English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 June 2012, 10:49   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
AmiQuake new 68k Quake Port for AGA/RTG

I just finished a new port of WinQuake to 68k (AGA/RTG).

WinQuake is the "official" Source port of Quake to Windows. It has no "modern" graphics (such as dynamic shadows) and lacks colored lighting, but is good for lower-end PCs that have Windows installed, or for oldschool players who prefer the game's original look.

WinQuake

Features:
  • AGA
  • Highly compatible with the original game and MODS
  • 16bit AHI double buffered sound
  • 8bit native sound

This is another of my ports that could be enhanced with Indivision AGA Graffiti support one day

[ Show youtube player ]

I'll upload it to AmiNet in the next couple of days.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 20 October 2016 at 03:44.
NovaCoder is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 June 2012, 12:31   #2
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 40
Posts: 1,024
hi have you a link here for it to try
johnim is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 13:01   #3
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Thanks !!!

wich cpu is used on the video ?
gibs is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 15:14   #4
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Nice, I look forward to testing on my A1200 Blizzy 060 @75mhz / IndiMkII
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 15:17   #5
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,797
has anyone got a link for the aliens mod?
roy bates is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 17:35   #6
James
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Beckenham/England
Posts: 412
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
has anyone got a link for the aliens mod?
http://quakeone.com/files/4-mod-files/114-alien-quake/
James is offline  
Old 17 June 2012, 20:16   #7
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,797
thanks james.
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 June 2012, 06:23   #8
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
Quake is very fast on 060@75Mhz,but is it possible to get 16bit PPC like the clickboom original 68k version but PPC so that the extra colours are displayed.
delshay is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 20:51   #9
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Did this ever get uploaded to Aminet?
XDelusion is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:11   #10
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by XDelusion View Post
Did this ever get uploaded to Aminet?
Hiya,

Not yet sorry, been really busy this week. I'll try and package it up this weekend
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:42   #11
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
Good to hear! My 80Mhz 060 is on it's way back from Poland.
XDelusion is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 10:32   #12
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Just uploaded 2 AmiNet.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 15:19   #13
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Great, I'm looking forward to testing it out when I get back

Does the Malice addon I sent you work with it? If so what are the commands to get it going
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 15:56   #14
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 44
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Just uploaded 2 AmiNet.
thx for the realese
is this port faster than clickboom' quake?
clauddio is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 16:07   #15
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,350
Quote:
Originally Posted by clauddio View Post
thx for the realese
is this port faster than clickboom' quake?
No not as fast as Clickboom's commercial release.....I'm just a part time coder

Yep Malice worked, just set it with the tooltype

Malice is very demanding though I found
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 17:32   #16
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 40
Posts: 1,024
hi any chance of a link cant find it cheers
johnim is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 17:51   #17
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
Yep!
gibs is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 19:49   #18
XDelusion
Alien Breeder
XDelusion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NW Ohio
Posts: 276
This is only partially related, but I thought worth mentioning.

There is a port of Quake for the Nintendo DSi.

I was reading through the docs when I came across a line that said that they tested it with the Quake files from the Amiga release...

For what ever reason, I seem to find more and more Amiga users or ex-Amiga users developing homebrew for handhelds and home game systems.

Now what I'm wondering is if the resources on the Amiga CD are any different than the PC resources. Like was anything cut out to make it run smoother?
XDelusion is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 19:51   #19
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,797
if it uses the pak files in the id drawer there all the same.(theres one for the psp as well)
roy bates is offline  
Old 23 June 2012, 21:21   #20
delshay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: uk
Posts: 245
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post

Malice is very demanding though I found
Not as demanding as Aftershock,this addons is very hard you have to be lucky to get off the first level.

Don't forget the rare Shrak addon too.

Last edited by delshay; 23 June 2012 at 21:29.
delshay is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
quake 2 68k turrican3 support.Games 93 22 May 2014 03:12
68k + Picasso (RTG) Demos ?? Amiten Amiga scene 14 27 August 2013 18:39
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 2 02 June 2013 14:06
ScummVM (v1.0.0) 68K Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 7 04 September 2010 13:58
Is there a 68k Quake 2 port for the Amiga? Ironclaw request.Other 7 22 September 2006 21:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:01.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35511 seconds with 12 queries