English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 July 2012, 15:24   #21
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
I'm sorry that Jen's post was deleted too. As I've told he said "ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, but there's still demand for something in the lower price range", and then he was talking about his idea of making those new and cheap accelerators in the lower range, but don't know when.

@komprasz I've already bought an ACA 1231/42. I coudn't leave this opportunity pass.
Retrofan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 July 2012, 15:38   #22
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
We'll talk
indeed we should


@thread
one thing I will note there is a big difference between buying for performance and buying for collection.

The ACA1230 is a great example of this, its a really good card, and despite some of its eccentricity it is a superior 030 adapter than say the blizzard in terms of speed and performance.

However, there is something about owning vintage / retro hardware - its like having an old Rolls Royce that you drive on weekends or an aged Mercedes - fun to have fun in... the ACA1231 would be the VXR - lots of fun power!

both are great, but they are essentially different from a collectors point of view.

One of the reasons I held off from buying an ACA630 was that I wanted an older model - not the Apollo 630 - those things scare the hell out of me - wondering if the next time it boots is the last time.... no I wanted the humble Apollo A620.... one day.... or I will make one.... which ever comes first lol!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 16:18   #23
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, but for me the ACA is a new "Classic". In fact I don't think the 1231 will be for much time for sale jeje. Edit: And have you seen the reviews?

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 July 2012 at 23:30.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 18:34   #24
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
i do prefer the older cards myself,altough if i want performance i'll always go for 040 and 060 cards.(because its 68k)

i consider any cpu card that goes in an amiga as classic,apart from fpga or any other concept.


is there any way that jen's comment about new ram cards can be spliced back in please mods?

pretty please with sugar on top.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 20:36   #25
duga
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Sweden
Posts: 321
"I'll have an inexpensive memory expansion for the 1200 later this year. Clearance for this development was only given at the last investor meeting about two weeks ago. ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, but there's still demand for something in the lower price range. With only one low-quantity product of that type, I risk selling out too quickly."
duga is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 20:52   #26
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by duga View Post
"I'll have an inexpensive memory expansion for the 1200 later this year. Clearance for this development was only given at the last investor meeting about two weeks ago. ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, but there's still demand for something in the lower price range. With only one low-quantity product of that type, I risk selling out too quickly."




thankyou, i think this was exactly what jens quoted word for word.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 20:54   #27
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Yes, it is. Duga how did you get it? I tried with Wayback but nothing.

I like his words "inexpensive".

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 July 2012 at 20:59.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 21:41   #28
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
is there any way that jen's comment about new ram cards can be spliced back in please mods?

pretty please with sugar on top.
Jens' post has been restored (inasmuch as it's possible to do so following the removal of other off-topic posts).
prowler is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 21:59   #29
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by prowler View Post
Jens' post has been restored (inasmuch as it's possible to do so following the removal of other off-topic posts).


thankyou prowler,that post is important to all amiga owners everywhere
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 22:04   #30
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,568
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
thankyou prowler,that post is important to all amiga owners everywhere
Ahmen to that.
FOL is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 22:46   #31
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
...there's still demand for something in the lower price range. With only one low-quantity product of that type, I risk selling out too quickly.

Jens
In fact that's what I think a lot of people can be waiting. Not everybody can expend much money in an accelerator (we have a Crisis) , and if they could buy a new ram expansion for a cheap price, just to play WHDLoad, "nothing extrange like Doom or internet", I've seen that there is a lot of people now searching cheap ramboards like that, but is very hard to get something for less than 100 euros; and second-third hand.

What I don't know is what the price could/should be.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:02   #32
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,489
Anyone know where to get the edge board connectors for the A1200 or would it have to be a custom build
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:08   #33
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
thats the main part of the problem my friend,

The tooling for the edge connector as well as the minimum order quantity is in the 5000 unit area the last I looked, so its a substantial investment even at $5 a piece thats $25,000!

I have found some alternatives that could be cut-down/in-to place, however its a little too hacky for a mainstream product - fine for prototypes though.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:08   #34
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Anyone know where to get the edge board connectors for the A1200 or would it have to be a custom build

i think its custom tooling,jens has the tooling for that connector.

i dont know of anyone else that has it,not for sure anyway.

not for it to be economical anyway as zetro has already stated.

Last edited by roy bates; 14 July 2012 at 23:14.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:09   #35
prowler
Global Moderator

prowler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Sidcup, England
Posts: 10,203
I have now restored three more posts, suitably edited, to this thread, but they will be all, I'm afraid.
prowler is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:10   #36
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
Cheers Prowler!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:14   #37
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
Anyone know where to get the edge board connectors for the A1200 or would it have to be a custom build
The other day Jens was answering:

Quote:
Originally Posted by alenppc View Post
...How did you manage to find A1200 and A600 trapdoor slot connectors? I thought they were quite hard to find nowadays.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
...I have my own tooling, so I can make any quantity and almost any number of pins in that Raster.

And now I understand what you mean with "someone":

Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
mabbe someone will build a simple memory expansion for the A1200 for those people on low budgets

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 July 2012 at 23:21.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:14   #38
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,489
Quote:
Originally Posted by roy bates View Post
i think its custom tooling,jens has the tooling for that connector.

i dont know of anyone else that has it,not for sure anyway.

I was thinking the same thing, i wonder if he is willing to sell a batch. Are you there Jens ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:20   #39
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
i wonder if jens has the tooling for the cpu slot on the 3000 and 4000 boards as well....


yes i wonder if he would run a batch as well for projects...


im wondering how much it would be for say 500 for the 1200 and 500 for the 3-4000 cpu slot.
roy bates is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 23:29   #40
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@Roy,

There is a company based in San Francisco that actually has those connectors (both male and female) a fellow EAB'er here was able to get some a while back, sadly I have lost touch with the chap =(.

they worked out about $8 each
Zetr0 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - A1200/A1000/IndiAGA MkII/A1200 Trapdoor Ram & Other Goodies! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 11 December 2012 10:32
A1200 bad RAM? misjah support.Hardware 27 20 November 2010 00:44
Looking for A1200 Ram zap64uk MarketPlace 10 16 February 2010 20:50
Looking for extra RAM for A1200 Vollldo support.Hardware 10 07 November 2009 21:53
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 14:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33354 seconds with 11 queries