English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 September 2002, 12:59   #1
bdoe
 
Posts: n/a
Exclamation Problems with Detect Idle CPU mode

First, I just wanted to say that I have been very happy with WinUAE... You
guys have been doing an outstanding job! I was especially impressed with the
improved sound with the new AHI drivers. however, I have a very serious
problem with chipset timings, and the "Detect Idle CPU" mode seems to be at the
root of it.

Let me explain:

With the Detect Idle CPU mode on, all chipset timing seems to be cut in
half - that is, the system clock loses about 30 seconds per minute, cursors
blink at half the selected speed, Paula audio breaks up terribly and just
sounds really slow. The audio problem is evident when using audio datatypes
and when playing MIDI files via GMPlay. MP3 playback, using the new AHI
drivers with AmigaAMP, is flawless.

With the Detect Idle CPU mode off, all chipset timings are (more or less)
correct), the clock runs at normal speed, all timed settings (cursor blink,
etc.) works as set, and Paula audio is (almost) flawless. However, all
non-chipset stuff, like RTG, AHI (using the new driver), disk I/O (non
hardfile), TCP/IP (internet, LAN, and networked drives) slow to an absolute
crawl. Here's an example: When viewing the contents of networked drive N:
(all my MIDI files), it takes about 20 seconds for all the icons to appear when
Detect Idle CPU is on, and about twelve minutes with it off!

This is a serious problem that is making me consider going back to 0821R4,
sacrificing some sound quality (and the return of the JIT/Copper bug) just to
bring some sanity back to my system clock and timings! What can be done about
this?

TIA
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 27 September 2002, 05:58   #2
bdoe
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy

Nothing? No reply? Ten days and 51 views, and nobody has anything to say? No
hints, no suggestions, no "We're working on that, expect a fix in next release"
or anything?

*sigh*

I realize it's a complex problem, and that a fix may be months away; but it
would have been nice knowing that I'm not invisible, and that my problem has
been at least acknowledged.

In the meantime, I've since reverted back to 8.21.R4. I can learn to deal with
the clicking sound.

I apologize for the depressed tone of this message. I guess I was just hoping
I might get a little help with my problem. Thanks anyways.
 
Old 27 September 2002, 11:53   #3
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,656
Sorry, I just forgot to reply...

Slowdown in non-detect mode is a known bug (wrong priority in "expansion" device threads)

Note that idle detect is experimental feature that probably can't work perfectly ever...
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 September 2002, 12:24   #4
bdoe
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you for your reply.

The Idle CPU mode did help make things faster, but did have a bad effect on
chipset timing. Turning it off made the chipset timing worse.

I think the best solution is to scrap the Idle CPU thing entirely, but leave in
the improvements to the audio handlers. I mean, other than the timing
problems, I was really impressed with the improved sound quality, and with
finally the JIT/Copper bug problem going away! If one can merge the chipset
timing accuracy of 8.21.R4 with the bugfixes/audio improvements in 8.22.R1,
this would make WinUAE perfect IMHO.
 
Old 27 September 2002, 12:53   #5
§ane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 246
Well, I for one find Detect CPU idle an important feature, compare 99% host processor usage to 20-40% on average when enabled. Chipset timings are much the same in my experience with this option, and sound is worse than ever in 8.22.R1. Heh.
§ane is offline  
Old 27 September 2002, 13:07   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,656
Quote:
and sound is worse than ever in 8.22.R1
With or without crap firewall software?

btw: when complaining about sound, always report tested sound buffer sizes! Especially because 0.8.17 and older, 0.8.21 and 0.8.22 use very different sound code, you just can't use old configuration and expect working sound.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 September 2002, 13:44   #7
§ane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: .
Age: 37
Posts: 246
Quote:
Originally posted by Toni Wilen
With or without crap firewall software? .
ZoneAlarm is out of the picture now, after a clean format and reinstall.

It's queer, sometimes it sounds just fine, other times there is the poping noise. As for the sound buffer, I always leave it on the third notch for smoothest playback, anything higher than this the sound is delayed, below this, begins to crackle.

Also, I dislike how the latest release steals the primary sound buffer when it has focus, so other apps utilizing DirectSound are unable to play in the background.
§ane is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone have any luck with using CPU for manual mode sprites? mc6809e Coders. Asm / Hardware 9 21 October 2015 10:56
Super72 mode problems mark_k support.WinUAE 8 16 March 2014 11:16
Change CPU in Save State Mode arti support.WinUAE 9 23 December 2010 19:27
Help with 'CPU Idle' slider in WinUAE antonvaltaz support.WinUAE 18 14 September 2009 16:26
Cpu problems...in other words, BRAIN oldpx support.Hardware 2 24 March 2003 22:01

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21213 seconds with 11 queries