English Amiga Board Amiga Lore

Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

Thread Tools
Old 21 May 2012, 15:00   #1
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,232
Diablo 1 like game for Amiga?

I was just looking at the spec for the first diablo; 60Mhz cpu, 8 mb ram, 256 colours at 640x480. I wonder if an 060 aga machine could handle a port of it?

then i wondered if someone had made a diablo like clone, but couldn't find anything.

given this game out in 97 i'm shocked that i'm not finding anything similar for amiga.
diablothe2nd is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2012, 15:11   #2

Gordon's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Amigastan
Posts: 1,103

Very hard game though i found
Gordon is offline  
Old 21 May 2012, 17:22   #3
Registered User
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Salem, OR
Posts: 1,128
I always thought Faery Tale Adventure was Diablo like, although not quite as dark. ;-)
Similar perspective and similar action (get close to baddies and click a lot). ;-)

I don't see any reason why an accelerated Amiga (not even an 060) shouldn't be able to handle that type of game at all..
And really, I would think a 1200 with some FAST RAM might be able to handle it as well..
(Not sure about the hi-res tho)

In fact, looking at the Immortal and Shadowlands, there's probably not any reason a plain Amiga couldn't handle it, especially with a drop in resolution to lo-res.


Last edited by desiv; 21 May 2012 at 17:39.
desiv is offline  
Old 21 May 2012, 18:43   #4
Registered User

diablothe2nd's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Northampton, UK
Age: 34
Posts: 1,232
that's what i was thinking.

to make up for a smaller screen size though, reducing the size of the hud to just a bar of icons on the bottom would make sense to me. but still keep the split window for inventory etc.

there may need to be fewer ai on screen at once, but that can be balanced by making them tougher i guess.

i really wish i could code/port stuff, i'd love to do it
diablothe2nd is offline  
Old 22 May 2012, 09:40   #5
Meet the Veggies!
Steve's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: UK
Age: 38
Posts: 2,015
I think the 'game' Blade was released as a supposed Diablo clone, though it turned out anything but. I was conned into buying this sorry excuse for a game and realised aftet just a minute of play. I gave it a few more minutes and then binned it. Truly awful.

Steve is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 22:15   #6
Registered User
VincentGR's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Greece
Posts: 29
That is my one of my dreams!
A Diablo port for the Amiga.
Someone could port it from the mac version (ppc) although a 68k port would be really great.
VincentGR is offline  
Old 24 May 2014, 23:51   #7
Adrian Browne
Jackie Chan
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Ireland
Age: 39
Posts: 621
Originally Posted by Gordon View Post

Very hard game though i found
Not quite Diablo, if I remember correctly. I have or had this game on cd somewhere.
Adrian Browne is offline  
AdSense AdSense  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Rhythm King] Amiga Game ID (Music Management Game) Kickback Looking for a game name ? 8 27 June 2012 19:02
Diablo 2 revival and widescreen tweaks. pubzombie Retrogaming General Discussion 26 20 February 2012 00:26
OT: X-Box and Diablo x lucadip Retrogaming General Discussion 28 18 September 2008 19:15
Diablo III Shoonay Retrogaming General Discussion 60 16 September 2008 03:39
REQ : Diablo (Bomico) ! RetroMan request.Old Rare Games 11 23 May 2002 01:35

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:59.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17802 seconds with 11 queries