English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 August 2012, 20:58   #101
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
-Keyboard (QWERTY): OK
-Date & Time : Ok
-Hold Shift : Ok

gibs is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 August 2012, 21:56   #102
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
-Keyboard (QWERTY): OK
-Date & Time : Ok
-Hold Shift : Ok
Excellent

Just for you, gibs, here is same EmuTOS-CVS-20120809 binary with French UI and keyboard. The keyboard layout is the one of the French ST keyboard, some characters will not exactly match the ones printed on a French Amiga keyboard.
Attached Files
File Type: zip emutos-CVS-20120809-amiga-fr.zip (120.9 KB, 71 views)
BlankVector is offline  
Old 10 August 2012, 23:40   #103
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Thanks for the gift
gibs is offline  
Old 11 August 2012, 02:17   #104
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 398
Hello.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BlankVector View Post
About the FastRAM:
As Toni indicated, the FastRAM on Blizzard 1260 is not a standard AutoConfig RAM expansion board, so I don't know how to find it. As indicated, the solution would be to look at Linux/NetBSD sources to see how they solved the problem. I'm not going to spend time on that soon, any clue will be welcome.
In the NetBSD we have an intermediary boot loader between Kickstart and our kernel. This boot loader takes information about configured memory spaces from Kickstart and passes it to the NetBSD kernel. Then kernel gets started and read all this stuff. I guess you can't do that in EmuTOS, because you're basically replacing Amiga's firmware.

In my opinion replacing Kickstart is not a good solution. In a real machine you'll find many add-on boards that have ROMs. These ROMs are executed by AutoConfig mechanisms of Kickstart. If you don't execute ROMs some hardware will not be initialized, memory will not get configured and so on (you can already see bad effects of this).

We don't use Kickstart after kernel boot. But we don't replace it. We let it configure hardware, run code present in ROMs. Then we use it to fire up the boot loader in a standard way, which is a normal AmigaOS boot block that loads the kernel from NetBSD partition and starts it. We also have an alternative loader (loadbsd) that is just a normal AmigaOS program which can do the same thing as mentioned boot block.

I think you could do similar thing with EmuTOS - implement a loader that starts it *after* Kickstart finished its job. And use it to pass some information about hardware from AmigaOS (like memory boards).

Last edited by strim; 11 August 2012 at 02:32.
strim is offline  
Old 13 August 2012, 18:56   #105
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
In the NetBSD we have an intermediary boot loader between Kickstart and our kernel. This boot loader takes information about configured memory spaces from Kickstart and passes it to the NetBSD kernel.
Ok, thanks for the info.
Then I wonder how it works on Linux/m68k, probably the same.

Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
We don't use Kickstart after kernel boot. But we don't replace it. We let it configure hardware, run code present in ROMs. Then we use it to fire up the boot loader in a standard way
Ok, it is similar to what happens on PC, which uses the BIOS to initialize the hardware then load the Linux Kernel.

Quote:
Originally Posted by strim View Post
I think you could do similar thing with EmuTOS - implement a loader that starts it *after* Kickstart finished its job. And use it to pass some information about hardware from AmigaOS (like memory boards).
You are right.
But EmuTOS as a Kickstart replacement is just a quick hack to see what is possible. If someone wants more serious stuff, your solution will have to be used.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 13 August 2012, 19:03   #106
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
New snapshot: EmuTOS CVS-20120813

- Added support for reading standard ST/PC 720 KB floppy disks. I integrated the AROS ST/PC floppy routines into EmuTOS. As a result, the limitations are the same as AROS: no write support, no support for extended 800 KB floppies (very common in ST games/demos).

It works fine with WinUAE (using standard 720 KB *.st floppy images), I hope it also works on real hardware.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 13 August 2012, 22:22   #107
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
To format a 720k floppy under Windows (or M$DOS):

format a: /n:9 /t:80

Going to try that.

Does this one support Fr keyboard too ?
gibs is offline  
Old 13 August 2012, 23:15   #108
wXR
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 552
Could this be extended into a more general ST emulator for Amiga? Could it run games?
wXR is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 00:04   #109
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
Could this be extended into a more general ST emulator for Amiga? Could it run games?
Only /black n' white/ hires / system friendly / ones...
It means no...or few...

You will have more luck with AMTARI : [ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 00:48   #110
Retro1234
5150

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Sycophantazia
Posts: 3,776
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Only /black n' white/ hires / system friendly / ones...
It means no...or few...

You will have more luck with AMTARI : [ Show youtube player ]
Maybe in time some games like sundog?

What about something like Das 12 Jahrhundert works in hi Res mode probably some others
still think the ST emulator just called "ST Emulator" is best
Have you ever had St4amiga running? Did you get AMTARI Turbo demo working?

I still have no way to boot this
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 01:01   #111
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
To format a 720k floppy under Windows (or M$DOS):
Usually, I close the floppy HD hole with an adhesive tape, then I just do "format a:".

Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Does this one support Fr keyboard too ?
No, but if the French EmuTOS is useful for you, I may include it in next snapshots. EmuTOS supports a lot of languages, but only one can fit in 256 KB ROMs.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
Could this be extended into a more general ST emulator for Amiga?
No, that would require emulating the ST hardware, while EmuTOS is not an emulator: it is just an OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wXR View Post
Could it run games?
Only monochrone, OS friendly ones (nothing really exciting). Almost all decent ST games use color video modes and access the hardware directly, so then can't run over EmuTOS on Amiga.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Boo Boo View Post
I still have no way to boot this
Maybe an AmigaOS loader for the EmuTOS RAM version will be available one day (not soon).
BlankVector is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 04:24   #112
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Floppy Support is working : [ Show youtube player ]

gibs is offline  
Old 14 August 2012, 11:06   #113
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,287
This is pretty fantastic...
Do you think MIDI would work? We could use Digital Performer or Cubase...
Akira is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 02:54   #114
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Floppy reading disks work on A1000! Nice, Thank you.

Now that I can run programs, I have few questions.
I'm getting out of memory errors on some programs, and I noticed that in the startup menu (EMuTOS start) I have 2 RAM configurations:
1. Free ST RAM at 214KB
2. Free FastRAM at 1536KB

What is the difference between them, it kinda looks like the TOS only can see 214KB of RAM.

BTW, my RAM configuration is 512KB CHIP and 1.5MB FAST on my A1000

Thanks.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 15 August 2012, 11:55   #115
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by gibs View Post
Floppy Support is working : [ Show youtube player ]
Ehe, excellent, thanks for the video
Now we should look for more interesting software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Do you think MIDI would work?
First I will have to implement MIDI output routines in EmuTOS for Amiga, and I have no idea about how to do that (RS-232 port?). But I see that WinUAE has MIDI abilities, so it will be easy for me to make tests (at least MIDI out).

Second, only clean software which uses the OS (and not the hardware) will work, I don't know what is the situation with popular software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Floppy reading disks work on A1000!
Ah, floppy works on another machine

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
I'm getting out of memory errors on some programs, and I noticed that in the startup menu (EMuTOS start) I have 2 RAM configurations:
1. Free ST RAM at 214KB
2. Free FastRAM at 1536KB

What is the difference between them, it kinda looks like the TOS only can see 214KB of RAM.

BTW, my RAM configuration is 512KB CHIP and 1.5MB FAST on my A1000
Your values are correct, the RAM autodetection routines work fine.

There are several answers to your question.

1) ST-RAM is exactly the same as Chip RAM, FastRAM is whatever else (Slow RAM, Motherboard RAM, Zorro2 FastRAM, Zorro3 FastRAM).

2) EmuTOS uses too much ST-RAM compared to the original TOS, this is a long term issue. It is unrelated to Amiga. Usually on ST with 512 MB of ST-RAM, there is about 297 MB free. Of course improving that situation is a long term goal for the EmuTOS team.

3) EmuTOS for Amiga needs 19 kB additional ST-RAM buffers for floppy routines. This could be partially improved.

4) TOS/EmuTOS has a special ST-RAM 64 kB intermediate buffer know as _FRB used for DMA operations. I enabled it on Amiga, but now I see it is useless. I have just disabled it, the free ST-RAM bumped to 278 kB. I will include that fix in next snapshot.

5) Currently, EmuTOS itself does not use the FastRAM. External programs can use the FastRAM if some special bits are set in their header. Most old programs don't have those bits set, so then can only use the ST-RAM. Fortunately, for most old programs, forcing those header bits with an external tool just works fine.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 05:35   #116
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
Any progress on this, like serial/midi support or unified memory, so we can have more the 200k+ free RAM on 512k chip Amigas.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 23:02   #117
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
Any progress on this
Latest snasphot: EmuTOS CVS-20121115

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
like serial/midi support
No, this will not be done for next EmuTOS release (will be released in a few months).

Quote:
Originally Posted by amiman99 View Post
or unified memory, so we can have more the 200k+ free RAM on 512k chip Amigas.
TOS/EmuTOS does not support anything like unified memory.
But modern programs can use the FastRAM so having few ST(Chip)-RAM is not a problem.

Most old programs should also work fine in FastRAM. You just have to tweak some program header flags. I don't know any easy tool to do that, though.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 02:37   #118
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
EmuTOS 0.9.0 is about to be released, so I have built a release candidate.
Please test it, everything should work fine, just like previous snapshots.

Important note: Due to license incompatibilities between EmuTOS GPL and AROS APL, the AROS support has been disabled in the official binaries. This means that FastRAM and Floppy support will not be available. Fortunately, we have good chances to solve those issues for later releases.
BlankVector is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 05:39   #119
amiman99
Registered User

amiman99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: San Antonio, TX USA
Age: 44
Posts: 718
@BlankVector
I got your kick image.
Current v0.9.0 EmuTOS boots fine to desktop on Real NTSC A1000.
Hopefully the License issues will be solved soon.
amiman99 is offline  
Old 20 February 2013, 11:53   #120
BlankVector
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Paris, France
Posts: 151
Many thanks, amiman99.
I have added you to the credits. See at the end.
BlankVector is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
We NEED something like EmuTOS Antiriad Amiga scene 10 25 June 2012 01:21

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:39.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33572 seconds with 12 queries