English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 July 2012, 01:34   #1
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,025
Turbo Chameleon 64 Question.

Hi,

I just recently picked up the Composite AV cable for my C64 and have it hooked up to my Amiga monitor for a pretty decent picture..this has re-sparked my love for the old commie so I've decided to grab the Chameleon cartridge first chance I get, I have just one question. Can I still use the composite cable instead of the RGB output and still have access to the Chameleons features? Any info on this matter would be most appreciated.
lordofchaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 July 2012, 00:37   #2
BuckoA51
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 156
As far as I understand the Chameleon somehow duplicates the C64's VIC output onto a 60hz vga display. See http://www.syntiac.com/chameleon.html

I would assume that would mean stuttering on a PAL machine due to the frame-rate conversion unless they're using some sort of clever buffering technique, but of course you'd be free to use the standard 15khz video output from the 64 at the same time

If you're just looking to play games, the 1541 ultimate might be a better bet, it's half the price and doesn't have the VGA output and turbo functions, but no games need that anyway. By the way, you know the C64 outputs S-Video right? That should be significantly better than composite.

Last edited by BuckoA51; 07 July 2012 at 00:38. Reason: Clarifications
BuckoA51 is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 14:39   #3
lordofchaos
TinkerTailorContentMaker

lordofchaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Bedfordshire
Age: 39
Posts: 1,025
Thanks for the Info Bucko, yes the main thing is having that 50hz scrolling for gaming, don't have any real use for VGA or 60hz. After reading about the Chameleon I`'m still not 100% sure if I can get a 50hz display...Although The 1541 Ultimate you mention sounds perfect for my needs, just have to wait alittle for them to be re-stocked.
lordofchaos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i been looking at the chameleon mcbone Amiga scene 1 07 June 2013 13:21
Chameleon 64 up for sale again lolafg MarketPlace 0 06 May 2012 19:12
Turbo chameleon 64 with minimig core Synthesize Me support.Hardware 1 02 November 2011 23:50
Chameleon 64 Retrofan Retrogaming General Discussion 56 25 August 2011 12:03
(C64) ABC-Turbo v2.0 question Retroplay Retrogaming General Discussion 17 08 December 2008 21:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:03.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.10796 seconds with 11 queries