English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > New to Emulation or Amiga scene

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 April 2012, 13:20   #1
Spectrome
 
Posts: n/a
A1200 Ram Again.

Hello I'm new to the forums but ive owned an Amiga A500 since 1991.

I light of getting myself back into this world for 4 channel audio tracking , And pre-ESCOM gaming I have recently purchased an Amiga 1200 with PCMCIA CF transfer bundle with EasyADF from AmigaKit, Along with a 4GB CF hard drive to replace the 200mb 2.5" HDD.

So far i have everything installed and running smoothly with being able to replace the disks which have become corrupted over the years. I am currently looking into implementing WHDLOAD on my system.

My A1200 only has the standard 2mb ram no expansions, nothing. I am looking into my options of buying an expansion card atm for Ram only maybe 4mb or 8mb. Could anyone recommend any places besides ebay so i can explore all options?

Would anyone like to offer me any advice on what would be best for my situation, i have the money but have to justify spending it as many of the cards include FPU and CPU boosts. Like i said before i'm mainly just looking to use the audio software and playing the up to the AGA/CD32 titles. while still being able to use Relokick to boot my physical original disks.

Any advice or help would be much appreciated. And thanks for being part of a fantastic community.

EDIT:

Kickstart v3.0 r39.106
Workbench v3.1
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 18 April 2012, 14:22   #2
roy bates
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: birmingham
Age: 48
Posts: 2,819
there are still a few places you can get memory expansions,you can try ebay(you already know this one) and amibay try the for sale threads there.

unfortunatley no-one is making memory expansions anymore so second hand is all there is.


you could keep a look out for second hand 020 and 030 cards as these will be more compatible with older software.

also jens still makes a rather nice 030 card for a reasonable price at individuel computers caled the aca 1231 i think.
roy bates is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 15:17   #3
Spectrome
 
Posts: n/a
I did look into PCMCIA SRAM but was told by a friend its not worth it for an A1200 because of the speed.

I was actually considering an ACA-1231 next to a 4mb/8mb as they are considerably cheaper than a blizzard. Just have to be Quick and snag one when they come into stock

Thanks for the info. ill bookmark amibay.
 
Old 18 April 2012, 16:10   #4
I.Did
in retromode
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Scandinavia
Posts: 72
airey36:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/airey36/m....4&_sop=3&_sc=1

penfold_t_mole:

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/penfold_t_...4&_sop=3&_sc=1

ian_houghton

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/ian_hought...4&_sop=3&_sc=1

...are the guys to look for

Last edited by I.Did; 18 April 2012 at 16:18. Reason: added Ian as well
I.Did is offline  
Old 18 April 2012, 21:49   #5
Spectrome
 
Posts: n/a
Hehe i got my a1200 from airey36. in the meantime i've ordered a 2mb PCMCIA SRAM card for a tiny bit of Workbench wiggle room until the ACA's come into stock, as i understand I can be waiting a long while before that happens.

Thanks for all the support, nice to see so many keeping the Amiga Alive.
 
Old 18 April 2012, 22:15   #6
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Their prices are outragous almost double what these cards sell for on Amibay:

http://www.amibay.com/index.php

I'm shocked people actually pay those prices from time to time, they've been relisting most of these cards without sale for a while though...
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 10 July 2012, 21:46   #7
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by I.Did View Post
ian_houghton

http://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/ian_hought...4&_sop=3&_sc=1

...are the guys to look for
I bought his A1209 memory expansion recently. If I had done some quick research on expansion prices I could've probably saved 20 to 30 quid.

Oh well, live and learn. It is a brand new item (assembled from old stock) and has a months warranty so I don't feel tooooo dirty.
john1979 is offline  
Old 12 July 2012, 09:24   #8
Schoenfeld
electricky.
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: out in the wild
Posts: 1,240
I'll have an inexpensive memory expansion for the 1200 later this year. Clearance for this development was only given at the last investor meeting about two weeks ago. ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, but there's still demand for something in the lower price range. With only one low-quantity product of that type, I risk selling out too quickly.

Jens

Last edited by prowler; 14 July 2012 at 21:37. Reason: Removed quote and response.
Schoenfeld is offline  
Old 12 July 2012, 11:23   #9
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Schoenfeld View Post
...ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, ...
Jens
Thanks for telling. I thought it was out of stock, but I've just ordered one from Vesalia

I will be selling my Amitek.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 July 2012, 21:00   #10
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Spectrome you've got two options to buy new stuff:

-To buy the best new accelerator , ACA 1231/42... Nice review with translation here: http://translate.google.es/translate...-aca-123142%2F
that "is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV"...(Ebay≈220€, not talking about the ram and the age)... and Edit: Do you know what it means about their prices when they won't be available? (a couple of weeks with luck, I suposse).-

-Or to wait for the release of the not so fast, but cheaper new accelerators/ram boards that Jens will make.

In your place, just like I've just done.... I would go for the first, but if you want something cheaper, just wait.

