English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 April 2013, 10:01   #401
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
To abandon iconlib of AfAOS (meaning you use RTG) you also need to use the modified PowerIcons by PeterK to have full icon render.
mfilos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 04 April 2013, 22:46   #402
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
And AfA_OS - as great as it is as an idea - is buggy. In other words: I don't recommend using it.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 04 April 2013, 23:18   #403
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
@retrofan
Quote:
I've just copied it to libs like always and I don't see any speed improvement at all. Perhaps I am missing something.
The zlib compression is used only by the original PNG and OS4 icons, not by OS 3.5 icons or already converted icons. Of course, the loading of OS 3.5 icons will always be faster than the loading of zlib compressed icons, because the decompression is just an additional task that has to be done. Furthermore, I'm still at the beginning of the optimization and I don't know if I could improve the so called hotspots very much. We will see.

@altcomputing
It's not required to disable AfA_OS completely. It also has some other features introduced to OS 3.9, like the support of truetype fonts. You can simply move the AfA_OS icon_lib.exe from (AmiKit\Utilities\EXPANSION\AfA_OS\) AfA_OS_Libs into the "Disabled" subdir. As mfilos already said, you may also use the modified PowerIcons v0.08 from the C: drawer of my Aminet release if you are using the Workbench and not Magellan. In such a case just add a line above LoadWB in your startup-sequence like this:
Run >NIL: PowerIcons SCROLLSPEEDUP TEXTMODE=1

@mfilos
Thanks again for your tests and feedback!
PeterK is offline  
Old 05 April 2013, 14:07   #404
altcomputing
MC68060@85MHz
altcomputing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Poland/Wroclaw
Age: 32
Posts: 76
Thanks PeterK and mfilos for info Going to try to disable icon_lib.exe only - i want AfA_OS because of it's delicious skinning and TrueType capabilities.

EDIT: Just tried, and skinning is gone together with icon shadows if i remove icon_lib.exe

Last edited by altcomputing; 05 April 2013 at 14:22.
altcomputing is offline  
Old 05 April 2013, 23:41   #405
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
i will try some time tomorrow on my GREX 4000 that uses AfA OS atm... and report back.
mfilos is offline  
Old 06 April 2013, 09:17   #406
JohnFante
Registered User
JohnFante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 53
I would be happy to do some testing on my setup (4000D, Mediator, Radeon 9250, OS3.9 BB3, AFA etc.). Where can I get the latest version of the library?

Edit: Found the link in the first post ....

Last edited by JohnFante; 06 April 2013 at 09:48. Reason: Stupidity
JohnFante is offline  
Old 06 April 2013, 10:14   #407
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,457
here -> link
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 06 April 2013, 11:46   #408
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 472
I have problems with the latest version. Icons appears as incompletes, as they draw a line and the other don´t and so on...If I refresh the screen it seems ok again. I´m finetunning my A1200 so perhaps its problem of other patch but only happends with the last revision.

I´ll try again this weekend and keep this so good job.
tolkien is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 14:53   #409
JohnFante
Registered User
JohnFante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 53
I am not sure if this is an error or me doing something wrong.

When I use the latest icon.library (version 280) the colouring on the icons is not very fluent.



When I use AFA (latest version) the icons look the same as in 4.1 classic.
JohnFante is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 19:19   #410
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Do you have also the icon.library -specific Powericons-patch installed?
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 21:39   #411
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
If you didn't use the newest icon.library then the icons wouldn't show at all (dot icons)!

The new icon.library makes possible showing the PNG icons up to native 256 colors that the AGA chipset has on WB.
You don't expect these icons to show as good as they'd show on RTG with more than 256 colors do you?
Only case you can make them show just fine as they should, is either using AfAOS which has embedded functionality or use the extra tool PowerIcons and you're set. Both of these options ONLY for RTG screens.
mfilos is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 22:12   #412
JohnFante
Registered User
JohnFante's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark
Posts: 53
Aha. :-) now I understand.

Thank you. I am have reenabled AFA and everything looks nice again :-)

Btw. What is the fastest solution AFA or PowerIcons?
JohnFante is offline  
Old 07 April 2013, 22:42   #413
Bamiga2002
BlizzardPPC'less

Bamiga2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Finland
Age: 40
Posts: 3,210
Send a message via MSN to Bamiga2002
Icon.library with PowerIcons is faster. AfA_OS is buggier, I don't recommend it after intensive testing and use. It's a nice idea though.
Bamiga2002 is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 02:18   #414
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by tolkien View Post
I have problems with the latest version. Icons appears as incompletes, as they draw a line and the other don´t and so on...If I refresh the screen it seems ok again. I´m finetunning my A1200 so perhaps its problem of other patch but only happends with the last revision....
Please check out the icon.library 46.4.279 for this strange behaviour on your system. It can't be a bug in 280. because the compressed images are unpacked completely and checked with a CRC-checksum before anything is blitted or drawn onto the screen. But maybe, it's a problem caused by removing a WaitBlit() call in one of the previous revisions.
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 02:27   #415
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnFante View Post
I am not sure if this is an error or me doing something wrong.

When I use the latest icon.library (version 280) the colouring on the icons is not very fluent.



When I use AFA (latest version) the icons look the same as in 4.1 classic.
Did you set the icon quality to BEST in the Prefs/Workbench settings ?

Just repeating my comment....
you may also use the modified PowerIcons v0.08 from the C: drawer of my Aminet release if you are using the Workbench and not Magellan. In such a case just add a line above LoadWB in your startup-sequence like this:
Run >NIL: PowerIcons SCROLLSPEEDUP TEXTMODE=1
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 12:20   #416
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 472
I´ll try it in a moment but one question first. Can I use NewIcons with this library? And PowerIcons? Are they necessary or convenient?

Im using 279 version without problem.

Last edited by tolkien; 08 April 2013 at 14:36.
tolkien is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 14:39   #417
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
Yes, you can use ALL types of icons. There are no "PowerIcons", just a PowerIcons patch for the icon.library and the PNG icons, that's what you mean. Again, please try out the PowerIcons program v0.08 from the c drawer of my icon.library release on Aminet.

279 without a problem and 280 has bad colors without changing anything else ??
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 15:12   #418
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 472
Damn it! I have used 280 version and now it works perfectly. I guess I had samething wrong in that moment.
Thanks so much for all and keep the good work.
tolkien is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 15:15   #419
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 2,183
You still didn't tell me if you are using PowerIcons v0.08 now or not. It's really a difference in quality.

Sorry tolkien, I've just realized that I mixed up your problem with that from JohnFante.

Anyway, thanks a lot for testing 280 again.

Last edited by PeterK; 08 April 2013 at 15:26.
PeterK is offline  
Old 08 April 2013, 15:32   #420
tolkien
AmigaMan

tolkien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Castro Urdiales/Spain
Posts: 472
I have not used powericons cos I read in the readme that it needs gfx-cards.Am I wrong?

Last edited by tolkien; 08 April 2013 at 15:39.
tolkien is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 8 05 August 2018 13:57
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 18:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 04:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 15:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 01:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 02:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12651 seconds with 13 queries