English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. System

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 September 2012, 14:11   #201
Calabazam
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: France
Posts: 163
Still not working, even with the new version that don't need the newer workbench.libray.

Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?
Calabazam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 September 2012, 14:27   #202
daxb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?
Just comment (";") MCP out and reboot. Then you will see if that help.
daxb is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 15:25   #203
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by Calabazam View Post
Still not working, even with the new version that don't need the newer workbench.libray.

Could MCP or another fancy program from my SS be responsible?
Could be everything. Why don't you tell me at least what the Version command reported?

You can also try to comment out the first two lines in your s-s, because I don't know what they do. And if it doesn't help try to comment out one line after another until you find the reason.
PeterK is offline  
Old 30 September 2012, 19:12   #204
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Peter my friend just checked the latest 258 version and it ROX.
Can't test for older workbench.library since I only use Kickstart 3.1+

I had an old version since I haven't updated for some time now, and I can say that icon loading (OS4, PNG) is A LOT faster (at least 2x-3x for sure) than the previous version that used datatypes.
Terrific job. I can't thank you enough for these constant and important updates.

/respect
mfilos is offline  
Old 07 October 2012, 19:46   #205
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
Update to icon.library 46.4.259

I've rewritten the GetIcon()/PutIcon() functions again which now preserve the OS 3.5 color mapping information even if you save the icons with the old workbench.library versions v39 or v40. Just the PNG and OS4 truecolor images are converted into the OS 3.5 format.
PeterK is offline  
Old 07 October 2012, 23:56   #206
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
And it works just fine as always!
Awesome work there mate
mfilos is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 11:12   #207
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
Update to icon.library 46.4.260

I've done it again. Now the GetIcon()/PutIcon() functions will keep using all the 256 colors of the OS 3.5 image data instead of mapping to the 4 system colors only when workbench.library v39 or v40 are in use. Thus, it's sufficient to load the icon.library resident to get support for all icons in 256 colors. Use SwazInfo for icon information and Iconian as icon editor.

New IconDemoADF.rar
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IconDemoOS30_001.png
Views:	179
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	32844  

Last edited by PeterK; 09 October 2012 at 12:21.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 12:33   #208
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,721
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Great. We should give you a gift or something
Retrofan is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 12:49   #209
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Peter for president
Nice news man... Just tested it in my 8 colors (MWB) ECS enviroment and it rox. Unbelievable how fast PNG and OS4 icons load in such limited machines without anything extra software and datatypes!!!
Epic work there man... /respect

mfilos is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 13:14   #210
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
Thank you for your positive responses, my friends !!

But, did you really test this icon.library without using Scalos ?
If Scalos or DOpus5 are involved, then they always replace some icon.library and also workbench.library functions with their own code. In both cases the GetIcon() function, which I integrated now again, will not be called at all. It is only called when the workbench.library v39 or v40 is doing the complete GUI representation.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 13:23   #211
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I'm using ClassicWB 3.9 which doesn't use Scalos my friend.
Scalos is only used on ClassicWB Full/Adv/AdvSp (3.1 versions).
I also dislike DOpus5 so this was from a stock Workbench.library 45.131 on OS3.9

Gief more EPIC reworked modules like this. So much win in one thread!
mfilos is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 13:23   #212
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,623
OK I Gotta try this, NewIcons pisses me off and I got way too many "little square"icons on my Amiga.
Do you think it can be run in tandem with FBlit, Peter?

I love your MWB setup, mfilos. Is that visualprefs on the windows? I'd love to take a peek at such a setup.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 13:26   #213
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
Yes, it really should be run together with FBlit.
Have a look into the IconDemoADF to see how that works.

@mfilos

Ok, so you could use your setup with workbench.library v39 or v40, too. But, of course, it's recommended to keep using the workbench.library v45, because it's much more powerful.

Last edited by PeterK; 09 October 2012 at 13:33.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 14:58   #214
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,623
Nice!
So where can we get this latest version? Aminet version is .256
Akira is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 15:07   #215
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
The latest files are always attached to the first posting of this thread.
PeterK is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 20:28   #216
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,623
Ahhh punching myself on the face for being a tit.
I figure it out and it seems to be working, however, I can't seem to be able to remove icon borders (as I think NewIcons was taking care of that before). How should I do that? I run the iconsframeoff command and nothing happens.

Last edited by Akira; 09 October 2012 at 20:45.
Akira is offline  
Old 09 October 2012, 21:35   #217
PeterK
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Hangover
Posts: 1,819
No, it seems to be impossible with the older workbench.libraries. They don't support frameless icons. At least, I couldn't find a way to achieve that yet. IconFramesOFF has no effect.

Btw, somebody reported a very old bug concerning disk icon snapshots with v39 or v40. The fix may come tomorrow or next days.

Last edited by PeterK; 09 October 2012 at 21:41.
PeterK is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 04:10   #218
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,623
My RAM disk looks like a black dot, if that's the bug.
Is there any way you can look into NewIcons and see how they remove the frame, though? Everything is fantastic except that problem.

I wonder why they had icon borders to begin with, a totally shitty design decision by Commodore :P
Akira is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 15:39   #219
emufan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: #DrainTheSwamp
Posts: 4,400
PeterK: the new demo adf does not contain the workbench.library. can you add the newer again to it? thanks for all this.
emufan is offline  
Old 10 October 2012, 17:24   #220
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,623
Quote:
Originally Posted by emufan View Post
PeterK: the new demo adf does not contain the workbench.library. can you add the newer again to it? thanks for all this.
I thought the new version does not need workbench.library... am I wrong?
Akira is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (1 members and 1 guests)
bwldrbst
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ClassicWB Full and icon.library 46.4 Retroplay project.ClassicWB 6 03 December 2012 13:47
WB library conflict/versions Akira support.Apps 3 22 July 2010 19:47
PNG Icon to Color Icon Converter? Leandro Jardim request.Apps 1 24 May 2010 05:39
What's the latest version of icon.library for OS3.9? NovaCoder support.Apps 3 30 June 2009 16:43
Requesting icon.library v44+... nikvest request.Other 2 16 September 2007 02:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 06:14.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.27229 seconds with 12 queries