English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 May 2012, 09:15   #1
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Looking for some info on 1200 CPU upgrade

Hi guys,

Just looking for some answers on upgrading the CPU on a 1200 please?


1. Can it be done by simply replacing the motherboard CPU with a better, faster one? Or do CPU upgrades actually go on specific accelerator cards?

2. Iv'e come across this - http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=113 - As per the above question, if this is a motherboard CPU, can I simply swap it out and it will work, or would I need drivers etc? Would there be any compatability issues to worry about?

3. What are the benefits? Is it simply a speed boost, therefore games like Breathless and Alien Breed 3D would perform much better? (I have a 8MB trapdoor RAM installed at present but these games are still very slow unless in Breathless for example if I change to a smaller window and reduce the pixels to 2x2).

4. If all of the above are true, how is the CPU attached to the motherboard? Is it easy to remove and replace or is it all soldered in nastilly?

5. Anything else I need to be aware of?


Regards
mancity is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
Old 23 May 2012, 09:31   #2
ajk
Registered User
ajk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Finland
Posts: 442
1, 2) No, you can't replace the motherboard CPU, it needs to go on a card.

3) Everything gets faster basically, those games you mention included (many older games already run at the speed they are intended to with the original CPU, so it won't make any difference then though)

4) On the A1200 the CPU is an SMD chip, so it's soldered directly on the PCB. But you can't really change it to anything anyway, as mentioned.
ajk is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 09:42   #3
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
Ok thanks for the info. Is the CPU in the link for an Accelerator board then?
mancity is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 09:53   #4
Steve
Senior Member
Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: North Lincolnshire
Age: 35
Posts: 1,839
Get one off eBay or Amibay. Be warned though- they're not cheap. I used to have a Blizzard 1230 MkIV back in the day and these are very good accelerators.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_nk...LIZZARD&_rdc=1
Steve is offline  
Old 23 May 2012, 10:01   #5
mancity
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Manchester
Posts: 279
It's ok iv'e only just got a RAM expansion board I was just wondering if the CPU could be upgraded on the main board.


Cheers for the info guys
mancity is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Advertisement:
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 1200 motherboard FPU upgrade? Steve T Hardware mods 15 23 July 2013 00:34
1200 RAM Upgrade mancity support.Hardware 32 01 May 2012 22:09
A2000 Upgrade Info and Advice Needed Please northern_retro support.Hardware 5 14 February 2011 23:54
Available Cyrix 386sx to 486slc2 cpu clip-on upgrades (GG386/486 cards upgrade!) keropi MarketPlace 13 02 March 2008 22:51
Blizzard 1230 IV CPU Upgrade? boomtopper support.Hardware 36 16 April 2007 18:54

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11213 seconds with 11 queries