English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 September 2002, 08:51   #1
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Shark G3/G4 PowerPC card for Amiga 1200, 3000, 4000 now available!?

http://buy.elbox.com/cgibin/shop?inf...G&sid=500d207e

The most powerful PowerPC accelerator for Amiga 1200, 3000 and 4000 computers.

Features:
PCI format motherboard
PowerPC processor: 750CXe, 750FX or MPC7450
FSB 133MHz
2 sockets for PC-133 SDRAM modules for up to 2GB
The peak memory transfer rate up to 582MB/s
One AGP x2 slot
UDMA100 EIDE Controller - 2 channels
AC97 Sound Subsystem
USB2.0 host controller (optional)

Prices start from EUR 449.95 (depending on the processor version).
Pyromania is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 September 2002, 09:03   #2
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
For that price it had better ship with 2gb of ram!


A few questions tho...

1) How can this card have a "peak memory transfer rate up to 582MB/s" when it connects to a mediator which has a "transfer rate up to 264MB/s"???

2) Do you think you'll be able to watch divx fullscreen WITH sound using this thing?

3) Is this just another computer that plugs into the amiga?


Last edited by th4t1guy; 18 September 2002 at 09:10.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 10:43   #3
Miggy2TheMax
Junior Member

Miggy2TheMax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 374
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
For that price it had better ship with 2gb of ram!


A few questions tho...

1) How can this card have a "peak memory transfer rate up to 582MB/s" when it connects to a mediator which has a "transfer rate up to 264MB/s"???

2) Do you think you'll be able to watch divx fullscreen WITH sound using this thing?

3) Is this just another computer that plugs into the amiga?


1) It must be talking about memory access to memory that is on its own board eg the two PC133 SDRAM sockets.

2) if you buy a 700Mhz Cxe I cant see why not, assuming you have a graphics card ofcourse.

3) good question, but I hate to say it looks that way.... anybody else think differently?
Miggy2TheMax is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 10:47   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
3) good question, but I hate to say it looks that way.... anybody else think differently?
It's better than putting an Amiga sticker on an abomination. This way you still have your Amiga AND additional power. SharkPPC is no less amiga than an 030 A1200 if you ask me.

But sometimes I play doom on the miggy, using the PPC processor, and the graphic card and the ram that are connected to it. I feel I'm just using the Amiga's Joystick and power supply this way!
 
Old 18 September 2002, 13:43   #5
blackcornflake
Moderator
blackcornflake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Cereal box
Posts: 759
Wow, finally! I have been waiting for this beauty for a looong time. Wonder what 'Q4 2002' really means?

@Burseg, I agree, up to a point. I also think an Amiga with a PPC is still an Amiga, just one with lots more horsepower than CBM ever gave it. I don't think there's anything un-Amiga about adding third party expansions, or directly using the PPC chip - these expansions enhance the meega; I don't think they supplant anything about its essence.

The computer world has been churning out chipsets and technologies since CBM closed its doors. Why not harness some of that power for the meega? I like my A1200 more the more powerful it gets.

Elbox have USB adaptors now, too. Interesting!
blackcornflake is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 16:27   #6
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Shipping Status: Q4 2002
You guys have to wait a "little" longer I guess
RetroMan is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 17:06   #7
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Wonderful! They can't even show you a picture of it. Great way to promote a product that is seemingly around the corner from being available to the public.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 19:12   #8
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
The last Amiga show I was at (this must've been about 2 years ago, since there haven't been any in this area for awhile) someone had an a4000 that had a fancy card hooked up to it. Basically, this card was an amd processor with some ram, 2 ps2 ports, usb ports, and onboard gfx and sound. He had the machine running amigaOS and windoze at the same time and could switch between the 2 using hotkeys. From what I understood, this was just basically a small pc motherboard that plugged in as a card so you could share filesystems (?) ect, but you could not use the extra memory or the cpu power on the amiga side.

While this sort of thing looks neat, it's not exactly what I would call an "Amiga upgrade". Hopefully this accelerator is a TRUE upgrade. I want to play some new OS4 games!
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 18 September 2002, 19:33   #9
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 726
Quote:
Originally posted by th4t1guy
The last Amiga show I was at (this must've been about 2 years ago, since there haven't been any in this area for awhile) someone had an a4000 that had a fancy card hooked up to it. Basically, this card was an amd processor with some ram, 2 ps2 ports, usb ports, and onboard gfx and sound. He had the machine running amigaOS and windoze at the same time and could switch between the 2 using hotkeys.
Thats a singleboard computer "SBC" that fits in an ISA slot. Big Box amigas have inactive ISA slots. Unusable for Amiga directly but powered and connected to themselves. Thus Big Box amigas have a passive backplane wich is the starting point for an SBC computer.

I have a SBC computer, an AMD486 clocked at 133 mhz with built in ethernet. Its way cool and im gonna save it for a future retro super tower consisting of an amiga and the 486
cv643d is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 02:41   #10
Pyromania
Moderator

Pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,785
Quote:
Originally posted by Oscar Castillo
Wonderful! They can't even show you a picture of it. Great way to promote a product that is seemingly around the corner from being available to the public.
http://www.amitopia.tk/

Pic of Shark PPC card.
Pyromania is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 04:26   #11
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Looks very small and nice!
Akira is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 05:34   #12
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
The one with the pic says 3 sockets, the one in the first link says 2. Maybe this is an optional feature?
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 06:12   #13
Oscar Castillo
Junior Member
Oscar Castillo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 282
Send a message via AIM to Oscar Castillo
Quote:
Originally posted by Pyromania


http://www.amitopia.tk/

Pic of Shark PPC card.
yeah, but that's not the Plus version. This pic is up on the Elbox site, but the plus version doesn't have a picture.
Oscar Castillo is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 16:43   #14
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 658
Both designs are licensed designs: The SharkPPC is a Sonnet design. while the SharkPPC+ is a licensed IBM reference design. In other words: The hardware works, at least with a passive backplane.

The Problem is integrating the SharkPPC with a classic Amiga motherboard. By all means, that's a damn tricky job.

I don't doubt that Elbox will deliver (they always did), but "Q4 2002" sounds way to optimistic to me. My personal guess for a first release of OS4 is November 2002 (CyberstormPPC version) with the AmigaOne version following a few weeks later. Then they'll have to do the BlizzardPPC version.

Afterwards they can start to work on the OS4 version for SharkPPC. And that's going to be tricky (i.e. it won't be done in just a few days).

Elbox is just making lots of PR noise these days, because they fear to loose sales to the AmigaOne. They don't want to be forgotten in all this A1 hype.
Korodny is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS: Warp Engine 4040 for Amiga 3000/4000 Gavilan MarketPlace 0 07 December 2009 05:18
KS 3.1 same chip for 1200, 3000 and 4000? Vars191 support.Hardware 32 21 November 2008 13:57
Amiga 4000 VS 3000 Keyboard?? The Same? BarrySWE support.Hardware 7 18 November 2005 18:50
New PowerPC Products for the Amiga 1200 Shoonay Amiga scene 12 26 December 2004 05:51
New PowerPC Products for the Amiga 1200 Joe Maroni News 2 26 December 2004 05:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22240 seconds with 11 queries