English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 May 2012, 20:17   #1
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Amiga Tracker with MIDI support? 1230/32

Hi all, this is my first post. What a great forum you have here!

I'm revisiting my Amiga days, the A1200 is down from the loft since the recent release of the Indivision MK2. It's bringing back some memories now!

Ashamed to ask for help on my first post, but I am wondering which tracker software (suitable for blizzard 1230/32) will allow me to use a MIDI keyboard. I want to incorporate my Amiga into my home project studio. I have tinkered with protracker and digibooster (1.7) but have no idea of their MIDI capability and/or how to set it up.

Also, can anyone recommend a particular MIDI module?

Any help is greatly appreciated, thanks in advance!
Hellrun is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 May 2012, 20:45   #2
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
I *think* ProTracker will allow you to enter notes with an external keyboard, but if you want to use external MIDI sounds, then the best bet tracker-wise is probably OctaMED SoundStudio.

As for a MIDI module, look out for a Yamaha MU-10, and if you can't find one of those and are up for some homebrew electronics, do an Ebay search for XR385. That little WaveBlaster board is a very capable Yamaha XG sound module, just needs a Max232 or similar and suitable power supplies (5v - available on the external floppy port, and +/-12v, both available on the Serial Port.)
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 00:19   #3
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Thanks for your response however I think I may have worded my post incorrectly.

I do not intend to MIDI OUT from the Amiga, just purely use a MIDI keyboard as a controller for a tracker so I can play using samples/instruments.

Perhaps a MIDI interface rather than a module then. I own a Roland MT-32, I'm assuming the Yamaha model you mentioned is a similar multi-timbre style MIDI module?

Please let me know if I am not making sense. I read a post from yourself regarding a Project XG that was published on CU Amiga back in the day, I'm assuming this is what you were mentioning above? Not sure if this is purely for processing MIDI files via this card or if it is used as a MIDI signal path i.e IN/OUT to the Amiga.
Hellrun is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 00:54   #4
robinsonb5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Norfolk, UK
Posts: 522
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
I do not intend to MIDI OUT from the Amiga, just purely use a MIDI keyboard as a controller for a tracker so I can play using samples/instruments.
Ah, I'm with you - OK that's easier. Like I say, I *think* ProTracker can do this, but I'm not 100% sure.

Quote:
Perhaps a MIDI interface rather than a module then. I own a Roland MT-32, I'm assuming the Yamaha model you mentioned is a similar multi-timbre style MIDI module?
Yes, that's right. And yes, in that case a MIDI interface is what you're after.

The "ultimate" MIDI interface is the TriplePlay Plus, which supports three independent MIDI Outs, but for what you want pretty much any Amiga MIDI interface should do.

Quote:
Please let me know if I am not making sense. I read a post from yourself regarding a Project XG that was published on CU Amiga back in the day, I'm assuming this is what you were mentioning above?
That's right.

Quote:
Not sure if this is purely for processing MIDI files via this card or if it is used as a MIDI signal path i.e IN/OUT to the Amiga.
MIDI Out from the Amiga goes into the card, which then acts like a MIDI Tone Module (MT32, MU-10, etc.) and generates the sounds - the improved version of the project I posted on Amibay also has a passthrough MIDI Out, which just sends a second copy of the MIDI Data to any other attached MIDI devices, and also a MIDI-In for connecting external keyboards, controllers, etc. In other words, it's a MIDI interface with built in tone module. It'd work for what you want, but it'd be overkill!
(The original CU-Amiga ProjectXG didn't have external MIDI sockets, BTW - it was purely to interface the Waveblaster card to the Amiga's serial port.)
robinsonb5 is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 01:12   #5
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
Also, can anyone recommend a particular MIDI module?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
Perhaps a MIDI interface rather than a module then.
Hi Hellrun, and welcome to EAB!

I have an Amiga MIDI interface which I have never used. It is identical to this one:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/ws/eBayISA...m=140709553036

If it would be of any use to you, then you are welcome to it.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 04:22   #6
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
If only note input is what you want, ProTracker will support it. I use 2.3d personally, with an Akai MPD26 pad controller.
One instrument at a time though, don't expect to be able to do fancy stuff like keyboard splitting or something like that.

Some of the key messages are mapped as commands on ProTracker too, for example, for changing instruments or for transport control (play, stop and record).

