what you see...

Click image for larger version

Name:	BDE501a8c2532154_05.jpg
Views:	579
Size:	328.6 KB
ID:	32314

Click image for larger version

Name:	BDE501a8c2532154_05_2.jpg
Views:	477
Size:	316.6 KB
ID:	32315
mr.vince is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 01:50   #194
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Top!

So it is for september ?


Quote:
Originally Posted by lurch View Post

Actually the fastest combination was Workbench 2.x with kickstart 3.1 :-) Gave me 1.9MB chip to play with.
Tiny Launcher can give you more

Last edited by prowler; 09 August 2012 at 01:54. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
gibs is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 03:33   #195
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by mr.vince View Post
Alright, this is no vaporware... Here's a real PCB. We plan to have the final boards immersion gold coated, but it's too expensive for one demo board. Please look at the first picture, especially on the lower left and tell me what you see...

Attachment 32314

Attachment 32315

a Real Time clock
kipper2k is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 04:13   #196
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
This board is going to be a success !
gibs is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 07:45   #197
TjLaZer
Registered User
TjLaZer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Tacoma, WA USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,171
Nice can't wait to see it finished!
TjLaZer is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 10:27   #198
mr.vince
Cheesy crust

mr.vince's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Hawk's Creek
Age: 41
Posts: 1,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
a Real Time clock
Yes, indeed. One more function built into the beast. No add-on, no adapter.
mr.vince is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 10:43   #199
dJOS
Registered User

dJOS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 856
Nice, what modes does the IDE Support - UDMA33 or UDMA66?

Last edited by dJOS; 09 August 2012 at 12:02.
dJOS is offline  
Old 09 August 2012, 11:12   #200
JuvUK
Registered User
JuvUK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Cheltenham/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 312
hi,

i would like to state interest in one of these
JuvUK is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
was there ever a PowerPC accelerator for A500 1000 2000? boing_1000 request.Other 6 04 April 2014 08:12
WTB A500 accelerator or Microbotics: VXL RAM 32 lurch MarketPlace 0 14 June 2012 11:43
Internal IDE for A500(and possibly 1000/2000) coze Hardware mods 50 18 August 2010 11:20
Possible group buy: SOJ -> DIP 20 adapter PCBs for old accelerator RAM / A500 hacking Secret Vampire support.Hardware 5 21 February 2010 16:55
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 15:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.30846 seconds with 12 queries