English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 September 2002, 22:56   #1
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
Sharereactor

Has anyone had a look at sharereactor yet? Click on "Console", and scroll down a bit. There's a whole load of Amiga files being shared there...
LaundroMat is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 September 2002, 23:30   #2
KombatSanta
Pipboy approved
KombatSanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Karlstad, Sweden
Age: 42
Posts: 460
Send a message via ICQ to KombatSanta
nice... is there a complete file listing of what's included in the archive files?
KombatSanta is offline  
Old 17 September 2002, 08:31   #3
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
All I got was a pop-up ad routing url window:

http://www.popupad.net/ats/route.php

Imagine that...popupad.net ... what will they think of next!
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 17 September 2002, 10:53   #4
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
You probably closed the other window thinking that it was another ad but it happened so fast that you haven't noticed. Happens to me sometimes.
 
Old 17 September 2002, 11:03   #5
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally posted by KombatSanta
nice... is there a complete file listing of what's included in the archive files?
Not that I know, although I've seen an xml list mentioned somehwere on their news page. I've been fiddling about with that Donkey thing first..
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 17 September 2002, 11:21   #6
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
I havent used eDonkey for quite a long time... so I need a recap..

I know RCK posted a early beta version of eDonkey in another thread a long tme ago (Ive still got that) but is it still the best version to use?

Ideally I need an up to date version with no spyware in it..
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 17 September 2002, 13:16   #7
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
You could ofcourse check with some spyware sites, but afaik there's none in it. You are asked however whether you'd like to install some utility that helps speed up your connection, but (gasp!) you can refuse to do so.
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 11:08   #8
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 48
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
E-Donkey has a fair amount of Amiga Stuff on there

It's worth checking out

(If you can get it working) it took me a bit of time
CPC464 is offline  
Old 21 September 2002, 13:35   #9
LaundroMat
Junior Member
LaundroMat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: In the cellar. With your mum.
Age: 42
Posts: 404
Quote:
Originally posted by CPC464
E-Donkey has a fair amount of Amiga Stuff on there

It's worth checking out

(If you can get it working) it took me a bit of time
Exactly how did you get it to work? Now that I have some time on my hands to set it up, it seems I cannot connect to any of the servers in the fresh servers.met file... Care to shed some light on this?
LaundroMat is offline  
Old 21 September 2002, 14:15   #10
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
I'm having trouble too
I've added all the Amiga files but never connect to servers
I'm using Win 98 SE and Norton Personal Firewall, but have allowed adonkey full access to the net
No matter what, I can't connect to servers
Ash is offline  
Old 22 September 2002, 15:26   #11
CPC464
Junior Member
CPC464's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: York
Age: 48
Posts: 393
Send a message via ICQ to CPC464 Send a message via AIM to CPC464
@LaundroMat

Quote:
Exactly how did you get it to work? Now that I have some time on my hands to set it up
It took some messing about but I had to visit a few pages 1st then mess about reading the guides and stuff I am making a big list of what I downloaded and exactly how I configured it.

Should be ready in a few days so I will either e-mail it to those who may request it or upload it to the zone...Whatever is easier
CPC464 is offline  
Old 22 September 2002, 17:20   #12
Fissuras
Old Luny

Fissuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brazil
Age: 47
Posts: 563
Most people don't like bots, as they are blemed for the gerenal slowness of the e-donkey network. Many servers does not allow them.

To conect fast all you need is an updated list of good servers. You can find one here: http://ocbmaurice.dyns.net/

Grab the server.met file and overwrite the one you use. I suggest doing it frequently (once a week) as while you are connected more servers are added to your list.

It takes some time, but I can get many ware... ops, rare programs this way
Fissuras is offline  
Old 22 September 2002, 20:12   #13
Fissuras
Old Luny

Fissuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brazil
Age: 47
Posts: 563
I see. I never used bots as I saw a lot of anger against them. So I never cared trying them, and I surely missed this newer bot.
I actually never felt the need of anything else, but I'll give it a try someday...
Fissuras is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 15:44   #14
Big-Byte
Long time member

Big-Byte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Posts: 753
Ive had eDonkey running constantly since friday now and Id thought Id report in how good it is:

Managed to get:

One game (2cds) 100%
Another Game (2cds) 25%
VCD (2cds) 75% so far

Speed was slow but thats because I had 4 ppl connected to me leeching constantly plus I was leeching from other ftps at the same time.

Its ok but you need a lot of patience. I used that ocbmaurice list at the beginning to start it off and forgot about it for the weekend. Will try that bot thing out this week to see if it improves things..

One thing I did notice was that when I shared a directory on my E: drive it also randomly shared a couple of files from my D: Drive
(MSDOS.SYS was one of them!!!) plus all my mp3's (I only have 3) nomatter where they were on my harddisk.
Big-Byte is offline  
Old 23 September 2002, 18:20   #15
Fissuras
Old Luny

Fissuras's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Brazil
Age: 47
Posts: 563
The speed you've got always depend on how well the files are spread.
Newly released games download pretty fast as there are a lot of people downloading them, so you have plenty of sources. Some movies too.

Bur rare files are a pain in the *ss to grab, as you may not find a full source.

Last edited by Fissuras; 23 September 2002 at 19:17.
Fissuras is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 04:33   #16
Ash
Zone Friend

Ash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Aus
Posts: 175
Is there a spyware free version of Winmx?
I've never used it so do I just get the normal version and run Ad-Aware?
Ash is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 04:56   #17
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Quote:
Originally posted by Ash
Is there a spyware free version of Winmx?
I've never used it so do I just get the normal version and run Ad-Aware?
Yes, it's called WinMX. There is no spyware in that program, as is stated on their site at winmx.com
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 06:46   #18
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,301
I'm liking Kazaa lite... You get the programs much faster than on WinMX.
However both WinMX and Kazaa SUCK for music. Even with the OpenNap shite turned on in WinMX
Akira is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 08:12   #19
Twistin'Ghost
Give up the ghost
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: U$A
Age: 26
Posts: 4,662
Yeah, I tried the OpenNap thing, ended up only finding one song I wanted. While I found a lot of stuff to get, only one ever transferred is how I should say that. Thoroughly unimpressed.

I also hate how WinMX FORCES you to download the latest version by not allowing itself to connect if there's a new version available. And nowhere on their site is there any indication of what is new on the latest version(s). With that in mind, I have just stopped using the bloody program.

Is there some unwritten law in "PC programland" that if you ever score a successful program, it is a requirement that it begin a downward spiral and progressively suck with each new update. How many programs can you name that really improve with each upgrade? The few I can think of that improve also have the caveat of stiffer spec requirements to run. But I can only think of a few.
Twistin'Ghost is offline  
Old 24 September 2002, 08:41   #20
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
If you really want something completely spyware free, look for a program called Gnucleus. It's completely open source and uses the kazaa p2p networks, but it's not as reliable as kazaa with downloads. I'm using kazaa lite right now since I'm able to get much better results with it.

As far as winmx goes, it may not have any spyware (yeah, right! and I have a bridge to sell you!) but one thing it does have is cops. Ever wonder how so many priests are getting caught with kiddie pr0n? They were using WinMX.
th4t1guy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sharereactor Dizzy Nostalgia & memories 0 03 September 2002 03:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:36.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.35662 seconds with 11 queries