English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 June 2012, 11:12   #1
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
CD32 Not Reading Discs

So over the weekend I unpacked my CD32s for a bit of gaming. They've been packed up for about a year after moving house.

I was thinking this would all be fun and I'd play through a few classic games. Unfortunately, I found that none of my three CD32s would read discs. I've tried some burnt compilations and plenty of original titles and the result is the same. All CD32s load the boot screen ok, but just goes black when trying to read a disc.

So what do we all reckon? Laser needs replacing on all three units? Or is there anything else I could try?
darkwave is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 11 June 2012, 11:15   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,627
burning the cd's at a slower speed maybe?

i cant imagine all three lasers going at the same time.
roy bates is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 11:26   #3
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
Yeah, that's what I thought, but then with them all failing to read original discs as well... I just can't think what else to check.
darkwave is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 11:31   #4
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,627
i know this sounds silly,but have you cleaned the lasr heads at all?

does the laser fire?
roy bates is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 11:36   #5
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
You know, I haven't actually tried cleaning the heads. I'll give that a shot tonight.

Also, how do I tell if the laser fires?
darkwave is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 11:43   #6
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 45
Posts: 2,627
you know when you buy a tray of blanks theres a clear cd sometimes thats on the top of the blank cd's,if you put this one in a cd drives the laser can be seen deflected as red light through this.

well thats if you can see the laser head through the lid,on some systems you can bypass the switch that stops the laser from firing with the lid open.

but dont look dierectly into the light though for obvios reasons,if you manage to do it look at an angle.

its probably best to eliminate all the simple stuff first.
roy bates is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 12:44   #7
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
Great. I'll give this a shot this evening as well. Thanks for your help!
darkwave is offline  
Old 11 June 2012, 14:09   #8
clauddio
Banned
clauddio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Saturn
Age: 42
Posts: 279
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwave View Post
So over the weekend I unpacked my CD32s for a bit of gaming. They've been packed up for about a year after moving house.

I was thinking this would all be fun and I'd play through a few classic games. Unfortunately, I found that none of my three CD32s would read discs. I've tried some burnt compilations and plenty of original titles and the result is the same. All CD32s load the boot screen ok, but just goes black when trying to read a disc.

So what do we all reckon? Laser needs replacing on all three units? Or is there anything else I could try?
it seems the lens are dirty,if they were working long time ago and now after unpacking not work > that's the problem
clauddio is offline  
Old 12 June 2012, 23:14   #9
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 361
I have a new replacement cd mech for you if you need one..
fgh is offline  
Old 13 June 2012, 00:04   #10
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
Well, I've cleaned the lenses and still all three consoles refuse to read discs. I don't have any transparent CD pack toppers so I haven't been able to check if the laser fires or not.

The discs spin. If I put them in on the CD32 splash screen they will spin up and the disc read light comes on and off as though it's at least trying to read the discs. It never leaves the CD32 screen though. If I put the discs in before turning the machine on, the same disc read indication happens but the screen remains black. After leaving it for a good few minutes it eventually goes to the CD32 screen as if there is no disc in the drive.

So short of any other solutions, I think I might have to try a replacement laser/mechanism in one of the units and see if that solves the problem.

@fgh How much do you want for the replacement CD mechanism if this is the route I need to go?
darkwave is offline  
Old 13 June 2012, 05:51   #11
rampartsagain
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Porto/Portugal
Posts: 387
Smile

your are so lucky 3 cd32
rampartsagain is offline  
Old 13 June 2012, 11:39   #12
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Age: 36
Posts: 4,558
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by darkwave View Post
Well, I've cleaned the lenses and still all three consoles refuse to read discs. I don't have any transparent CD pack toppers so I haven't been able to check if the laser fires or not.

The discs spin. If I put them in on the CD32 splash screen they will spin up and the disc read light comes on and off as though it's at least trying to read the discs. It never leaves the CD32 screen though. If I put the discs in before turning the machine on, the same disc read indication happens but the screen remains black. After leaving it for a good few minutes it eventually goes to the CD32 screen as if there is no disc in the drive.

