English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 September 2002, 09:54   #41
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Understood

Right, I understand that, got it working ok ( hey it`s been a long time and I`m too used to wanky windows stuff )

Now, it reports I don`t have a cdrom, and yes I do have `add pc drives checked` I remember something in the 3.9 install.. about my cd drive.. can`t remember what it was, prolly that
stainy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 September 2002, 10:22   #42
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
Originally posted by andreas
Ah Burseg, you meant this inverse grey background stuff. Thanks for the clarification. Anyway, I think this can be cured by changing some color settings.
I don't think the developers put in this "feature" to identify pirated OS3.9 versions. That's just too silly to imagine.

These colorless icons emerge when you use OS3.1 to install OS3.9. You need to create an emergency disk first, then boot into 3.9 from the emergency disk and then install OS3.9. This way always the new icon.library is used, the old one is not able to handle colorful icons.
thomas is offline  
Old 20 September 2002, 10:26   #43
stainy
Zone Friend
stainy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Concord, NC, USA
Age: 46
Posts: 1,394
Send a message via ICQ to stainy Send a message via MSN to stainy
Hooooo I did try

Yeah I did try to create an emergency disk, but it crapped out with an error or some kind.
Is this why it doesn`t recognise my cd as well then ?
stainy is offline  
Old 21 September 2002, 12:51   #44
grassden
Zone Friend
grassden's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Hawick/Scotland
Age: 48
Posts: 21
Send a message via ICQ to grassden
creating emergency disk

You can create a seperate hard-drive path for the emergency disk and then use that to start winuae and it will then install as normal
grassden is offline  
Old 21 September 2002, 13:08   #45
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
These colorless icons emerge when you use OS3.1 to install OS3.9. You need to create an emergency disk first, then boot into 3.9 from the emergency disk and then install OS3.9. This way always the new icon.library is used, the old one is not able to handle colorful icons.
Ah great, I knew there was a logical explanation to this. But again, the CD is required to create the emergency disk. Am I wrong? In this case the emergency disk can't be created with pirated versions and you're stuck with those icons unless installation is made on top of 3.5
 
Old 21 September 2002, 14:13   #46
Flinx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
Originally posted by Burseg

But again, the CD is required to create the emergency disk.
From where do you install without the CD?

Quote:
[i]
and you're stuck with those icons unless installation is made on top of 3.5 [/B]
No, a second installation from the already running OS3.9 will generate the new icons.
 
Old 21 September 2002, 14:39   #47
oldpx
 
Posts: n/a
Quote:
From where do you install without the CD
I meant the pirated cd-rip versions.
 
Old 21 September 2002, 16:01   #48
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Quote:
I meant the pirated cd-rip versions.
Burseg



Who cares? Let the pirates stew in there iconless WB's.

Piracy caused big probs for the amiga, as it was affecting the number of copies sold (more than 20% of copies were pirate) which meant companys were moving out as the percentage of genuine product value (or PGPV) was far higher for the PC at the time.

If you start pirating OS3.9 then amiga aint got the money to develop for the platform - do you want new H/W and OS to beat the rest?
Syko is offline  
Old 29 October 2002, 13:31   #49
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Happy

Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy joy joy,
Happy happy happy happy happy happy joy

All solved!

OS3.9 working with latest ver of UAE no probs.

Buy Amiga Forever, install it in it's own dir on the PC.

Add PC CDROM as a dir on startup, with OS3.9 loaded in.

Create blank adf and create EBD floppy from emu_instal option, accept defaults for scsi.device during install..

Edit startup-seqauence and Devs: on EBD so it doesn't try to load scsi.device. Reboot from EBD

Run emu_install from CD, accept defaults for scsi.device during install.

Reboot using DH0: (or whatever you called it)

As if by magic, OS 3.9 boots up

YES!
Syko is offline  
Old 12 November 2002, 03:11   #50
Amigadude
 
Posts: n/a
Icon colour prob fix

Quote:
Originally posted by thomas
These colorless icons emerge when you use OS3.1 to install OS3.9. You need to create an emergency disk first, then boot into 3.9 from the emergency disk and then install OS3.9. This way always the new icon.library is used, the old one is not able to handle colorful icons.
Surely you can just search the CD (RAmiga+F) and look for the highest version of icon.library then copy to libs: .

AmigaOS3.9:Emergency-Boot/Libs/icon.library
45,264 bytes
Version 44.543 (select from found list & press RAmiga+N, then click version button)

Seems to be the right one (though my workbench has Version 45.1 which I assume is from a BB2 or 1)

My little script is in BB1 & BB2 BTW RxTD
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mount CD on fs-uae OSX to install OS3.9 elowan support.FS-UAE 28 14 January 2013 16:17
Clean install of OS3.1 on an 060 A4000 - how! kmob support.Other 5 02 June 2009 22:00
Trying to install OS3.9 BB 1 + 2 .... Nightmare!!! marcfrick2112 support.Apps 10 08 January 2009 14:47
WB 3.1 & OS3.5 - A1200 install problem PoliceQuest support.Apps 7 12 September 2008 01:43
Your Directory Opus setup on my new os3.9 install DDNI project.ClassicWB 4 23 November 2007 12:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:53.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15161 seconds with 12 queries