English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 September 2002, 13:52   #1
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Bypassing windows printer drivers

I have to print some images and docs with winuae, & i want to print them with amiga drivers.
But when i select print from every amiga program, Winuae transfers the control to Windows and its drivers ( i have the new bad eXPerience version ).
My question is:
Can i bypass Windows drivers?

Also i have a good laser printer ( an Apple ) that is not compatible with Windows, but it's compatible with Amiga.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 September 2002, 19:05   #2
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,909
I don't think that's possible, no.

Apple Laserwriters are nice
Akira is offline  
Old 15 September 2002, 15:00   #3
Syko
Now got GSX750F :))
Syko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Halifax UK
Age: 53
Posts: 584
Lightbulb

how to bypass things like this...

first set the Amiga printer to whatever; then use cmd to redirect it to a file; copy file to parallel port.

as your copying a file, not printing, UAE dosn't re-direct to the PC printer, so file goes staright to LPT1: on PC unchanged...

Havn't the faintest idea if this'll work, but it's a nice logical sequence so go for it!
Syko is offline  
Old 15 September 2002, 18:27   #4
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,909
That it's a pretty interesting workaround, yes! I would love to hear if it works
Akira is offline  
Old 19 September 2002, 22:23   #5
mtb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Italy
Age: 34
Posts: 442
Great idea!!!

Unfortunatly i have lost the parallel to apple cable, but i've tried with a Mannesmann Tally 81 parallel printer ( the only other printer i own... it's works from 1990 ).
So what i've done to test it:

Firstable, i have removed the driver from the control panel.

After verifyng that amiga printer was set to epson X, a double click on cmd and another one on Graphic Dump.
I've copied the ram:cmd_file to the hard disk ( a directory for Xperience )
Then i've tried from shell:

Copy cmd_file par:

But nothing happened.

So i quitted winuae, i opened a prompt command ( the one included in Win ), i moved to the cmd_file ( wow! now even windows has the name completion....... what a great progress! ) and i have typed:

copy cmd_file lpt1:

and the printer printed.

Without the driver!!

For the apple i'll try as soon as the cable arrives.

Thank you a lot.
mtb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Where does the amiga store printer drivers? mikey2002kent support.Other 4 09 November 2012 23:02
Bypassing the Amiga trademark Anakirob Amiga scene 10 06 March 2012 13:51
OS 3.9 Printer Drivers on OS 3.1 Leandro Jardim support.Apps 8 06 January 2012 03:59
Canon LBP-460 printer drivers macce2 request.Apps 2 26 December 2006 00:34
New Windows drivers for Catweasel Paul News 5 06 December 2006 01:59

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 13:48.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.11853 seconds with 11 queries