So short of any other solutions, I think I might have to try a replacement laser/mechanism in one of the units and see if that solves the problem.

@fgh How much do you want for the replacement CD mechanism if this is the route I need to go?
If you have 3 consoles with exactly the same issue, then your very unlucky.
Have you tried a normal music cd?
FOL is offline  
Old 13 June 2012, 12:47   #13
diablothe2nd
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 1,232
just a thought, but are you using the same power pack when testing all three? or do they all have their own power packs?

perhaps the power pack is duff and not giving enough juice for the laser.
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 13 June 2012, 23:37   #14
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 361
What about €15 plus shipping?

I have used the cd unit once for testing. My old cd32 didn't spin up properly, so I tried with the new cd unit. No difference.

Ended up buying another (fully working) CD32. The old motherboard fails also with new top half and new motherboard works with old top half, so it has to be the old motherboard..

So as I have three working cd units and only one working motherboard, I'd also be happy to swap the cd unit with a working motherboard
fgh is offline  
Old 14 June 2012, 04:03   #15
Rebel-CD32
Amiga will never die!
Rebel-CD32's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Gold Coast, Australia
Age: 33
Posts: 470
Send a message via MSN to Rebel-CD32
CD32s are notorious for at least one large capacitor going bad, and since it shares the same type of caps as 1200s and A600s which suffer from problems all the time is it possible that the CDs aren't being read because of one of these capacitors dying? It's happened to a couple of CD32s I've seen which had fantastic drive motors and lasers. You could send your motherboards to AmigaKit for FOL to take a look at perhaps.
Rebel-CD32 is offline  
Old 14 June 2012, 13:01   #16
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Age: 36
Posts: 4,558
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rebel-CD32 View Post
CD32s are notorious for at least one large capacitor going bad, and since it shares the same type of caps as 1200s and A600s which suffer from problems all the time is it possible that the CDs aren't being read because of one of these capacitors dying? It's happened to a couple of CD32s I've seen which had fantastic drive motors and lasers. You could send your motherboards to AmigaKit for FOL to take a look at perhaps.
Ah yes, I had forgotten about that.

Some CD32 had the silkscreen printed wrong on the board. So two capacitors were installed wrong way round. Although they worked fine, the caps started to leak and then the problems would start.
Worth checking the boards for that.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=28419

Last edited by FOL; 14 June 2012 at 13:10.
FOL is offline  
Old 21 June 2012, 23:39   #17
darkwave
Registered User
darkwave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Cambridge, UK
Age: 33
Posts: 118
diablothe2nd hit the nail on the head. It was the power pack. I have two power supplies and one of them is not supplying enough juice to fire the laser.

Thanks for the offer fgh, fortunately I won't be needing a new laser just yet.

And thanks everyone for helping me get to the bottom of this. I should have tried it straight away really, but sometimes you just don't think of the simple things.
darkwave is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:01   #18
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 38
Posts: 1,009
i had the same problem i got a cheap psu from ebay and was not good enough for it to read cds
johnim is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:05   #19
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Wales
Age: 36
Posts: 4,558
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
This is interesting,

Which PSU were you having trouble with. I have only ever used the brick that came with my CD32's.
FOL is offline  
Old 22 June 2012, 00:15   #20
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 38
Posts: 1,009
http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/3207050611...84.m1497.l2649

with 1 of amigakits 4pin to molex adapters

i took it to amimeet and it wouldnt read cds so i did not use it but when i got home i relised it was psu
johnim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
cd32 reading problem jolly11 support.Hardware 2 15 December 2009 20:47
Blitz Basic 2.1 problem with reading a CD32 joypad Graham Humphrey Coders. General 10 09 August 2008 09:24
CD32 Reading errors. Charlie support.Hardware 2 28 October 2007 23:23
CD32+SX32 problem booting CD32 discs Rochabian support.Hardware 6 28 February 2007 20:36
Reading PC discs Unregistered support.Hardware 12 01 September 2004 11:00

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:57.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35388 seconds with 11 queries