Last edited by Retrofan; 14 July 2012 at 23:19.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 12 July 2012, 21:13   #11
komprasz
Amigan since 1987
komprasz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 10
@Schoenfeld and Retrofan:
Wow, I have never tested the ACA 1231... now I am very curious... I'll try to get one...

Last edited by prowler; 14 July 2012 at 23:11.
komprasz is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 09:22   #12
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Don't know why all the posts since yesterday have been deleted from this thread. Anyway I want to post mine again:

Spectrome if you want to buy a new Accelerator/ram board you've got two options:

-Or to buy the best new Accelerator, ACA 1231/42, that is "ACA1231 is selling like hotcakes because it outperforms Blizzard 1230-IV, but there's still demand for something in the lower price range" (this was posted yesterday by Jens, but now is deleted). Interesting review with translation here: http://translate.google.es/translate...-aca-123142%2F

-Or to wait for the not so fast but cheaper accelerators that Individual Computers will make.


In your place I would go for the first (just like I did yesterday ordering one to substitute my Amitek ramboard), but if you need something cheaper, just wait.

Last edited by Retrofan; 13 July 2012 at 09:47.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 13 July 2012, 12:10   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
this thread did kinda go wayward so I am not surprised it was culled..

Well shame - it was certainly a good one to show why theres no price discussions on AmiBay!

=)


@Op

Patience is the name of the game, patience and setting yourself a budget!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 13:00   #14
komprasz
Amigan since 1987
komprasz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 10
Thanks for the tip Zetr0!
I will take a look at the entry-level A1200 RAM expansion options in AmiBay. :-)
komprasz is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 13:23   #15
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@komprasz

I am not saying anything about what prices people have, they are there own, they should not feel the need to justify them either.

People can either pay the asking price, haggle or just ignore it... there's no point arguing prices as there are way to many variables to consider, and thats just NEW products, older / collectable products are even more complicated to price.

at the end of the day, it comes down to two very simple things

1. What some one is willing to sell an item for
2. What some one is willing to buy an item for

when those to points meet, that is when you have a transaction.

The Amiga community is the most passionate community I know and its one I am proud to be apart of. However this passion is both a credit and at rare times to its detriment. We like to show and share our successes as well as highlight other people failures - especially if they are contrary to our point of view or standing.

It is all about a perceived injustice - the best thing to do when conversations get like that is to avoid any further commitment to it.

Just agree to disagree and try to leave it at that.



its quite funny thinking about it... I remember buying my FIRST ram card upgrade for the A1200 back in 1993/4 from it was a variant of the Amitek Hawk and it provide a 40Mhz FPU and 8MB of RAM. I paid 120 including postage back then - in today's currency that would be approximately 188, for a simple 8MB card... now, I can tell you I would only consider spending a quarter of that on one today.

using the same calculation, my Apollo 060 would cost me 549.27 if was bought today! (I only spent 375 including 32MB RAM back in 95/96)

Last edited by Zetr0; 14 July 2012 at 13:35.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 13:40   #16
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,491
mabbe someone will build a simple memory expansion for the A1200 for those people on low budgets
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 13:45   #17
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
it would be nice to see a very cheap 8MB revision of 1220

an EC020@28Mhz with 8MB fast and optional async FPU - YES PLEASE!

Nice little 4MIPS munching monster =)
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 13:46   #18
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,491
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
it would be nice to see a very cheap 8MB revision of 1220

an EC020@28Mhz with 8MB fast and optional async FPU - YES PLEASE!

Nice little 4MIPS munching monster =)

We'll talk
kipper2k is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 14:39   #19
komprasz
Amigan since 1987
komprasz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 10
@ Zetr0:
Agree with you 100%.

I paid $1500 USD back in the early 90s for CBM A2286 BridgeBoard and a GVP SCSI hardcard with 2MB RAM and a 50MB HD. :-(
In current US dollars, that would be around $2600!!! I kind of regretted paying that much back then, but that is a bit of the (un)famous Moore law on electronics.

@ Op & Retrofan:
I just saw an Amitek Hawk board on Ebay (item 120948497980). I don't post the link because I think it's not allowed, but you can search for it. :-)
komprasz is offline  
Old 14 July 2012, 14:44   #20
john1979
Registered User
john1979's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 748
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
it would be nice to see a very cheap 8MB revision of 1220

an EC020@28Mhz with 8MB fast and optional async FPU - YES PLEASE!

Nice little 4MIPS munching monster =)
That would be amazing.
john1979 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale - A1200/A1000/IndiAGA MkII/A1200 Trapdoor Ram & Other Goodies! fitzsteve MarketPlace 1 11 December 2012 10:32
A1200 bad RAM? misjah support.Hardware 27 20 November 2010 00:44
Looking for A1200 Ram zap64uk MarketPlace 10 16 February 2010 20:50
Looking for extra RAM for A1200 Vollldo support.Hardware 10 07 November 2009 21:53
A1200 internal ram vs accelerator ram Foster support.Hardware 3 24 March 2008 14:43

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25756 seconds with 11 queries