English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 21 June 2012, 15:47   #41
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Whoops forgot that thread however it kind of wandered off from the original question and i never actually got an answer to if i could use it and it was an iffy application....Im thinking Legal for this one But like you say James's would be awsome !!

I have never made a legal one before so its a bit new ground to me

Edit ....Actually your right sorry James did add a nod to one of his posts

Edit Again ...According to Iggy on Amiga.org

For 3.0 and all earlier versions, its not only cool, it would appear to be completely legal.
For 3.1, as a test to the ownership of this property, yes its cool.
For 3.5 and 3.9, no there still partially owned by there developers and are still available on the commercial market.


So basicly i should we should be ok to just add a " Put your Rom Here " button to run the whole works

Last edited by synchro; 21 June 2012 at 17:07.
synchro is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 June 2012, 20:11   #42
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,978
Workbench isn't freely distributable, it falls under the same category as the Kickstart ROMs, sorry
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 20:19   #43
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Workbench isn't freely distributable, it falls under the same category as the Kickstart ROMs, sorry
Maybe not this version though !!

http://www.amiga.org/forums/showpost...004&postcount=

Permission has been given apparantly?
synchro is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 20:40   #44
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,978
Well Amiga Format clearly got permission, we haven't.

http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=eab..._ks_wb_faqitem

That's how the rules stand here. If anybody wants to write to the copyright holder(s) asking for their permission to freely distribute them then go for it.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 21:08   #45
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
You mean no one ever has !!
ok will do
synchro is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 21:37   #46
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,960
Here we go again... Don't put words in my mouth.

Actually Cloanto have donated hardware and other things.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 22:37   #47
synchro
Sending You Back In Time
synchro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: UK
Age: 55
Posts: 976
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Here we go again... Don't put words in my mouth.

Actually Cloanto have donated hardware and other things.

Quote:
The person i really feel sorry for is Toni Wilen who devotes so much time to Winuae ( without that the roms really are worth shite ) and he survives on donations yet all these packages use his free application and they dont even need to ask permission !!

I do hope however they look after him in some way

Did I ?

Apologies if you think i put words in your mouth but i really didnt ?

The statement i made was meant in totally the reverse....There are many packages that use Winuae i was refering to the fact if it wasnt for Winuae there would probably be no community and the roms really would be worthless....I did mention that cloanto probably pay a tidy sum for the rom licence but that was all ....nothing linking to yourself...In fact in the post i was defending Cloanto at the time

Last edited by synchro; 22 June 2012 at 23:08.
synchro is offline  
Old 26 June 2012, 14:16   #48
spanner
none

spanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: None
Posts: 320
If anyone wants COS 32bit v1.3 its here:

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?p=825860#post825860
spanner is offline  
Old 05 July 2012, 18:10   #49
narud17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Leicester
Age: 51
Posts: 117
Hi has anyone had problems making the 64bit version bootable I've tried a few burning progs but it doesn't boot. The 32bit version is fine but I also want to try the 64bit with the extras disk. Any ideas?.

Cheers
narud17 is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 01:47   #50
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
hi try image burn work fine for me
johnim is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 10:40   #51
ptyerman
Registered User

ptyerman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Worksop/UK
Age: 53
Posts: 1,010
CommodoreOS Vision

Just installed this yesterday to take a look and actually it's not bad. Fair enough it's just Linux Mint as a base, but they have put quite a bit of work into the theme. I also like how you can launch the Amiga demo's and other software just by double clicking them, pretty useful that. Wish they would get rid of that pile of crap Pulse-Audio though, 5.1 support has been broken badly since the beginning and it's still broken now years after. Overall though, it's not a bad effort as far as a Linux distro goes, but it will never be a Amiga!
ptyerman is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 15:05   #52
spanner
none

spanner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: None
Posts: 320
Yep use Image Burn works fine for me on 32 and 64 bit DVDs
spanner is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 21:04   #53
narud17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Leicester
Age: 51
Posts: 117
Thanks for the replys going to give image burn a go. Strange thing is I can mount the image using Daemon and install it on a virtual machine so hopefully image burn will work. I'll let you know how I get on.

Cheers
narud17 is offline  
Old 07 July 2012, 22:26   #54
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Well I personally wont be wasting a disc on this.
Ubuntu does what I need.
FOL is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Commodore OS 32-bit v1.3 (Beta 8) spannernick Amiga scene 70 13 June 2015 16:30
Aros Vision 1.5.7. uploaded OlafSch Amiga scene 0 28 January 2013 20:37
Wanted Commodore Amiga CD32 and Commodore CDTV j_sntos MarketPlace 4 09 March 2012 15:18
Amiga Vision V3.00 - Gamma4 hit request.Apps 10 05 April 2010 22:48
Amiga Vision Josh request.Other 5 20 May 2008 20:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27435 seconds with 12 queries