Pretty much any Amiga MIDI interface is the same. All the ones I have have 1 input and 3 outputs and in many cases you can usually switch these outputs between OUT and THRU.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 10:52   #7
magnetic
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, USA
Posts: 244
Yeah for full Midi Octamed is the way to role. I'm surprised nobody mentioned MUSIC X. This has very good MIDI support AFAIK.

Here is the one I have on my a1200/060

http://www.amiga-hardware.com/showha...cgi?HARDID=702

pretty sweet! I love the groovy pyramid on the box
magnetic is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 16:59   #8
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Music-X isn't a tracker software, which is what the original posted asked for.
Also he only needs to input MIDI in his Amiga to record notes. OctaMED has full MIDI output but input-wise it would be the same as ProTracker, maybe a little bit better.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 20:35   #9
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Thanks for all of your input!

This sounds like good news to me, Protracker should be suffice. Looks like all I need is a MIDI interface (although I'd certainly be interested in hearing an example of this Project XG that you speak of, or seeing a video of it in action!)

prowler, I will send you a PM
Hellrun is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 21:04   #10
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
PM received and reply sent.
prowler is offline  
Old 15 May 2012, 21:39   #11
Photon
Moderator
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Hult / Sweden
Posts: 4,452
MIDI interfaces are standardized and work the same way with any software, so you can get any of them and they will work. As for what MIDI events the programs respond to, it's different for each program. Bars'n'Pipes has fairly complete MIDI support for just sequencing and playing back in a studio, trackers support exactly what Akira said.

I'm not current on very recent trackers or the eminent Musicline, so I can't say about those.
Photon is offline  
Old 19 May 2012, 23:09   #12
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Hi Hellrun,

Your Midi Master A500/A2000 was handed over at my local Post Office counter for delivery to you by First Class Post this morning at 10:45.
prowler is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 02:29   #13
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Now people like prowler are the reason I joined these forums!

What a great community!

Big thanks are in order I think.
Hellrun is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 02:36   #14
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
Now people like prowler are the reason I joined these forums!

What a great community!


Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
Big thanks are in order I think.
You're welcome. Let us know what you make of the interface.
prowler is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 02:40   #15
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Of course I will.

I can't promise anything great but I'll at least post some pics of the setup and hopefully a few songs in due time!
Hellrun is offline  
Old 20 May 2012, 02:47   #16
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
I'll at least post some pics of the setup and hopefully a few songs in due time!
That sort of project is the lifeblood of these forums.
prowler is offline  
Old 27 May 2012, 00:30   #17
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Hi Hellrun,

Have you received it yet? It's been a week now...
prowler is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 01:36   #18
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Sorry, I missed this post.(PM'd)

I'm unsure as to which MIDI port is IN. None of them are labelled, lol
Have had a quick play about but to no avail, I'm assuming the default MIDI channel is 1? Tried with Protracker 2.3

I would have thought there would be drivers required or something. There is a little red LED light on the MIDI box which illuminates when its connected to the Amiga, so there's sign of life

Last edited by Hellrun; 10 June 2012 at 01:38. Reason: Typo
Hellrun is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 01:44   #19
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,280
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hellrun View Post
I'm unsure as to which MIDI port is IN. None of them are labelled, lol
Have had a quick play about but to no avail, I'm assuming the default MIDI channel is 1? Tried with Protracker 2.3

I would have thought there would be drivers required or something. There is a little red LED light on the MIDI box which illuminates when its connected to the Amiga, so there's sign of life
Hi Hellrun,

Have a look in this thread:
http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...ht=MIDI+Mapper
it may give you some ideas, if only for further questions.

I still have copies of most of the files uploaded there.
prowler is offline  
Old 10 June 2012, 01:57   #20
Hellrun
Commodore Enthusiast
Hellrun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 16
Send a message via MSN to Hellrun
Thanks, I'll look into it.
Hellrun is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
FS-UAE and midi support? shax71 support.FS-UAE 14 11 May 2017 18:21
TMidi - Tracker Midi 1.4 emufan request.Apps 19 22 November 2016 16:52
Support for multiport MIDI interfaces garyg request.UAE Wishlist 1 25 May 2011 15:28
Scummvm amiga port with native midi support? Lutz G support.Games 2 07 March 2010 23:10
What was the first Amiga tracker to support external midi instruments Kola Amiga scene 3 09 December 2008 20:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.37660 seconds with 11 queries